2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5547

WCR: Buzz has been super-snuggly today, wanting to constantly be on my lap or somehow touching me. It's very sweet. I think perhaps she missed me this weekend. She is eating well and her coat is lovely, soft and shiny. Her ears seem to be healing up as well.

Buzz is on her first cycle of the dose reduction (from 1.5 to 1.25) and it is apparently working pretty well! I know there can be some NDW so I am trying not to get too excited. I have been testing her every hour because of that drop at +1 and we have given her a little bit of HC food a few times. Here are the #s:

AMPS: 72
+1: 63 (about 1 tsp of HC food w/gravy)
+2: 56 (about 1 tsp of HC food w/gravy)
+3: 63
+4: 67
+5: 56 (about 1 tsp of HC food w/gravy)

Do we wait and see how the rest of the cycle plays out/if there is a trip to RBC tonight before making a decision on the dose? Is it even possible to need a reduction the same day that you already did one? Since she never (yet) got technically below 50 (although we fed HC to counteract just such an event), does that play into any reduction decision?

I know I ask lots of questions, but I want to know the thought process behind all this stuff so I can be better informed to one day make decisions for myself. I don't mean to be a pain. :) :)
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

I am not sure about the dosing, but I don't think the NDW comes into play when you are decreasing. I could be totally wrong, but I don't think so.
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

Tina & Sami said:
I am not sure about the dosing, but I don't think the NDW comes into play when you are decreasing. I could be totally wrong, but I don't think so.

Ahhh okay! Interesting to know. :)
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

Buzz,
What nice numbers you have there; keep up the good work.

Sarah,
I cannot comment on dosing, so I am sure someone who actually knows about dosing will be along to comment for you.

I hope Buzz continues with these nice numbers.
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

+6: 64 (fed a smaller version of the normal LC meal)
+8: 69

I am SO pleased with these numbers! :) I know that she might go high again while her shed is getting used to the new dose, so I am prepared for that just in case. Of course I'm hoping it doesn't happen, but realism sometimes trumps optimism. ;)
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

would you LOOK at these gorgeous numbers? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I would hold onto this dose for as long as you can because Mr. P is doing some healing! Next time you get 50's, you can try feeding LC first to see if that holds her, instead of going straight for the HC. You always have the HC as a backup plan.

And no, there is no NDW on decreases. Sometimes it looks like there is, because the first cycle of two of a reduced dose includes some shed action from the previous higher dose, and when that runs out the numbers might get a little bit higher. However, I think Buzz looks GREAT on this dose so far.
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

Yep, Libby, as I've been thinking on it, I thought maybe I should have done LC rather than HC. I think at +1 I was so surprised that it went DOWN that I got a little worried and went straight to HC.

I'm watching the snow and petting my wonderful kitty. I can't ask for much more in life, really. :) I think she looks great on this dose, too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

Sarah and Buzz said:
Yep, Libby, as I've been thinking on it, I thought maybe I should have done LC rather than HC. I think at +1 I was so surprised that it went DOWN that I got a little worried and went straight to HC.

I totally know what you mean. The first few times Sami when low it really freaked me out, but you will get a feel for it and eventually you won't be so worried.
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

What a nice day for Buzz!

Green numbers are your friend! If you put your ear to Buzz's body you can almost hear the sound of a pancreas healing... ok... maybe not... but that's just because of the purr! :lol:

IMO, keep the HC (big gun) in your back pocket for when you really need it. Have a look at .... let me think.... Kathy/Kitty's SS... you'll see what a cat can safely surf the greens.

You and Buzz are doing very well! Keep it GREEN!

ps. if your dose question has been answered, pls update your subject line. Thanks
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72, +1: 63/Dose okay?

Sarah! lol

if ur Q has been answered please clear ur subject line,,,we're trying to spot the unanswered Q's , there's quite a few and clearing your subject helps if ur good to go! thank u! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47/Plz advise

PMPS: 47

Obviously I have not shot or fed and I will retest in 15 minutes. My main question is does this affect the earlier advice to not lower the dose?
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47/Plz advise

20 minutes after the last test: 54

It took me a long time to get her ear to stop bleeding. I am worried about all the testing today and how much more I will still have to do tonight.
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47/Plz advise

You'll pull through it Sarah, we are all here to help you and Buzz out. Sometimes Dillan's ears bleed alot more then other times but he doesn't seem to mind.

Last night was our first time through it and I know how you feel but I feel its worth all the trouble in order surf the green wave
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47/Plz advise

i assume you're applying pressure after poking?
he's holding steady. libby and i were studying his ss. we don't normally recommend reductions so close together, but something seems to be changing with buzz. we think you could drop the dose to 1u bid and shoot now. sound good?
 
Re: 2/8 Buzz AMPS: 72 /PMPS: 47/Plz advise

Yes, I can do that. :)

I will check again in an hour and post that #. Thanks for the help and encouragement, as always.
 
Thank you

I just wanted to take a minute to thank everyone on this board for all their help, encouragement, and support. Between Buzz's rough start on Lantus to the low lows of the past few days, I have had lots of questions. They have never gone unanswered, and I have never felt judged or made to feel dumb for not understanding things. Your kind words and generous hearts have made all the difference for me during the transition from PZI. LL is a microcosm of the FDMB in its nurturing and paying it forward.

Both Buzz and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts. When I see familiar names in response to my questioning/nervous threads, I literally breathe a sigh of relief. I trust you with Buzz's life, no matter if there's a term for it or not.

Whether it's dosing advice or cheerleading, both are infinitely valuable to me. Thank you to ALL who support me and everyone on both LL and FDMB. You guys are wonderful.
 
+3: 144

If she is high in the morning, will that affect her dose? Would it mean that she's high from all her low #s today and we shoot through the panicky liver at 1.0u, or does it mean that 1.0 isn't enough and we should go back to 1.25?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top