2/23 Buzzy AMPS (134) = 1u; +3 (66); +4 (62); +5 (71); +6.25 (86); PMPS (137) = 1u; +2 (154)

I was a little surprised about that 'milking' comment....sometimes I have to rub/stroke Luci's ear a little toward the outer edge to encourage the blood drop to get to be just a little bit bigger...I use the warmed rice sock too...but sometimes I just need a tiny bit more...

What size lancets are you using?
 
Same here, sometimes I don’t get enough either, just like this am, so pokey 2x, it’s aggravating
 
I was a little surprised about that 'milking' comment....sometimes I have to rub/stroke Luci's ear a little toward the outer edge to encourage the blood drop to get to be just a little bit bigger...I use the warmed rice sock too...but sometimes I just need a tiny bit more...

What size lancets are you using?

26 gauge, so it should be plenty big.
It's true it's easier when he's warm, but his ears are really tough to get warm ...especially when he's wriggling like a maniac to get away and super impatient bc he's hangry.
 
With a 66 at only +3 in a cat that nadirs at +6 or later, I'm wondering if Buzzy is going to earn a reduction today...
Here I was worried that missed dose was going to send him high for a while...wasn't expecting low.
He's eating about 0.75oz LC right now; he'll get another test & more food in an hour or so.
 
Sorry...wound up waiting (Edit: rather, I didn't even see your suggestion til practically +4 anyways)...he's not very happy about the sticking routine. He's lost his patience with it :\
62 at +4
 
So far so good!

Amber had one ear that I could hardly seem to get blood out of, no matter what I did. When we first started I tried to alternate ears from test to test, and I grew to dread the "brown ear" tests so much (half the time we had to go to "black ear" anyway after several pokes yielded nothing and I was dealing with an increasingly impatient cat!), I finally just gave up on that side.
 
Looks like we won't earn a reduction today :P
Also holy cow he loves Dr. Elsey's kibbles - I gave him like 5 kibbles as a treat this time and he started drooling the moment he smelled them. (I don't usually reward with these except on "special occasions", but I've had to do a lot of testing today)
 
Back
Top