2/28 Darcy Mid Day Pre Shot 405, + 1.25 384, +5 321, +6.5 368

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Suzanne & Darcy, Feb 28, 2021.

  1. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh boy. We started out this morning in the high 400s and now, for the first time ever, have a black number on his spreadsheet (520). Not in all of 2020 or 2021 has this ever happened. And he did have his 23 units of Lantus last night so I have no idea why he was so high this morning. Anyway, gave 4.5 units R and will give the last remaining dose of Lantus at +18 ish. I think I'm going to have to keep giving R periodically until I can get the Lantus tomorrow morning.

    I hope everyone else has a good BG day and all the kitties are happy and healthy!

    yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-darcy-pmps-365-2-325-3-5-353.243841/#post-2750768
     
  2. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  3. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
  4. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Sorry, Suzanne:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    On the upside, you finally found an R dose that move him 100 points in 4 hours.

    I knew Neko was finally getting some good numbers when I saw black bounces as a result.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I just gave him some more R with his late Lantus dose since he was over 400 ... but it will be okay because the previous R should have worn off by now (almost +8) and I will be with him all afternoon to test him.

    That's a good perspective!
     
  7. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
  8. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Good luck with the R, and I hope Darcy surfs safely. Have a wonderful rest of your day, Suzanne!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  9. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    His schedule is a bit wonky right now so it's understandable, even though it's hard to see those numbers.
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    @Wendy&Neko are you there? How about giving more R now... It is about 6.5 hours after he last had R... or should we just wait and see what the Lantus is doing. It's time for him to eat again though, and no matter how low carb of food I feed him... go goes up quite a bit... about 100 points.
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    6 hours after the last Lantus is OK to shoot R.
     
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That's what I was thinking. Thanks. Sorry for the hand-holding request.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Today with the 18 hours cycles is unusual circumstances, but at some point we'll have to start thinking of creating an R scale. Typically you'd shoot less R with lower R preshots. For example, 5U R may work with preshots above 400, less for preshots 300-400. Still trying to find the dose that moves him, so it'll be a moving target until we get more data. Once you have more Lantus and we get the depot built up again, it might become clearer.
     

Share This Page