2/7 Tess PMPS 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Very Active Member
yesterday's condo

Tess continued to drop for an hour and a half after shot time last night, so now the PM shot actually took place in the AM on 2/7, so I am going to call it the AMPS and shot. If that makes sense, it's pretty late.

Tess ate an ounce and a half when we shot, she was hungry an hour before the due time for the shot and wasn't really happy about waiting. She's grooming now and it's almost time for the +1 test. I think she wants me to leave her alone and go to bed.
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

+1 was 93 and Tess is having the rest of her breakfast. so I am going to bed for a couple of hours.
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

Ann,
your ss does't make sense in one way. To me it looks as if you have missed a shot?

If your last shot, although after 12am, but still that kind of time, then you would have put your numbers in after pmps, at whatever time you got them +12,+13-then explain at the side that you didn't shoot till +13.30.

Only other thing I guess, is to state clearly you didn't miss the shot.


Hope Tess has a nice surf :-D
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

Nice AMPS Tess!

Hopefully just a little detour to blue and she will make her way back.

Have a good day Ann!
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

her shed emptied from the late shot, that's all. no biggie. probably needed to empty out a bit anyway. :)
she'll come back down.
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

To my eyes, Kate's right -- it looks like you skipped a shot. If I understand, you were shooting at around 10:30 (real time)? Your PM shot was late, making it after midnight. It would still be your PM shot since it was 12+ hours after your AM shot. It might help if you think in terms of the + times vs. the actual, on the clock time. (It gets confusing!!!)

I'm also curious why you delayed the PM shot. I may have misread something on your SS but it looked like from the comments, that immediately before your regularly scheduled shot time, Tess' BG was 87. You shot a higher dose with a 90 on 2/4 and the newly reduced dose yesterday morning on a 68. I think you could have shot the 87 without stalling and been fine. Either way, Tess is having a great cycle.
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75 ....... +8~128

Sorry about the confusion, but it just seemed more logical to me to be reporting on things that happened in the morning in the morning, not in the evening. We did not skip the shot, just reported on it in the AM. It's done, sorry if it bothered you, but it makes things clearer for me to think about AM+4 in the morning not 4:30 in the afternoon, especially when it gets really late I'llbe less likely to make mistakes. I've ammendednthe note to hopefully make what I did clearer.

I know that I have shot lower,but that was on a rise or a clear surf. Tess was going down consistently until I shot at 75.
Recap:
  • AM +9 103
    +11:40 98
    +11:55 87
    +12:10 82
    +12:30 79
    +12:45 77
    +13 72
    +13:15 71
    +13:30 75 this is where I shot and it became my AMPS since it was in the morning on the 7th, not in the evening on the 6th

I know the shed has been depleted and I probably should have kept the shot at the fat.5 but I was still nervous about the dropping numbers. Tess also had a good appetite for a change and ate more than she has been. She also may have eaten shortly before John got up to do the +6. I just did the +8 and it was 128. Tess's numbers may stay in the blues this morning, but I hope we'll have greens this evening.
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

Wow...Tess sure does like to keep you on your toes. Don't know how you keep it all straight, Ann!

Good to see her numbers coming back down...you're doing great!!!
 
Re: 2/7 Tess AMPS 75

Oh, boy! At +11 Tess is down to 61. What do you suggest if she hasn't stopped dropping at PMPS? Hold again? Or if I shoot, do the .5u or go back to the fat.5u? Tess is definitely ready to eat again. She hasn't had much to eat since +6, some plain chicken and a little plain Greek yogurt. So there won't be a problem feeding w/ the shot.
 
Tess came back up to 69 for the PMPS and is happy to be given food so we will shoot on time. Stay w/ the straight.5u of go back to the fat .5u? If I don't hear back I'll go w/ straight .5u.
 
We shot .5u on time and Tess cleaned up her lunch like a pro. We'll give a couple more feeding with the next tests.

This is one of the first times she is readily eating as much as I think she should have. We are trying to get her to eat at least one 5.5oz. can a day, i.e. 2 3/4 oz am and pm in 3 or 4 feedings after tests. She will only occasionally free feed the wet food, usually at night or before she wakes us up.

Last weigh in at the vet she was 9.5 lb and I think her ideal weight should be about 10 or a little less. How do you determine the ideal weight for cats?

Thanks for all the encouragement, even when I'm not totally coherent in the middle of the night.
 
Great job Ann and Tess!
I thing a straight 0.5 was a good idea. If she doesn't go below 0.5 I would hold that straight one.
Seems very good! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Paula and Ella, always good to hear from you. I think I'll do a +1 since this is about the lowest that I've ever shot.
 
At +1 Tess came up to 116, probably a result of the food and the shot not kicking in yet. Giving her another .5 oz. of food.
 
Thanks Kate, Tess of course is not standing still for the comparison. If anything she may be a bit heavy. She does have a bit of a "jungle pouch" but it is not solid, just kind of loose skin. So I don't know what that means. She also has very short legs, so not a typical silhouette. I call her my Corgie Kitty :lol:

So, maybe we don't need to worry about the food so much. 4 to 4.5 oz. may be just fine. That would still be over the minimum calories that Dr. Lisa recommends for a 10 lb cat. Maybe Tess should be an 8 to 9 lb petite miss.
 
At +6 Tess has a nice green 68. Wasn't all that hungry, but it's available if she wants it. Looks like some nice even numbers tonight. :mrgreen:
 
Take a look at Dr. Lisa's site, as well. She mentions the "pouch" as not being an issue regarding weight. The info is in the section on feline obesity. She discussed calorie counts and other info. If you're needing to feed Tess in order to gain weight, you'll also need to know the calorie info.
 
Thanks Sienne, I haven't read the obesity article yet as she really isn't over weight. In the nutrition article she mentions minimum calories per pound and weight reduction , but not on maintenance. I'll read the other article too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top