2/24 Buzzy AMPS 172 = 1u; +3 108; +7.25 74; PMPS 93 = 1u; +1 80; +2/2.5 55; +3 62; +4 73 Dose Tmrw?

toomanycats

Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-4-62-5-71-6-25-86-pmps-137-1u-2-154.226063/

So, I'm thinking Buzzy is/will be due an increase - I know we've talked about it before, but then he wound up skipping a dose & hitting the 60s at nadir & so I've delayed and delayed. At this point, the soonest I'd increase is Thursday night so that I can be around to test.

Am I right that he's due an increase? Or do I start counting 10 cycles from his first nadir under 100? Or re-start that 10-cycles-under-100 count from the skipped dose?
 
No, Buzzy does not need an increase in dose.
Yesterday in the am cycle, he had a 4 hour run of lovely green numbers (62-86).
Two days before that he nadired at+10 83 and a skipped PMPS because the numbers were too low (68-74) after stalling.
5 days ago his PMPS was 88 and you stalled then shot at 102.
TR states "when your cat starts seeing nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."
And the count starts over with a skipped dose.
 
Thanks @carfurby & @Bron and Sheba (GA) I was mostly not sure about how the skipped dose impacted count.
I'm sure I'll ask again come Thursday evening (the soonest I could increase anyways) as that will actually be 10 cycles since skipped dose. I just won't be able to catch any nadirs Tues - Thurs unfortunately. Anyways, we can revisit then.
 
Thanks @carfurby & @Bron and Sheba (GA) I was mostly not sure about how the skipped dose impacted count.
I'm sure I'll ask again come Thursday evening (the soonest I could increase anyways) as that will actually be 10 cycles since skipped dose. I just won't be able to catch any nadirs Tues - Thurs unfortunately. Anyways, we can revisit then.

Don't be in a rush to increase the dose. Buzzy is doing well on the 1 unit.
The higher numbers are from him bouncing from the greens which he has to get used to again, so give him time to get used to being in greens again and hopefully he will stop bouncing.
Also I would be concerned about increasing the dose further as you are not there 3 days a week to monitor and he is already dropping into the 60s on 1 unit and you have had to skip one shot because the number was too low to shoot.
He is still very new to FD and I would want to collect more data before increasing further.
He is doing well for a newly diagnosed kitty.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Oh I promise I am in noooo rush to increase his dose lol. I wasn't even before the skipped dose - I posted last week how this 1u dose feels really comfortable for me - I was encouraged to increase him last Friday morning (and apparently it's good I didn't...mr. late nadir that day), but I ultimately decided to use that day to gather more data and...voila...here we are!
I'd be perfectly happy if we never go over 1u lol

Edit: side note -- had i not desperately needed sleep that night, I would've shot that 73. I think he would've been ok, but I couldn't stay awake.
Next time.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Oh I promise I am in noooo rush to increase his dose lol. I wasn't even before the skipped dose - I posted last week how this 1u dose feels really comfortable for me - I was encouraged to increase him last Friday morning (and apparently it's good I didn't...mr. late nadir that day), but I ultimately decided to use that day to gather more data and...voila...here we are!
I'd be perfectly happy if we never go over 1u lol

Edit: side note -- had i not desperately needed sleep that night, I would've shot that 73. I think he would've been ok, but I couldn't stay awake.
Next time.
Always make that when you accept dosing advice that the people are experienced.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) they were! It was a mod here. I think the advice was totally accurate given the data we had at that time (2/19 AM) :) - he was 8 cycles in, staying in blue & yellow, and I was asking about an increase a couple cycles later.
Then he just decided to go and change everything.
Diabetic cats are like babies aren't they..........oh gosh I'm just realizing, they really are...everything changes so randomly.
 
We're in the lagoon again!

So, I'm noticing some definite hair loss on at least one of Buzzy's ears - as i posted about before - I've not rubbed them for blood AT ALL in the last 2 days...I can't tell if it's getting worse... one ear is definitely worse than the other.
He's shaking his head after I mess w/ his ears, though, so I think it might be bothering him. I looked inside his ears, and they are clean & healthy... I'm worried it's the food... he's on Fancy Feast pates -- either maybe it's swapping through flavors that's bothering him or it's the quality of it...
But I'm planning to change them to Edit: Friskies (already using Fancy Feast) in the next few days...and worried this will make things worse bc isn't Edit: Friskies even lower quality? ugh. He's also developing dandruff, which is new, though his coat doesn't look awful like it did before diagnosis.
 
Last edited:
I don't think FF is a low quality food...why do you say that? Just wondering...

Lots of things can affect fur and skin with these cats...he's got a lot of challenges right now managing his BG...but he's looking better. Nice greens today!

I hope his ear fur replenishes itself soo...Luci's got some fur restoration to do of her own from her cast...her little foot looks like a sad sight to see.
 
@Sue and Luci
Because it contains "meat by-products" is what i mean - you get a mix of beef/poultry/whatever else in there vs. a single source/identifiable sources of protein.
I feel like Buzzy has had issues in the past with a specific protein but I can't remember if it was beef or fish.
EDIT: Also - I mistyped - I'm planning to change them to FRISKIES...he's currently eating Fancy Feast. And I feel like Friskies might be lower quality than FF (it's cheaper, at least)

Soooooo...
I shot my first green shoot tonight....
Hand holding may be needed.
 
Aaand commence panic attack omg what have I done lol.
No, I know...this is progress...this was good...I've shot a 102...this is basically the same thing...trying to breathe

Edit: I measured this dose like fifty times pushing out/re-drawing/pushing out to make sure it wasn't too fat or thin or anything but perfect :nailbiting:
 
Ughhhh guys... 55 at only +2....
I gave him a heaping spoonful of 10% carb Wellness. I might cry.
And he just chose to go lay AWAY from me instead of with me for the first time in months
 
Still 55 at +2.5
Still might barf (me, not cat)

Edit to add: also, he tried to run away from me testing him. That hasn't actually happened before.
Edit again: but I seem to have earned his trust back by giving him a few more Elsey's kibble as a treat...
 
So, I'm thinking Buzzy is/will be due an increase

So much for that idea!! The dosecrease threat still has it's magic power!!

giving him a few more Elsey's kibble as a treat

Are you using the Dr. Elsey's kibble just for treats? Not leaving it down?

Hopefully he'll keep on surfing for you! It's nerve-wracking on the human but great for the cat!
 
Are you using the Dr. Elsey's kibble just for treats? Not leaving it down?

Hopefully he'll keep on surfing for you! It's nerve-wracking on the human but great for the cat!

Yes only for treats.
And I wouldn't normally do it more than once in a day, but after he tried to run away, I was like...I gotta make this worth his while.
 
62 at +3.
Know it's a food bump, but it still makes my heart beat a little slower.

Now I'm pre-anxious about tomorrow -- not being able to be home & the possibility of him still getting the 1u dose -- if I hadn't given him MC food, he may have gone under 50 and earned a reduction tonight...
 
Plenty of time to worry about tomorrow's dose. You are in complete control of that part of things, and by then you'll have some more information to work with.

Looking at his spreadsheet, it looks like antibiotics were started a few days ago. Wonder if what you're seeing right now is them starting to do their job?
 
Plenty of time to worry about tomorrow's dose. You are in complete control of that part of things, and by then you'll have some more information to work with.

Looking at his spreadsheet, it looks like antibiotics were started a few days ago. Wonder if what you're seeing right now is them starting to do their job?

Maybe; I'd wondered if they would impact it at all. He was on 2 other antibiotics before starting insulin -- that + diet change is what we did for 2 weeks before starting insulin -- they didn't kill his UTI or bring his numbers low enough. We're hoping these will at least kill the UTI - especially with his numbers being lower now.

Edit: I do actually think this is what would've happened though had we just not skipped that dose the other night -- I think we were on this path with the 1u before starting antibiotics.
 
Yeah, UTIs can be really stubborn, sometimes you have to go through multiple antibiotics before you find the one that works on the specific bug. If that's getting cleared up for him, finally, that's another possible explanation for him running around a little more!
 
Fantastic surfing! I am also heading to bed soon but will check in the am to see how he did in the overnight. He is looking good today!

Are you leaving food out for him tonight?
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) I'm not planning to leave food out for him overnight, but he's eaten a pretty good amount this evening. It's a little less than 8 hours without food; I think he'll be ok. (My other cat is legit getting fat again at this point & the last thing I need is her getting diabetes too ugh - we had JUST gotten her to a healthy weight...but she expects a little bit of food every time I give it to him!)
I'm making up both low-carb and medium-carb "catsicles" to leave in the timed feeder tomorrow while I'm gone.
I'm still not sure what to shoot tomorrow morning...1u, shaved 1u...he hasn't really earned the reduction, but what if he does during one of these 3 days when I'm not here to catch it!
 
I think it's too early to say on the dose tomorrow, but my own view right now before seeing those numbers is that, given your work schedule, it's not the worst idea in the world to take a pre-emptive reduction of some kind. On the other hand, so far at least this dose has been the one to bring Buzzy down to the good (+safe) numbers, and the catsicles are an excellent insurance policy against lows while you're gone.

Buzzy himself might make the decision clear in the morning; I hope others here can weigh in on this, too, this situation isn't all that clear-cut (well, it is by the rules of TR; the official dose is still 1.0U!). I'm going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) specifically because she was in the thread earlier and is probably the most likely person (due to time zone) to be around to give some opinions before pre-shot in the morning. I'm sure others will pop in when they can to offer opinions and thoughts.

It's always tough to manage FD around a difficult schedule, but you are doing a great job. He is so lucky to have you!
 
The other thing to consider is that the 1.0 unit depot will be running the show for the first part of the cycle, even if you do reduce tomorrow morning. If he's not bouncing tomorrow morning, you could consider doing MC and/or HC catsicles. A little high from food is better than low from not enough food.
 
Back
Top