2/28/21 - Squeaky! AMPS = 263 +2=288 +4=360 +6=363 PMPS=352

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jan D & Squeaky, Feb 28, 2021.

  1. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-21-squeaky-amps-345-pmps-265.243846/

    What sports do cats play? Hairball.

    HAHA. We all know that; seems like a sport sometimes huh.

    Tomorrow's joke will make you groan.

    Squeaky hasn't been playing much lately and he has been sitting by his water bowl again. :eek:

    Hey I suspect since he hasn't had any greens that we need to do our first curve? Let me see if I can find the instructions. Maybe adapt it a little bit to help save his ears? Okay I read the instructions. We will do it because I think he needs an increase.

    Oh, I get so stressed when he is not feeling well. I also get stressed when I have to poke him a lot. Stress day today. :eek::nailbiting::(
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Jan --

    If you are planning on following SLGS, I wouldn't hang out at a dose that isn't getting Squeaky into better numbers for more than a week. You've been at this dose for just a bit beyond a week.

    I also wonder if your kitty is a bit off due to the bouncing. Some cats just don't like the way the bounces feel especially since he's used to lower numbers.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  3. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thank you, Sienne, for looking in on us. Yes, we are going to do the curve today. Well I couldn't have for the last two days anyway. My own health issues sometime leave me flat on my back and I can't focus and even the BG tests go poorly.

    Yes I believe it is the up and down that is hard on him. He is often quite energetic if he's high; but not always. He's sometimes quite energetic when he's low; but not always.

    Wish us good testing today!
     
    Sienne and Gabby (GA) likes this.
  4. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Egads, Sienne, well he's going up instead of down. Is this at all normal? Perhaps I gave him a fur shot this morning without realizing? Should I continue the curve since it doesn't seem normal? (Knowing that Squeaky doesn't do well with lots of pokes.) Thanks!
     
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Squeaky may be bouncing today from however low he went last night. It's hard when they bounce when you're doing a curve. If you look at his numbers over the past week it does look like he needs a dose increase. I'd go back to 1.5 units. If he is still going up next test, I think you can quit doing the curve.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  6. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Carla. I appreciate your answer.
     
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It's entirely possible that it's a bounce, like Carla suggested. Of course, Squeaky is a cat and knew you were doing a curve. Since he doesn't like being poked, he's expressing either his displeasure or being a cat and not wanting to be predictable!
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  8. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    +6=363 so I can stop poking him now right? ??? He's an unhappy camper, he will be glad. And increase to 1.5. To me, that sounds like a plan!!!!

    Everyone thinks that's fine?
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  9. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It sounds like a plan! I would get a test at +11 just to make sure the numbers aren't dropping by shot time, though.
     
  10. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Sienne, so if his number has gone down at +11, what does that change actually? I still need to test him at +12 before I shoot.

    Also BTW I love the quote in your signature. I have not experienced anything like the love between Squeaky and me. So special.
     
  11. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Hmmm, I still don't know what that piece of information at +11 would actually help or change. Is it worth a prick? He is so tolerant but I do not like to push him. If not absolutely necessary.

    I don't know why I am so dumb that I can't understand how a +11 would change what happens at +12. If he's dropping we would know at +12, and we've decided to shoot 1.5 anyway. Why hurt him extra at +11? Would that change the shot? I don't get it.
     
  12. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi Jan,

    Hopefully Sienne or another more seasoned member will be around to answer your question but here's a blurb from the sticky on becoming data ready and handling low preshot numbers that you might find helpful!

    Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  13. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Yes, and if he's in the 300s or the 200s, (or even in the 100s).... which is very likely here..... I mean the 300s or 200s are very likely.... he's still going to get a shot. What am I not understanding? I really don't want to hurt him if it isn't meaningful.

    I mean, if we thought he was going below 90 and we wanted to catch that. THAT would change the shot.

    Geez I'm super tired again tonight, so I tend to resist. Thanks everyone for your patience with me. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    You see, it's time for his preshot. He is so unhappy about it..... he was trying to hide in his litter box. :(:(:(
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021

Share This Page