2/28, Bell, AMPS 97 +2 149 +4 104 +6 53 +7 54 +8 51 +9 43 +9.5 52 +10 49 +11 57 PMPS 53 +1 56 +2 59

bluesunshine

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Whew! I am exhausted and Bell is tired of being a pincushion but we (she) definitively earned another reduction today. I was sure we were heading into a multi-cycle bounce at the +2 but she really surprised me with the +4. I think that's a good sign that this dose was enough to hold her to multiple low green cycles. I debated doing a BCS tonight, but decided to shoot the full, reduced dose because I think she will bounce. If I'm wrong, it will be another long night, but with the big depot it might have been anyway. We shall see. I've got company coming tomorrow so I wouldn't mind a few stress-free cycles, Bell.

Really really appreciate all your support y'all. I feel like I'm getting a lot more than I'm giving right now, but Bell is really flying down the dosage scale and keeping me on my toes. Sincere thank you.
 
I was as grateful for the sun today as Bell was. Makes those pokes really easy...
upload_2025-2-28_19-19-58.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-28_19-19-58.png
    upload_2025-2-28_19-19-58.png
    556.5 KB · Views: 41
Congrats on the reduction! :)

Maybe you should stop intervening with carbs and let her earn the reduction earlier? Those long cycles of low 50s and testing and feeding must be exhausting!
Thank you, Bhooma! By “stop intervening with carbs” do you mean not feeding LC every hour? I’ve held off with MC and HC until she’s earned the reduction, but I do indeed feed her a bit of LC every hour. I could lesson the frequency of the LC so she drops lower sooner. It is truly exhausting, but I’m proud of her for getting those reductions!!
 
By “stop intervening with carbs” do you mean not feeding LC every hour? I’ve held off with MC and HC until she’s earned the reduction, but I do indeed feed her a bit of LC every hour.
I meant, not feed her any MC or HC to keep her over 50. LC is fine :-)
 
Yeah I try to hold off on the higher carbs until she earns her reduction or if I have to head to work. The exception is when she is dropping low heading into her shot time, since I hate the idea of a “no shot” if I can help it. So I try to get her on an upward trajectory before her two hour fast before the shot.

I have debated on taking reductions when she plays the game of 51 -> 53 -> 52, etc, since that’s within meter variance, but I feel that is a slippery slope
 
Hi Seth, boy you must be exhausted. I sure hope Bell has a little bit of a bow center tonight so you can get some rest and she can stop being a pincushion.

Glad you had sunshine warming her ears today that must’ve made it easier.
Come on up a little Bell!! Give your dad a break and safe surfing tonight. And tell Ivy to come up with you, please :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
IAA is by nature a slippery slope. When IAA is breaking, it's OK to break a few of the rules, to keep her safe. It's amazing how fast they'll recover. I reduced at below 70 when Neko was breaking her IAA. Bell's pancreas doesn't heal any better in the 50's than the 70's.
 
IAA is by nature a slippery slope. When IAA is breaking, it's OK to break a few of the rules, to keep her safe. It's amazing how fast they'll recover. I reduced at below 70 when Neko was breaking her IAA. Bell's pancreas doesn't heal any better in the 50's than the 70's.
I may change my threshold to, say, 55 here soon. Seems like anything below that triggers a bounce and she ends up getting the reduction in the bounce break.

Do you feel like she is in a “racing down the dosage scale”/IAA breaking situation now? I feel that. I keep being surprised when she maintains the lower 50s on the new dose.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top