? 2/5 - Xander | AMPS 120, +0.25 77, +2.25 44 - Switch to TR?

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
Yesterday's thread

Morning!

Xander's finally seen some blue and green again toward the end of last night's cycle! :D Unfortunately he also went <90 again, immediately after his AM dose. :blackeye: It was a struggle to get him to eat enough yesterday (he was about half a can short of what he should be having) and he hadn't finished his breakfast today, so maybe that's contributing.

ETA: He hit 44 at +2.25 which is the lowest I've seen so far. :( I tried to get a manual test to confirm but couldn't get any blood. Fortunately he started going back up a little by the time I gave up.

It's seeming like if he's going to have any blues or greens it always means going <90 and I'm wondering if maybe a switch to TR is worthwhile. Take advantage of the <90 rather than start the whole process over again. What would you do?

ETA 2: I'd like to add in that a lot of my concern is just feeling like I don't know enough and can't seem to get myself the answers. For example: When he does get into the greens, it tends to be after a long downward cycle with nadir at +12-13. Is this because he nadirs late or because his dose has to keep changing with SLGS? And how can I ever know for sure what is happening if I can never get a consistent dose that has an effect but doesn't go below 90?

I'm also struggling to see direct correlation with food because he goes up and down so much in general, even when food isn't in the mix. How long after eating should I expect to see a jump, if any?

I just don't know how to analyze his spreadsheet and make any sense of it. If anyone were at all able to try to help me figure those things out I'd be so eternally grateful.
I spend all my time reading and trying to learn but I'm so overwhelmed and feel like I'm getting nowhere.

Have a great day everyone! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Nice blues and greens! It looks like he could benefit from a consistent dose and TR would help with that… do you have any concerns about it?
 
Nice blues and greens! It looks like he could benefit from a consistent dose and TR would help with that… do you have any concerns about it?

The consistency is what I was thinking; if I keep having to switch doses it seems like he'll always be wonky. And since he tends to go <90 anytime he hits blue or green it seems like we'll always be chasing the "right" dose.

It does make me really nervous, but at the same time I haven't seen him go below 53 on the Libre yet. When I double-checked a low against a manual reader, the Contour showed him as 10 higher, so I'm thinking he's probably not actually hitting the low 50s anyway.

I know that you recently switched Pookey to TR - how has that been? His numbers all look great! Was it difficult to switch or scary or anything?
 
It was scary at first, but the folks here will help you get comfortable with lower numbers.

Here’s a post by @Sienne and Gabby (GA) that helped me when I was looking at switching.

Key points for me were:
  • TR has research and studies behind it. When this board was started SLGS wasn’t nearly as common.
  • Chances for remission are increased with TR.
  • You can always switch back to SLGS.
There’s no rush or pressure. I hope this helps!
 
It was scary at first, but the folks here will help you get comfortable with lower numbers.

Here’s a post by @Sienne and Gabby (GA) that helped me when I was looking at switching.

Key points for me were:
  • TR has research and studies behind it. When this board was started SLGS wasn’t nearly as common.
  • Chances for remission are increased with TR.
  • You can always switch back to SLGS.
There’s no rush or pressure. I hope this helps!

I checked out the link and am continuing to read anything I can about it! Thanks.

ETA: One thing that does concern me is that he doesn't seem to feel great at the lower numbers (50-70 maybe?). It's not technically hypo but he seems like doesn't feel well.
 
Last edited:
Hi Brianna,

I was just looking at Xander's SS and noticing how it's gone from bright reds and pinks to patches of blues and greens in only a couple of months, which is great. So although I am not an expert and don't want to give you any non-expert advice, I think I can safely suggest that you might want to take a deep breath and congratulate yourself and your handsome boy for the progress you've made so far! :):cat:

One thing I did wonder about is that you're changing the dose more much frequently, and by larger amounts, than is usually recommended. There may be some reason for it that I'm not aware of, but just in case, I'm taking the liberty of copying some tried-and-true information from the SLGS section of the "Dosing Methods" sticky, which is located here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
It sounds like you were already starting to figure that out on your own, or at least suspect a connection, so kudos to you and your intuition. Hopefully smaller adjustments and more time to get used to them in between will help Xander get his bearings and you'll start to see those numbers level out. Hang in there!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Brianna,

I was just looking at Xander's SS and noticing how it's gone from bright reds and pinks to patches of blues and greens in only a couple of months, which is great. So although I am not an expert and don't want to give you any non-expert advice, I think I can safely suggest that you might want to take a deep breath and congratulate yourself and your handsome boy for the progress you've made so far! :):cat:

One thing I did wonder about is that you're changing the dose more much frequently, and by larger amounts, than is usually recommended. There may be some reason for it that I'm not aware of, but just in case, I'm taking the liberty of copying some tried-and-true information from the SLGS section of the "Dosing Methods" sticky, which is located here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
It sounds like you were already starting to figure that out on your own, or at least suspect a connection, so kudos to you and your intuition. Hopefully smaller adjustments and more time to get used to them in between will help Xander get his bearings and you'll start to see those numbers level out. Hang in there!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Karen! Thank you for checking his SS out, I appreciate it!

Yeah, originally our vet told us to give 2 units. Once he started hitting some lower numbers than I was used to, I had originally skipped a dose which obviously didn't do any good. But I had no idea at the time how much I should reduce by, etc so I just experimented to see how he'd react to 0.5 units, 1 unit, etc when I got a lower than usual PS. I have now gotten the idea of increases/reductions by 0.25 and am doing that! The thing that I'm having such a hard time with is that it seems like every dose that goes green at all ends up sending him <90 so if I follow SLGS and have to reduce that often, I can never really get any consistency to see what's going on. Does that make sense?

I struggle a lot with anxiety, especially when it comes to making decisions and doing the "right thing" and this has been such a nightmare. The ambiguity and never really knowing the answer to my questions is killing me. :( My entire day other than the actual caretaking is basically just endless researching here and crying. lol
 
ETA: He hit 44 at +2.25 which is the lowest I've seen so far.
The 44 means a reduction regardless of the dosing method you're following and since he's less than a year since diagnosed. Your new dose going forward is 1 unit! Congrats on the reduction :cat:

What would you do?
The choice of a dosing method is up to you as the caregiver. We can help you with any questions you may have. Are you feeding all wet food/freeze dried diet? If you're feeding dry food, then you cannot follow TR.

For example: When he does get into the greens, it tends to be after a long downward cycle with nadir at +12-13. Is this because he nadirs late or because his dose has to keep changing with SLGS?
What you call a long downward cycle with nadir at the end of a cycle is what we refer to as a bounce clearing cycle. That is one way you can tell that kitty is clearing a bounce. Did you see the sticky under basics which defines a bounce? Let me know if you need the link :)

I'm also struggling to see direct correlation with food because he goes up and down so much in general, even when food isn't in the mix. How long after eating should I expect to see a jump, if any?
It can be difficult to see a pattern when you have so much information from the libre. Also, the pattern can be a little different in a bounce clearing cycle. Do you have an idea of what the carb % is in the food you're feeding? Maybe we can help decipher if/how carb sensitive Xander is.
Also keep in mind that every meter, including the libre, has a variance of 15-20% between its own readings. Think of it like a 300BG could be 255 or 345 accounting for meter variance.

ETA: One thing that does concern me is that he doesn't seem to feel great at the lower numbers (50-70 maybe?). It's not technically hypo but he seems like doesn't feel well.
I think when his body adjusts to normal BG (50-120) he will feel good in that range.
Agree 100% with Elise here! He's not used to "normal" BGs, his body "thinks" that the higher numbers are normal. Once he spends more times in blues/greens, you will definitely see a difference in personality. My Cleo was in the 50s around a (delayed) shot time this morning and was running around the house playing her little tail off! When she was first diagnosed, a blue number would send her hiding under the bed or tucked away in a corner somewhere.

I was just looking at Xander's SS and noticing how it's gone from bright reds and pinks to patches of blues and greens in only a couple of months, which is great.
Couldn't agree MORE! I too see great progress for a newly diagnosed kitty :cat: Keep up the great work!
I struggle a lot with anxiety, especially when it comes to making decisions and doing the "right thing" and this has been such a nightmare. The ambiguity and never really knowing the answer to my questions is killing me. :( My entire day other than the actual caretaking is basically just endless researching here and crying. lol
We've all been here! :bighug::bighug: Then, we see how great normal BGs can be and become addicted to the GREEN ;)!

Let us know if you decide to switch dosing methods.
 
Ohhhhh ... I so hear you about researching and crying! I think we have all been there!!! :bighug:

What you are likely seeing, with all the ups and downs, is something called "panicky liver." Basically, when a cat is not used to hanging out in the lower BG numbers, their body interprets a low BG as a potential threat and overcompensates to bring the BG back up ... sometimes WAY up. The extreme high after the low is known as a "bounce," and it can take several cycles to clear. The reason for holding a dose for as long as we do is to allow the cat's body to adjust, clear a bounce if necessary, and take stock in the new dose instead of just freaking out. The ups and downs are frustrating, but that's why it's important to focus on the nadirs and try to ignore the rest. Take the reductions when he earns them, and know that being in a more comfortable range will help him adjust over time. :D:cat:
 
The 44 means a reduction regardless of the dosing method you're following and since he's less than a year since diagnosed. Your new dose going forward is 1 unit! Congrats on the reduction :cat:

I think I'm having a hard time not taking it as "another dose that doesn't work" lol

The choice of a dosing method is up to you as the caregiver. We can help you with any questions you may have. Are you feeding all wet food/freeze dried diet? If you're feeding dry food, then you cannot follow TR.

Do you have an idea of what the carb % is in the food you're feeding? Maybe we can help decipher if/how carb sensitive Xander is.

He's getting all wet, yes. I give him Fancy Feast Classic Pate, primarily the Chicken, Chopped Grill Feast, and Tender Beef & Chicken all of which are 3% carb according to the Lisa Pierson DVM list. I also give him the Shrimp & Salmon (1%) and Ocean Whitefish & Tuna (0%), but only every 2-3 days since I was under the impression that too much of the fish ones may not be good for him.

What you call a long downward cycle with nadir at the end of a cycle is what we refer to as a bounce clearing cycle. That is one way you can tell that kitty is clearing a bounce. Did you see the sticky under basics which defines a bounce? Let me know if you need the link :)

It can be difficult to see a pattern when you have so much information from the libre. Also, the pattern can be a little different in a bounce clearing cycle.
Also keep in mind that every meter, including the libre, has a variance of 15-20% between its own readings. Think of it like a 300BG could be 255 or 345 accounting for meter variance.

I have read about bounces a lot, yes! It's just seemed like this has been the general look of the cycle anytime he wasn't stuck in higher numbers, so I thought it must not be that. I guess that must mean he's been perpetually bouncing this whole time? Is the current bounce he's just cleared because of the low after the 1.5u 2/1 PM and it just took this long to even out? And does that mean that now with a reduction to 1 tonight, he'll have another few days that look like this past few before bottoming out again?

Agree 100% with Elise here! He's not used to "normal" BGs, his body "thinks" that the higher numbers are normal. Once he spends more times in blues/greens, you will definitely see a difference in personality. My Cleo was in the 50s around a (delayed) shot time this morning and was running around the house playing her little tail off! When she was first diagnosed, a blue number would send her hiding under the bed or tucked away in a corner somewhere.

That's really good to hear, thank you! I've noticed him be more playful in the midranges (like 100-200) now but whenever he's in blue or green he seems miserable which of course makes me worry more that he's too low (even if not hypo, since ECID).

Let us know if you decide to switch dosing methods.

I guess I just want to get a general idea of if people more experienced than me think it would be a good choice for us.

Thank you so so much for the detailed response, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate it.
 
Last edited:
Ohhhhh ... I so hear you about researching and crying! I think we have all been there!!! :bighug:

I'm glad it's not just me, but man it sucks lol

What you are likely seeing, with all the ups and downs, is something called "panicky liver." Basically, when a cat is not used to hanging out in the lower BG numbers, their body interprets a low BG as a potential threat and overcompensates to bring the BG back up ... sometimes WAY up. The extreme high after the low is known as a "bounce," and it can take several cycles to clear. The reason for holding a dose for as long as we do is to allow the cat's body to adjust, clear a bounce if necessary, and take stock in the new dose instead of just freaking out. The ups and downs are frustrating, but that's why it's important to focus on the nadirs and try to ignore the rest. Take the reductions when he earns them, and know that being in a more comfortable range will help him adjust over time. :D:cat:


It seems like he must be bouncing constantly because I feel like that's what his typical cycle looks like if it isn't just high flat numbers. It really is hard to see a blue/green and then reduce and go into another 3 days of pink.
 
He's getting all wet, yes. I give him Fancy Feast Classic Pate, primarily the Chicken, Chopped Grill Feast, and Tender Beef & Chicken all of which are 3% carb according to the Lisa Pierson DVM list. I also give him the Shrimp & Salmon (1%) and Ocea n Whitefish & Tuna (0%), but only every 2-3 days since I was under the impression that too much of the fish ones may not be good for him.
That's all pretty much the same %. Can you maybe look for some in 5-8% range? Do you have some MC and HC options as well?
general look of the cycle anytime he wasn't stuck in higher numbers,
This is correct! He's stuck in high numbers. Then the depot fills up and kicks in and you have that cycle that has a bunch of downward momentum. He gives you a nice blue/green then skyrockets again to the pink-o-sphere and gets stuck there for another couple of cycles.
Is the current bounce he's just cleared because of the low after the 1.5u 2/1 PM and it just took this long to even out?
Bounces CAN take up to 6 cycles to clear.
And does that mean that now with a reduction to 1 tonight, he'll have another few days that look like this past few before bottoming out again?
Probably! But the good news is with time and patience those bounces won't be as high nor last as long.
I guess I just want to get a general idea of if people more experienced than me think it would be a good choice for us.
You're feeding all wet food and you're testing enough to follow TR. There are a lot of people around the board to help you navigate the switch in dosing methods. The question is can you get comfortable with green BGs and eventually shooting a PS that's 50+? No pressure, there are a lot of people around the message board here to help :bighug:
 
It seems like he must be bouncing constantly because I feel like that's what his typical cycle looks like if it isn't just high flat numbers. It really is hard to see a blue/green and then reduce and go into another 3 days of pink.
I was just about to post a reply that is exactly what Angela already said, but she saved me the trouble.;) She's been at this longer than I have, and Cleo herself is living proof that persistence pays off!
 
That's all pretty much the same %. Can you maybe look for some in 5-8% range? Do you have some MC and HC options as well?

I'll do that! It looks like some of the Roasted and Flaked varieties are about 5-6%, so I could pick up some of those. Are you thinking maybe he needs the 5-8% for his everyday food or as a supplement? I do have MC/HC on hand for emergencies: some Grilled in Gravy (my specific flavor isn't in the list but the others are 13-15% so I imagine it's similar) and Gravy Lovers (which apparently my flavor is only 15%, but I could get some that's around 20%.)

Probably! But the good news is with time and patience those bounces won't be as high nor last as long.

I'll have to just try to tell myself that I'm not doing a bad job/ignoring the bad numbers and letting him sit there in them. The past week I've felt like I'm just killing him by not helping and it's been really hard. Obviously he came out of this really low so if I'd given in and raised the dose it would've been bad, but I'm sure you know what I mean. Up until then it felt like I was just being neglectful to wait.

You're feeding all wet food and you're testing enough to follow TR. There are a lot of people around the board to help you navigate the switch in dosing methods. The question is can you get comfortable with green BGs and eventually shooting a PS that's 50+? No pressure, there are a lot of people around the message board here to help :bighug:

I would love to get comfortable with the greens and shooting low! As long as more experienced people (like you) didn't think it was a bad idea, I'd be interested in trying. I think the main thing I worry about is not having anyone available to help in time if needed. I'm essentially alone in this (my vet is one of those who doesn't like home testing, etc) and I'm terrified of being left in a bad situation without much guidance. At first she was really helpful and texted me back after hours, but most recently I emailed her about a low asking for dosing advice and that was almost 2 weeks ago with no response, so I've only had the forum. Feels like being left in the middle of the ocean alone because the boat left without me.
 
Hi! I don't have any advice except to say I feel the exact same way as you. Niko and I are only about 1 month into this journey but his numbers are endless bounces. We get a nice run then he skyrockets into the pinks for a cycle or two. It's frustrating, and I can tell he doesn't feel good (hungrier, pees more). I am also considering switching to TR for the same reasons, might just have a convo with my vet first about it. I wish you and Xander the best in achieving regulation:)
 
Hi! I don't have any advice except to say I feel the exact same way as you. Niko and I are only about 1 month into this journey but his numbers are endless bounces. We get a nice run then he skyrockets into the pinks for a cycle or two. It's frustrating, and I can tell he doesn't feel good (hungrier, pees more). I am also considering switching to TR for the same reasons, might just have a convo with my vet first about it. I wish you and Xander the best in achieving regulation:)

Hi! :) I'm so sorry that you can relate, but I'm glad it's not just me. I appreciate the commiseration!

It really is so frustrating, seeing the good numbers and then so many bad ones. Like, we were right there! It was good! Can we not go back now? :arghh:

Maybe if we both switch to TR we can watch each other's kitties and gain more insight/feel less alone. Sending you and Niko all the good surf days too! :bighug:
 
Hi! :) I'm so sorry that you can relate, but I'm glad it's not just me. I appreciate the commiseration!

It really is so frustrating, seeing the good numbers and then so many bad ones. Like, we were right there! It was good! Can we not go back now? :arghh:

Maybe if we both switch to TR we can watch each other's kitties and gain more insight/feel less alone. Sending you and Niko all the good surf days too! :bighug:

definitely not just you! people say that it's just the natural course of starting out insulin, but I truly think it's an ECID (every cat is different) thing -- I've seen some cats stop bouncing much quicker, but Niko just seems to have an overreactive liver, more so than some kitties I've seen (I've also done extensive research online, read all the medical papers, even ventured to the German forums via 'translate to English' option, and cried throughout it all lol).

Since my partner and I test him so frequently, we think TR might just be the better option here, just to force his liver to see more of the optimal range numbers and get used to it, and ideally.... he will stop bouncing so much. We also got him off of dry food which is great considering he was a crunch/kibble addict.

For sure, here to chat any time -- most likely will be starting TR soon, just as soon as I get his numbers today and tomorrow (we just increased to 1.50 yesterday!).
 
@Karen and Chispa (GA) is too kind to me :facepalm: and VERY knowledgeable herself ;).
Are you thinking maybe he needs the 5-8% for his everyday food or as a supplement?
Not sure yet. I think that you need to find out how carb sensitive Xander is. You've been feeding predominately 0-3% with barely a food bump at the +1s. Maybe try experimenting with a slighter higher % carb but still LC (under10%). Knowing how carb sensitive Xander is will go a long way at easing any anxiety in shooting lower preshots and also getting Xander to "surf" the greens.
I'll have to just try to tell myself that I'm not doing a bad job/ignoring the bad numbers and letting him sit there in them.
YES!!!!! Bounces are harder on the hoomans than the kitties. I still hate them! I get depressed when Cleo gives me a yellow. When I first started, Cleo's BG readings directly affected my mood for the cycle o_O. Have you read THIS or THIS link. It helps!
I'm terrified of being left in a bad situation without much guidance.
If you're alone for whatever reason and no one is responding to you, here are some options:
Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
definitely not just you! people say that it's just the natural course of starting out insulin, but I truly think it's an ECID (every cat is different) thing -- I've seen some cats stop bouncing much quicker, but Niko just seems to have an overreactive liver, more so than some kitties I've seen (I've also done extensive research online, read all the medical papers, even ventured to the German forums via 'translate to English' option, and cried throughout it all lol).

Since my partner and I test him so frequently, we think TR might just be the better option here, just to force his liver to see more of the optimal range numbers and get used to it, and ideally.... he will stop bouncing so much. We also got him off of dry food which is great considering he was a crunch/kibble addict.

For sure, here to chat any time -- most likely will be starting TR soon, just as soon as I get his numbers today and tomorrow (we just increased to 1.50 yesterday!).

I can definitely relate to the nonstop reading of anything I can find!

You and your partner's thoughts about TR are basically the same conclusion mine and I are coming to today too. I'm the caregiver, but when I feel frozen they help try to talk me through it lol

Good luck with the increase! I hope we both start having some better looking days soon.
 
Karen and Chispa (GA) is too kind to me :facepalm: and VERY knowledgeable herself ;).

You're both incredibly kind and I can't tell you how much I appreciate you both being here and trying to talk me through this! I've felt so lost and this is making a big difference. THANK YOU!

Not sure yet. I think that you need to find out how carb sensitive Xander is. You've been feeding predominately 0-3% with barely a food bump at the +1s. Maybe try experimenting with a slighter higher % carb but still LC (under10%). Knowing how carb sensitive Xander is will go a long way at easing any anxiety in shooting lower preshots and also getting Xander to "surf" the greens.

Okay, so I'm not crazy - he doesn't seem to get much of a food bump (if any!) I'll pick up something between my super low carb and 10% and see if that makes a difference. Unfortunately with FF it apparently goes from 6% to 11% with no in-between so maybe the higher LC will have to be a different brand. I really appreciate having a specific thing to try, thank you!

YES!!!!! Bounces are harder on the hoomans than the kitties. I still hate them! I get depressed when Cleo gives me a yellow. When I first started, Cleo's BG readings directly affected my mood for the cycle o_O. Have you read THIS or THIS link. It helps!

I did just read those and they do help, thank you! It definitely has become a "my mood directly correlates to the number on Xander's chart" situation lol

If you're alone for whatever reason and no one is responding to you, here are some options:
Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

I have these (and a few others) both as pinned tabs kept open on in my browser so I go back to them a lot! Maybe what has made it so much scarier is not understanding what was happening (like why he was dropping at the very end of the cycle and bleeding into the next one) and not knowing if the advice still applied if he was continuing to drop rather than just at a low PS number, if that makes sense.[/user]
 
You're both incredibly kind and I can't tell you how much I appreciate you both being here and trying to talk me through this! I've felt so lost and this is making a big difference. THANK YOU!



Okay, so I'm not crazy - he doesn't seem to get much of a food bump (if any!) I'll pick up something between my super low carb and 10% and see if that makes a difference. Unfortunately with FF it apparently goes from 6% to 11% with no in-between so maybe the higher LC will have to be a different brand. I really appreciate having a specific thing to try, thank you!

[/user]

Just wanted to quickly chime in here because we have been trying to transition Niko off of FF (phosphorous concerns) and into a mid-carb (under 10% still) pate, and Weruva has a few that are 7-9% (notably, the Lamb Burghini, Mideast Feast, Double Dip, Funk in the Trunk, Green Eggs and Chicken). Just something to consider :)
 
Just wanted to quickly chime in here because we have been trying to transition Niko off of FF (phosphorous concerns) and into a mid-carb (under 10% still) pate, and Weruva has a few that are 7-9% (notably, the Lamb Burghini, Mideast Feast, Double Dip, Funk in the Trunk, Green Eggs and Chicken). Just something to consider :)

That's great to know, thank you! I'll definitely keep it in mind if we decide/need to switch. :)
 
If you are interested in Weruva
low carb/ low phosphorus for diabetic cats
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

I've been keeping a list of the different foods I might use and all of their info in my own spreadsheet (to find more easily) and I'll definitely add this to the list for reference. Thank you!!
 
Just wondering I see Xander has
Some tooth resorption on one side, are you planning on getting this taken care of only asking because I know this can be very painful:cat:
@Brianna & Xander

Yes, definitely! When he was diagnosed the vet said that as it was it didn't need action immediately but that we should look into it in a few months. I think she was more concerned with getting his diabetes at least addressed first. I do plan to bring it up again soon and see if we can get that figured out.
 
Yes, definitely! When he was diagnosed the vet said that as it was it didn't need action immediately but that we should look into it in a few months. I think she was more concerned with getting his diabetes at least addressed first. I do plan to bring it up again soon and see if we can get that figured out.
I'm glad you're going to get it checked out, my sister's cat had it and had to have 3 teeth pulled

When I tap on your name and then tap on profile page it says this

Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB - Error
This member limits who may view their full profile.?

@Brianna & Xander
 
I'm glad you're going to get it checked out, my sister's cat had it and had to have 3 teeth pulled

When I tap on your name and then tap on profile page it says this

Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB - Error
This member limits who may view their full profile.?

I think I just fixed that. Does it work now?
 
Just wanted to quickly chime in here because we have been trying to transition Niko off of FF (phosphorous concerns) and into a mid-carb (under 10% still) pate, and Weruva has a few that are 7-9% (notably, the Lamb Burghini, Mideast Feast, Double Dip, Funk in the Trunk, Green Eggs and Chicken). Just something to consider :)
@Niko's Mom and @Brianna & Xander I too faced the challenge of finding a low-carb, low-phosphorous food, all the more complicated because Chispa was thought to be allergic to chicken -- and chicken is everywhere. In addition to Diane's excellent suggestion of Weruva, I also had good luck with Soulistic Turkey Dinner and Evanger's Rabbit and Quail. Just another couple of options for the list. :bookworm::cat:
 
@Niko's Mom and @Brianna & Xander I too faced the challenge of finding a low-carb, low-phosphorous food, all the more complicated because Chispa was thought to be allergic to chicken -- and chicken is everywhere. In addition to Diane's excellent suggestion of Weruva, I also had good luck with Soulistic Turkey Dinner and Evanger's Rabbit and Quail. Just another couple of options for the list. :bookworm::cat:

It's so frustrating that it's so difficult to find food that's actually good for our babies (even from the brands that are supposedly "healthy!") And wow, an allergy to chicken would absolutely make things difficult! Chicken is like a good 75% of the food that's available (and I imagine it's probably also in the ones that aren't actually labeled as chicken). Thank you so much for the suggestion, I'll definitely add them to my list! :D
 
Back
Top