2/27 Ivy Amps 253, +3 286, +6 281,+9 333,Pmps 333, +2 306, +2.5 251,+3 158,+4 109,+6 68,+7 193 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Amps 253
Good morning,
day 3 on this dose of 3.75 u.
Flat yellow last night after flat blue am cycle.
Got some sleep, which was a gift. :smuggrin:
I expect action today to follow that flat yellow night.
Need to leave today at +8.5 for about 2 hours. Hoping she’s stable by then if she decides to get busy today.
Since she’s living in my bedroom for the past 1.5 weeks (due to basement issues/leak) she’s not eating well from her auto feeder in the evening at +1,2,3. She eats her meal fine but she’s usually lounging in her big comfy chair when snack time comes and she doesn’t get up for the snacks :(
If I hand feed her she will eat the snacks when I’m here.
My issue is when we go out for dinner on Saturday night, I want her to eat those pm snacks on her own to keep her safe.
Any ideas why she might not be interested in using self feeder or how to inspire her in her new location?

Have a safe day everyone :cat::joyful:
 
Good morning Staci!
Glad you got a good night sleep! That's a gift, for sure!;)
If I hand feed her she will eat the snacks when I’m here.
Awwww, what a princess. :kiss: She wants her momma to help her enjoy snack!
But I can see how this can be a concern when you go out for dinner.
Any possibility that you can spend some time with her, use the autofeeder, help her go there and treat. After a few times, if she eats (do a small amount) from the feeder, treat. So I guess to get her conditioned to the autofeeder thing. I don't use one so not sure how it works, but I hear that cats get conditioned to the sound of the feeder. Just my 2 cents.

Wishing you and Ivy a lovely Tuesday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
Glad you got a good night sleep! That's a gift, for sure!;)

Awwww, what a princess. :kiss: She wants her momma to help her enjoy snack!
But I can see how this can be a concern when you go out for dinner.
Any possibility that you can spend some time with her, use the autofeeder, help her go there and treat. After a few times, if she eats (do a small amount) from the feeder, treat. So I guess to get her conditioned to the autofeeder thing. I don't use one so not sure how it works, but I hear that cats get conditioned to the sound of the feeder. Just my 2 cents.

Wishing you and Ivy a lovely Tuesday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It’s odd, Kit. She’s been using the auto feeder for months just fine. But since we moved her location, it’s hit or miss.
I can’t figure out what has changed for her although than the location.
The only other thing is, she would usually be laying in her bed, which is on the floor when it was in her other location, and she would walk over to the feeder. Here she is usually on the chair and would have to jump down to get to the feeder, which is on the floor 2 feet from where she is on the chair. So she definitely hears it opening.
Its almost like she’s lazy and doesn’t feel like getting off the chair. Making me a little crazy for a change :banghead:
 
Its almost like she’s lazy and doesn’t feel like getting off the chair. Making me a little crazy for a change :banghead:
This is my main concern about the autofeeder that I still haven't started using. Sometimes Kit will be 2 feet from a dish of food ON THE SAME LEVEL AS HER and she can't be deigned to move to it. I can move her to it, or move it to her, and she'll eat just fine. I think she might have someone wrapped around her little finger, and I of course bow to her every whim. :rolleyes:
 
Good morning Staci. So glad you got some rest last night. What a coincidence but I’m having trouble with Tiger using his auto feeder. He always jumped down as soon as he heard it but lately he’s ignoring it till early morning, sometime just before we get up. It’s set for 3am to keep his tummy happy and within 5 hours of his last food. Now I have seen him laying there awake and ignoring it, then I hear him eating it around 6-7 am. I don’t want him letting his tummy get empty and start getting sick so I need to figure it out too. I think it may be he’s tired of the food in it because nothing else has changed here. If you have any ideas with Ivy, let me know too!

Have a beautiful day!
 
Good morning Staci. So glad you got some rest last night. What a coincidence but I’m having trouble with Tiger using his auto feeder. He always jumped down as soon as he heard it but lately he’s ignoring it till early morning, sometime just before we get up. It’s set for 3am to keep his tummy happy and within 5 hours of his last food. Now I have seen him laying there awake and ignoring it, then I hear him eating it around 6-7 am. I don’t want him letting his tummy get empty and start getting sick so I need to figure it out too. I think it may be he’s tired of the food in it because nothing else has changed here. If you have any ideas with Ivy, let me know too!

Have a beautiful day!
I’m thinking hard on this one.

That’s why I put it out to the group for thought to see if anybody else had any ideas. Again, it’s strange because she was using it beautifully but when I moved her location, there’s something going on that’s keeping her from using it consistently. Sometimes she eats from it, but not every time, and that’s definitely a problem that I have to figure out the answer, Deb and Alicia
:bookworm:o_O
@Alicia & Kit cat
@Deb and Tiger
 
Hi Staci :)
So happy you got some sleep!
Nice to have some flat cycles as well. Hopefully she surfs safely when you need to leave.
I'm in no position to give any advice on auto feeder as you know :banghead: The only thing I can think of, which might not be super useful, is that cats love routine and her routine was disrupted.
Maybe treat this is cultivating a ew routine. How would you go about it? How did you get her to eat from the auto feeder at first? Maybe it'll take a bit of time.
It sounds like Ivy is very comfortable in your bedroom.
I trust you'll find how to get her moving.
Wishing you a wonderful rest of your day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Cats are so peculiar when it comes to change.

I hope Ivy catches on..

Maybe try a different spot, or position the feeder where she sees it from the comfy chair!!:joyful:
 
I’m wondering if all this pink is a high before the break tonight. She’s going to have to show us something better than she has or it’s time to increase her dose again to 4u tomorrow.

I know that’s not something you are looking forward to. It’s my hypothesis that Ivy probably has some resistance because she stayed at some lower doses a very long time because of the Libre vs Contour and SLGS. Let’s see how she does tonight.

How’s it going with the calipers?
 
I’m wondering if all this pink is a high before the break tonight. She’s going to have to show us something better than she has or it’s time to increase her dose again to 4u tomorrow.

I know that’s not something you are looking forward to. It’s my hypothesis that Ivy probably has some resistance because she stayed at some lower doses a very long time because of the Libre vs Contour and SLGS. Let’s see how she does tonight.

How’s it going with the calipers?
Ugh. I was afraid of that. I don’t love going up again and to hit the big 4. But of course if it’s what she needs, I’ll do it.
I was just thinking this could be the very pink high before a very active night to come. I guess we shall see. :facepalm:
The calipers are working out just fine. Using them every time to double check my dosing. (I have more crap on the counter!)
Wish us luck tonight and tomorrow!
Thanks for the guidance. Have a wonderful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ugh. I was afraid of that. I don’t love going up again and to hit the big 4. But of course if it’s what she needs, I’ll do it.
I was just thinking this could be the very pink high before a very active night to come. I guess we shall see. :facepalm:
The calipers are working out just fine. Using them every time to double check my dosing. (I have more crap on the counter!)
Wish us luck tonight and tomorrow!
Thanks for the guidance. Have a wonderful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Let’s see what she does and talk about it in a few hours,

I’m glad the calipers are working out.
 
Do you have a similar height table or footstool to put the feeder on next to the chair? Maybe the dish at her level might help.

Hope all goes well tonight!
 
Do you have a similar height table or footstool to put the feeder on next to the chair? Maybe the dish at her level might help.

Hope all goes well tonight!
Good idea. You never know what may entice her. I’ll try to come up with an idea. Thanks! :bighug::bighug:
 
Cats are so peculiar when it comes to change.

I hope Ivy catches on..

Maybe try a different spot, or position the feeder where she sees it from the comfy chair!!:joyful:
She can actually see the feeder from her comfy chaise lounge. I think she’s too lazy to get up :banghead:
Here she is on the comfy chair (I can’t blame her, it’s a cozy chair)
upload_2024-2-27_19-30-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-27_19-30-16.jpeg
    upload_2024-2-27_19-30-16.jpeg
    94.7 KB · Views: 255
Hi Staci :)
So happy you got some sleep!
Nice to have some flat cycles as well. Hopefully she surfs safely when you need to leave.
I'm in no position to give any advice on auto feeder as you know :banghead: The only thing I can think of, which might not be super useful, is that cats love routine and her routine was disrupted.
Maybe treat this is cultivating a ew routine. How would you go about it? How did you get her to eat from the auto feeder at first? Maybe it'll take a bit of time.
It sounds like Ivy is very comfortable in your bedroom.
I trust you'll find how to get her moving.
Wishing you a wonderful rest of your day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Shelly. Ivy is always presenting me with a new and challenging situation. I guess she thinks it’s her job. She’s good at it :rolleyes:
She took to the feeder very easily originally. And only began to stop using it in the last week in her new location.
I’m going to also give her a snacks out of the feeder starting tomorrow to try to really get her to rely on the feeder. Is she ignores it I will have to give her the food manually, but I will try this as a tactic.
I hope you are all having a very calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci

Looks like Ivy is starting her mission meow. Hope you're well rested cause you might not get lots of sleep tonight.
As for the feeder I have no ideas cause my boys run to theirs as soon as they hear it. But is it possible it's not the feeder but the snacks? Maybe she got bored of them? Would you be willing to try other snacks to entice her. Or maybe some catnip around the feeder?

Hopefully she doesn't keep you up too long tonight.
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci

Looks like Ivy is starting her mission meow. Hope you're well rested cause you might not get lots of sleep tonight.
As for the feeder I have no ideas cause my boys run to theirs as soon as they hear it. But is it possible it's not the feeder but the snacks? Maybe she got bored of them? Would you be willing to try other snacks to entice her. Or maybe some catnip around the feeder?

Hopefully she doesn't keep you up too long tonight.
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Hi Karolina, I agree. I hope we can get some sleep tonight. But it’s already been a big drop.
Ivy eats a strict novel protein diet. I divide her meal into portions and give her remaining meal as snacks at +1,2,3.
It seems odd that all of a sudden she’d stop eating the snacks.
I don’t actually have any snacks otherwise to give her :(
Yet one more issue to tackle.
Thank you for the suggestion!!
I thought we were good with her feeder until this past week :(

Hugs to you and your boys :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top