2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 +12.75 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member
Hello Everyone,
Dillan is doing good this morning besides him being a little hungry. Last night he must of have a huge amount of energy because he was frisky for around an hour or so running all over the place. This mornings number is looking good and we're still headed in the right direction. I think its safe to give him his normal 0.5 of a dose, we're going to try and regain our hour slowly this morning we will be moving 15 minutes back towards the normal time. We should see some nice greens again today :mrgreen:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5397
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122

Thanks Ronnie and Kate, Yep I'll be doing my usual spot checks +2, +4 and +6 (+8 if necessary) It seems like his general trend might be a big drop at +2 followed by a smaller drop at +4 and then he usually surfs around then with +/- 10. But who knows this could go right out the window with the new dose.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

Dillan is acting normal right now, I'm giving him the rest of his food right now from his morning breakfast. His number dropped out a little more then I thought it would. I know I'm suppose to hold the dose but I think if we keep this dose he is destined to hit 40 tonight if not in the next couple of hours. What does everyone think of whats happening here? I know if the 3-5 days holds true then we are seeing the 1 unit dose right now and not the actual 0.5 dose.

Plus I need his numbers somewhat stabilized since there will not be many tests during the week.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

I"ll leave the dose Q for the more experienced to help with,,,but I was wondering, if Jodi - ur DGF (dear girlfriend) has been able to practice a bit more in the testing this weekend while you are there with Dillan.

I'm really concerned that whichever dose Dillan stays on - that there won't be a preshot number tomorrow morning before the shot.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

I've been doing the shot all weekend to make it easier on Dillan, especially due to the amount of times that we have had to do it. I can always stay the night here I guess in order to get that number but that won't help her get any spot checks. I wonder if we could just do a special feeding regiment in order to stabilize the numbers through the days
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

Dillan420 said:
Dillan is acting normal right now, I'm giving him the rest of his food right now from his morning breakfast. His number dropped out a little more then I thought it would. I know I'm suppose to hold the dose but I think if we keep this dose he is destined to hit 40 tonight if not in the next couple of hours. What does everyone think of whats happening here? I know if the 3-5 days holds true then we are seeing the 1 unit dose right now and not the actual 0.5 dose.

Plus I need his numbers somewhat stabilized since there will not be many tests during the week.

I think you're overthinking it. You gotta hold the dose, because you have no reason to drop it. Lantus likes stability, we don't know that he won't flatten out, we don't know that he won't climb and we don't know that he won't hit 40. At this point there's no controlling it, and to try to control it will likely backfire. Don't be afraid of 40, and if we soon have to reduce again, know that means he's is close to being diet controlled. You only have a short window of time for something like that to happen, and if you don't pounce on it, you could lose the opportunity entirely.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63 *DOSE Q*

Ok Carolyn, thanks for talking some sense into me ohmygod_smile I will hold the dose. I just don't know what I'm going to do tomorrow. I guess we will see how the rest of the day goes. I'm going to test again in 20 mins. Its possible I guess that we have some overlap since I was trying to correct the timing this morning
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

No problem at all, it's crazy stuff when the numbers drop. At this point we've made 3 rapid fire reductions far faster than Lantus would normally appreciate and we do not know that his optimum dose is not actually HIGHER than what you are shooting right now. It doesn't look likely, I will confess, but one never knows with Lantus' shed action.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63

We will see in the coming days, right now I'm looking for a surfboard :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63 +3.5 68

I don't know if the new test is a bit of a food spike, but he is surfing right now anyways. I will check in another hour and a half which will be +5.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63 +3.5 68 +5 79

Everything is still good Dillan is taking a green surf today :thumbup
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 +2.25 63 +3.5 68 +5 79

Yeah for sure it was a good call by you and Carolyn. I just have to stop being worried about hitting 40 and just face it if it comes. Thanks for the guidance and education Jill
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Should I shoot*

Hi everyone,
I know this PMPS number is really good and I'm pretty sure that I should still be shooting. But I just want to check.

I injected him already, but should I be giving him a little bit of HC just knowing that his number is going to dip into the 40's tonight?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99

It's a tad bit on the low side. Are you able to continue to get checks for at least +1 and +2? Do you have strips and HC food in the house?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99

I'll be up for sure I think the numbers are going to be low tonight but also I think after around +3 he surfs for the rest of his cycle. He seems to surf for alot of it. I should do a +1 then not a +2?

I have HC, actually picked up more of it today. Also I have around 50 or so more strips as well.

Should I feed HC just knowing that his numbers are going to be low?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99

U will need HC if u catch a test under 50


and u need to get a +1, I would grab a +2 and +3 as well
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

When I go below 50 I just give a tablespoon of HC? When I go below 60 do I give a tablespoon of LC covered in gravy (MC)?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

couple of teaspoons is good of HC

u can mix LC and MC yes, gravy is fine, not too much thou

under 50 - retest in 15 min
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

Dillan420 said:
When I go below 50 I just give a tablespoon of HC? When I go below 60 do I give a tablespoon of LC covered in gravy (MC)?

eesh. wish there was an easy answer to your question. it depends when the low numbers happen in the cycle. generally speaking, you want to hc numbers under 50. however, if dillan were to drop from a ps # of 99 to say 55 at +1... i'd go ahead and give him a little hc because that's a sizable drop at the very beginning of a cycle which will be lasting another 11 hours. kwim?

conversely, if he were to throw a 48 towards the end of the cycle... i'd probably try feeding a little lc to bring the numbers up (the effects of the insulin would be winding down at that point).

post if in any doubt...
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

I don't think Dillan's numbers will go especially low. I was asking as a precaution. Any time we shoot a lower number, it's important to know that you have everything you need. The last thing you want to have happen is to try to find a 24 hour pharmacy at 1:00 in the morning.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

ok sounds good, I'm hoping that his drop is like last nights was where it only dropped by a little bit each time, instead of like the mornings.

It has seemed like Dillan likes to surf after +3 instead of any real drops so I'm hoping for that too.

I guess I'm hoping for a whole lot. nailbite_smile

Also while I have everybody here what should I be doing in the morning since my GF won't be able to do the testing like we have been because she will be by herself? She might be able to get one or two and I'll be here for the morning AMPS.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

Dillan420 said:
Also while I have everybody here what should I be doing in the morning since my GF won't be able to do the testing like we have been because she will be by herself? She might be able to get one or two and I'll be here for the morning AMPS.
barring any drops below 50 tonight, i'd shoot the same dose tomorrow on any ps number over 100. GF could feed snacks intermittently throughout the day and try to get a test at +2 for sure.

if you're staying there tonight and can get a +10 or +11... you'll know if the amps number is a rising number. getting +10s or +11s gave me the BOS needed to shoot lower ps numbers. :-D
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

What type of snack would you suggest HC? Every 2 hours a teaspoon?

I just wonder because she could end up getting none and I don't want Dillan to drop to numbers he shouldn't be at and we don't know if he shows hypoglycemic signs
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

Dillan420 said:
What type of snack would you suggest HC? Every 2 hours a teaspoon?
she could feed a little bit of lc every couple of hours UNLESS there's a significant drop at +2 which would require hc. does she know how to post here if she has any questions?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

Yeah she has seen me communicate through here all the time but she isn't up on all of knowledge for treating Dillan with his Diabetes I've been kind of heading the charge on that. The earliest that I will be here is probably the +8 test
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 *Advice Please*

tell DGF we don't bite. :mrgreen:
someone is always here to help if she needs it...
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 *Advice Please*

What should I be feeding right now? It dropped pretty quick.

I just fed 1 teaspoon of HC with gravy.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 *Advice Please*

He ate it up, I'm just waiting for some time to pass now
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 *Advice Please*

good. :smile:
i'd get another test in 30 minutes to make sure you've slowed the drop down.

oh, and mike... i'd drop the dose to 0.25u tomorrow. if you didn't intervene tonight, there's no doubt in my mind dillan would have earned a dose reduction.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 *Advice Please*

Sounds good to me, I'll let Dillan know while he is smacking his lips together after that delicious gravy :)
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 *Advice Please*

Jill & Alex said:
good. :smile:
i'd get another test in 30 minutes to make sure you've slowed the drop down.

oh, and mike... i'd drop the dose to 0.25u tomorrow. if you didn't intervene tonight, there's no doubt in my mind dillan would have earned a dose reduction.

Mine either. I'd like to send this data to a few pet food morons.

Nice dose redux Mike, and good job catching all this data this weekend!
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40

Hi guys just hit 40, fed a different type of HC gravy food two teaspoons. Should I be giving any honey?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40

dillan dillan dillan.. sigh.. no honey yet. hopefully you can control this fairly easily with food.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40

Just for I know if I ever run into this again at what numbers do you give honey?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan AMPS 122 PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 1.6 40

yes, go ahead and feed some hc. we want to stop the drop. dillan's has earned his reduction. he has nothing more to prove tonight.
retest in another 15 minutes, please...
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

Pheww he's finally coming back up, I imagine after all of that HC though that he should be a blue number in the morning. How much should I test now? +3?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

i'd go ahead and feed him more hc if he'll eat it and retest in about 45 minutes to make sure he's going up. can you stay awake that long? i'd like to see more of a rise before calling it a night. when you do go to bed... be sure to leave food out for him to nibble on.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

How much more should I give him? I'll leave his LC food out tonight when I go to bed. Its only 11:30 here so I should be able to stay up for another 2 hours to make sure he is good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top