2/25 Ivy Amps 295, +3 312, +6 381, +9 352, Pmps 297, +2.75 101, +3.25 63 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Amps 295
Increased Dose this am to 3.75 units Lantus.:nailbiting:
(She hasn’t been on a dose this high in about a year when I first got a Libre and began closely monitoring).
Last night & overnight cycle was very active until around +6 then stayed in nice “green” (on Libre, so really higher, in 100s on a handheld meter).
Tested with an ear poke at almost +6 Lo Libre, on Contour meter it was 123.
The great thing about that Libre is you know what’s going on at all times with bg.
The difficulty is and will be as she moves to lower bgs, the low warnings alarms (for safety) go off and are very loud.
I’ve muffled her phone (which reads her sensor) inside carpet samples, thick socks & a thick towel.;)
Helps a lot overnight.
Will have to also wrap my phone which receives the reading and low bg warning (also very loud). :eek:

Even though I fed 12.5% food last night & snacks while I was out, she began a drop around +2.5 to +3 (I got home before +4). When I saw her dropping I tried to get her to eat from the remote feeder but she didn’t get up to go eat the food (so that wasn’t great).
Then later fed some carbs a few times into late night to keep her coasting.
Tired this morning from little sleep. :coffee::coffee:

It’s gonna be interesting to see how this higher dose takes her and how I’m gonna manage it with these alarms going off….wish us luck o_O

Have a safe day everyone :bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
It was great to see her get down to the good level but it must be stressful that it had to happen while you were out.
Hope you get to rest today!
Good luck with the increase. Ivy's numbers are getting better as the dose gets higher - hope she shows what she can do with this dose!
Happy Sunday and get some rest :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning!

How do you know what is accurate? It such a big difference between the Libre and the handheld. When going into greens I'd be like "Which one do I believe?! What do I do?!" :nailbiting: I guess you're used to it though and just watch how she acts?
 
Good morning Staci!
It was great to see her get down to the good level but it must be stressful that it had to happen while you were out.
Hope you get to rest today!
Good luck with the increase. Ivy's numbers are getting better as the dose gets higher - hope she shows what she can do with this dose!
Happy Sunday and get some rest :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, it is s good she’s getting better lower numbers. But yes stressful when out watching the drop. If you don’t have the Libre, then you don’t know, so I guess you have less stress??? ;)
Lots to do today as usual, but maybe a little rest later today.
Hope you and Mikan are having a safe surf and a nice Sunday.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning!

How do you know what is accurate? It such a big difference between the Libre and the handheld. When going into greens I'd be like "Which one do I believe?! What do I do?!" :nailbiting: I guess you're used to it though and just watch how she acts?
I use the Libre as a guide and use the Contour handheld for accuracy.
Knock wood, she’s never acted oddly.
I’m no expert, just taking it day by day. :cat:
 
Good morning!

How do you know what is accurate? It such a big difference between the Libre and the handheld. When going into greens I'd be like "Which one do I believe?! What do I do?!" :nailbiting: I guess you're used to it though and just watch how she acts?
The normal human glucometers we’ve used here for decades are really very reliable and that is the one that is most accurate. The Libre is known to read falsely low at low numbers but for a cat that just won’t tolerate handling or poking a lot, it’s really the best option to keep them safe. Staci has done a lot of tests comparing the two at low numbers so she has a good grasp of what to believe and she always checks the Contour when the Libre reads “Lo”.

Good luck with the increase, Staci. We definitely need to get her into greener pastures for longer but that is going to cause the Libre to sound more and you might have to poke more. At some point, maybe Ivy will tolerate the pokes better and you can just use the Contour.

I’m glad you picked up on the flat yellow. It’s pretty common when a member sees flat yellow for a cycle, in a cat that is bouncing, that the bounce is about to clear. If Ivy just wasn’t so dramatic about it! But she’s clearing her bounces faster :woot::woot:
 
Good luck with the increase. I know it's bummer to get to higher doses, or doses you hadn't been on in awhile. She needs what she needs, and you're doing amazing! (I had to remind myself of this when Kit started going into doses she'd never had to go to before) :bighug:
 
The normal human glucometers we’ve used here for decades are really very reliable and that is the one that is most accurate. The Libre is known to read falsely low at low numbers but for a cat that just won’t tolerate handling or poking a lot, it’s really the best option to keep them safe. Staci has done a lot of tests comparing the two at low numbers so she has a good grasp of what to believe and she always checks the Contour when the Libre reads “Lo”.

Good luck with the increase, Staci. We definitely need to get her into greener pastures for longer but that is going to cause the Libre to sound more and you might have to poke more. At some point, maybe Ivy will tolerate the pokes better and you can just use the Contour.

I’m glad you picked up on the flat yellow. It’s pretty common when a member sees flat yellow for a cycle, in a cat that is bouncing, that the bounce is about to clear. If Ivy just wasn’t so dramatic about it! But she’s clearing her bounces faster :woot::woot:
Good morning, Marje, thank you for your opinion on all of this information. I agree, she needs to be more green focused and getting her there is the goal.
It’s definitely going to be a challenge for me, using the Libre and having to deal with the alarms. And like you said, maybe at some point completely switching over to the Contour, but we’re not there yet, so one step at a time.
I have no idea how I would be able to achieve that with Ivy, but we shall see.
Even yesterday, when I had to poke her, she jumped so fast that I ripped the edge of her ear with the point of the lancet. That was a gusher. If only she would sit still and not freak out. After all this time, you would think she would have learned the drill :arghh:

When I saw that flat yellow cycle yesterday afternoon, I thought oh boy, she’s gonna dive tonight when I’m out.
And sure enough… She held out pretty well with the bump in carbs, so luckily I got back in time when she really began to dip lower. But she does like her descent at +3 pretty reliably.
Especially on a Saturday night, that’s her specialty. Nights that I’m home, not so much:blackeye:

Secretly, I think it’s her M.O….. To keep me home 24/7. This girl holds the reins. :rolleyes:
Hope you have a lovely Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Staci. You know her very well! I hope today is calmer so you can get some restm, after last night!
Hi Cecile, thank you. She’s getting into the numbers where we want her, it’s just that it creates more work and poking when we get there. But you know that with Bella :bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase. I know it's bummer to get to higher doses, or doses you hadn't been on in awhile. She needs what she needs, and you're doing amazing! (I had to remind myself of this when Kit started going into doses she'd never had to go to before) :bighug:
Hi Alicia, I know I don’t like to be giving these higher doses. Makes me very uncomfortable. But obviously it’s what her body needs at this point to get her where we need her to be if we’re gonna make any improvement in her overall condition.
But, it’s also scary seeing the increase so rapidly. But you are right, it’s what we have to do, so we do it.
Hope you have a relaxing day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’ve muffled her phone (which reads her sensor) inside carpet samples, thick socks & a thick towel.;)
Helps a lot overnight.
Will have to also wrap my phone which receives the reading and low bg warning (also very loud). :eek:
Morning Staci, I see you came up with something to muffle Ivy's phone,good idea. Glad it helps overnight.
Now it's time to wrap your phone ,do you have enough thick socks :p
I see she kept you up late last night , I hope you can get a cat nap in later on today. Good luck with the increase . :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Good luck with the increase. Hopefully it helps her pancreas and she'll be earning reductions soon enough.
I like how you found a way to muffle the alarm sound. Is there an option to change it to more gentle sounding melodies? I know my boys hate high pitched, loud alarms as well so I can imagine how frustrating it can be.

We'll be watching and cheering you from the sidelines as always. I hope you enjoyed tour dinner date last night and hopefully you can get some rest today.

Have a nice Sunday.

upload_2024-2-25_11-24-35.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-25_11-24-35.png
    upload_2024-2-25_11-24-35.png
    176.5 KB · Views: 276
Good morning Staci! Maybe if the alarms get to be too much you may consider going back to the freestyle libre. Not as convenient and not helpful when you’re out but it would keep from poking so much…..

Hope you can get some rest today and Ivy has a nice surf!
 
Morning Staci, I see you came up with something to muffle Ivy's phone,good idea. Glad it helps overnight.
Now it's time to wrap your phone ,do you have enough thick socks :p
I see she kept you up late last night , I hope you can get a cat nap in later on today. Good luck with the increase . :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Morning Diane, Thanks to your inspiration with the foam, I came up with something I had in the house that worked out quite well. It’s muffled beautifully.
Now I will have to muffle my phone.
Problem is I have to keep checking my phone every time I hear the alarm go off to see what’s happening, so it’s I’ll have to work on that solution.
Hoping I can get a little wee catnip in later.
Hope you’re having a great day. At least the sun is out today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Good luck with the increase. Hopefully it helps her pancreas and she'll be earning reductions soon enough.
I like how you found a way to muffle the alarm sound. Is there an option to change it to more gentle sounding melodies? I know my boys hate high pitched, loud alarms as well so I can imagine how frustrating it can be.

We'll be watching and cheering you from the sidelines as always. I hope you enjoyed tour dinner date last night and hopefully you can get some rest today.

Have a nice Sunday.

View attachment 69341
Good morning, Karolina, I sure hope that after all these increases, she can get some healing in and then we can have some decreases. I look forward to that. Pause crossed. It was nice to get out again last night.
It’s just a different kind of going out these days when you’ve got a fur baby at home to worry about ;)
We appreciate your support support and cheering. It helps us a lot to know we have people and fur babies who care.
Wishing you a wonderful day and a safe surf to Nestle :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci! Maybe if the alarms get to be too much you may consider going back to the freestyle libre. Not as convenient and not helpful when you’re out but it would keep from poking so much…..

Hope you can get some rest today and Ivy has a nice surf!
Good morning Deb, anything is a possibility as we move forward. Something will have to give as we get into Better and Better lower numbers.
There’s always something to figure out isn’t there? Hope Tiger is feeling well and doing great today. Have a relaxing Sunday:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Good luck with the increase.
I hope you manage to catch up with some sleep ver soon.
Sounds like you got the alarm sound under control.
I hope Ivy gives you nice numbers with this dose without the drama of lo.
Have a great Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Good luck with the increase.
I hope you manage to catch up with some sleep ver soon.
Sounds like you got the alarm sound under control.
I hope Ivy gives you nice numbers with this dose without the drama of lo.
Have a great Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, thank you. Let’s hope she likes this dose. Today she’s super high in pinks. I hope that’s just NDW and it wears off. Just hope she doesn’t come crashing down.
She’s been lazy sleeping in my closet today. I’m trying to be a little lazy after such a long night.
I hope you are all having a nice quiet evening. Have a great week and feel better :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Even yesterday, when I had to poke her, she jumped so fast that I ripped the edge of her ear with the point of the lancet.
It's so difficult ... Chispa, who is about as patient a cat as you could hope to find, still has a divot or two on the edge of her ear from exactly that, early on. I wish we didn't have to poke them but we do, and I hope they know we are trying to help them. You are an excellent cat mom -- hang in there, and get some rest if you can! Everything looks worse when you're tired. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's so difficult ... Chispa, who is about as patient a cat as you could hope to find, still has a divot or two on the edge of her ear from exactly that, early on. I wish we didn't have to poke them but we do, and I hope they know we are trying to help them. You are an excellent cat mom -- hang in there, and get some rest if you can! Everything looks worse when you're tired. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Awww thanks so much Karen. I appreciate your words. I hate to hurt her. And she just hates it and reacts so badly sometimes. It does upset me when I rip her ear when she pulls away like that.
Poor thing.
Hope you and Chispa are doing well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pmps 297
So I guess we are either bouncing today from last night's low cycle overnight. Or NDW? Or both?
I’m quite sure this dose will kick in and she will react :nailbiting::facepalm::nailbiting:
Hoping it’s during daylight hours :cat:
 
And she just hates it and reacts so badly sometimes. It does upset me when I rip her ear when she pulls away like that.
This was totally Kit for the first month or two. There were lots of growls/hisses (her) and crying (me). She finally just gave in - I think part of it with her is I was doing the tests and shots on the counter where she also gets claw trims and where the vet does her thing. So it's not a good spot for her. Now it's pretty much anywhere but there (i.e. in the bottom of the linen closet, which thank goodness we've moved on from!) I also can only do one ear - she FREAKS when I try to test on the other. So there's one spot on her ear that you can tell is the testing spot. I don't have any brilliant advice, you know Ivy better than any of us, and I'm sorry it's been difficult to do the poke tests. I hope that someday you're able to get there with her. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just wishing you two well. Guess nerves of steel and proficiency at cat-napping are in order for you. Ivy already has the napping thing down, but sounds like you need some! :bighug:
 
This was totally Kit for the first month or two. There were lots of growls/hisses (her) and crying (me). She finally just gave in - I think part of it with her is I was doing the tests and shots on the counter where she also gets claw trims and where the vet does her thing. So it's not a good spot for her. Now it's pretty much anywhere but there (i.e. in the bottom of the linen closet, which thank goodness we've moved on from!) I also can only do one ear - she FREAKS when I try to test on the other. So there's one spot on her ear that you can tell is the testing spot. I don't have any brilliant advice, you know Ivy better than any of us, and I'm sorry it's been difficult to do the poke tests. I hope that someday you're able to get there with her. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Alicia for the encouragement. I’ve definitely gotten better. In the beginning there was crying (me) and hisses and biting (her). Now I don’t cry anymore. But she still hisses and bites and scratches :blackeye:
And you should have seen me shaking when I installed the first few Libres. (Thank goodness for my son cheering me on. He’s my biggest support).
I don’t know if I’d ever be able to test her 4 or more times a day.
But one day at a time.
I’m so glad Kit cat has gotten so much better for you. It makes a huge difference. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just wishing you two well. Guess nerves of steel and proficiency at cat-napping are in order for you. Ivy already has the napping thing down, but sounds like you need some! :bighug:
Thank you so much. I’ve developed some nerves of steel (best I can). But still get nervous when I can sense her anxiety.
I definitely need a night of sleep. Hoping I can sleep tonight and be rested for tomorrow to take on the day. I would think her dose should kick in by tomorrow.
Have a good night with Purrl :bighug::bighug:
 
101 +2.75 on Libre
Guess the increased dose is working to bring her down at onset. Looks like a pj party :coffee::coffee:
I may be up awhile as well. Someone has managed to drop to 59 while mostly eating only 7% tonight. Tomorrow's am cycle may be a carb fest for her since I have to leave by +3 and won't be able to come home until +10.
 
I may be up awhile as well. Someone has managed to drop to 59 while mostly eating only 7% tonight. Tomorrow's am cycle may be a carb fest for her since I have to leave by +3 and won't be able to come home until +10.
Yikes. She wants a 50.

I’ve been giving 12.5% to slow her down. Would like to move to 6% if she still needs carbs. I want her to go lower. But not super fast in first 3 hours. We are at +4 so trying to stop feeding if possible.
Good luck tonight. Hope Kit cat stays safe and you can sleep.
And carb fest Monday is almost upon us :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top