2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, PMPS=197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=424
+8=433
AMPS=410 ~ 1.25u Lev (1st cycle)

Yesterday's Condo

Shadow has been eating nicely as usual...all snacks and meals are totally finished and bowls cleaned. I had tried using Wellness exclusively for a few days but didn't notice any change in any numbers. I ran out of those so I am back to the FF turkey & giblets and also the mixed grill feast that they both seem to like. No poops yet, but he is purring and the two of them have been playing and running around after each other so that is fun to see.

After the +8 test and snack, I opened my blinds and turned on the tv....they launched Endeavor at about 4:10am and it was a beautiful sight in the night sky! I was glad that I got to see it, thanks to Shadow and his ear prick schedule.

He has been my rocket man with his numbers. I increased his dose this morning.. My experiment of trying to feed him to stay blue instead of going very low to <50 didn't even get off the ground really. :lol: I thought that he could use a little more insulin and I didn't want him to earn a dosecrease too soon. Well, guess he read that and figured he would only go down to 52. He earned no dosecrease for that and then he headed for pinks and the high reds. ohmygod_smile There hasn't been any opportunity for me to interfere with his numbers by feeding him to keep him from going low green.

Monique & Spooky said:
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
...Any suggestions? Did not expect this...should I go to 1.25u in the morning? Anybody have a thought about that?..

Do it Pat! I've had about enough, it's time to get tough. We're gonna go at this German style. I want him to see so much green his head spins. Keeping him in the blue to avoid bounce hasn't worked, it's time to desensitize him by him letting him go there and bounce till the air is all out of him.

Hear that Shadow!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I am going to call the vet office to see if I can bring him in for a blood test. I want to see if there is any infection going on although he seems better than ever with no symptoms of feeling poorly at all. I was going to wait until 2/17 so I could get their shots...they have 3 year rabies so that is not due, but now I am thinking that I might not get them vaccinated for anything else. They are indoor all the time with no contact with other cats. I know many of you don't get the other shots as well. Thoughts?

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday... :-D
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I am going to call the vet office to see if I can bring him in for a blood test. I want to see if there is any infection going on although he seems better than ever with no symptoms of feeling poorly at all.

That exact thought seems to be going around in quite a few condos!
Here is what I think...I think we are going to set up an INTERVENTION room at Latte's party on Wed. We are going to have Monique there, whippin' them all into shape (if she would be so kind too!). :twisted: Get your tough skin on now!!!! Dont worry there will be lots of :YMHUG: and cat_pet_icon , too!

Latte is an indoor cat, and only had her initial shots as a kitten. She of course cannot have them now w/ all she has going on. So, I have not paid a lot of attention to the issue. I just figured if she was not exposed to other animals, what was the use?

Thats really kewl that you got to see the launch! You ever think about video taping it? I wonder if shadow would like to watch it over and over on tv.... :lol:

I hope you have a great day over there Pat! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Shadow will probably read Monique's threat about getting tough on him and give you some good numbers quick. :lol:

It's so cool that you could open your blinds and watch the shuttle launch. It really must be an awesome sight to see.

As for shots, I keep my cats up to date on all shots because even though the four that are upstairs with me are strictly indoor cats, Willow, the one that is downstairs is an indoor/outdoor cat. She comes up every now and then to hiss and spit at everyone and then goes back downstairs or out the front door. She's a weird cat - she seems to hate the other cats that live in the house but she won't hesitate to bring a friend from outside home with her. One night the dogs woke my daughter up with their barking and when she turned on the light, she saw a strange cat up on top of the refrigerator. Apparently Willow had allowed the cat to follow her home and through the doggie door. :smile:
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Other than their initial shots when young, neither Booboo nor Shadoe have had any others. We are in an apt and no animals have come to visit them, so I did not see the need.
Neither is tall enough to unlock the door, pull down on the handle, go out the door, and push the elevator buttons. Even if they made it out into the hall, nobody would let them into an elevator or push the buttons for them haha_smiley

Hope the day remains good for Shadow and Raja, and let the frolicking continue.
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Same with my 2, they had the "usual" round of immunizations when they were kittens, since then nothing else. I thought being indoor cats and not traveling anywhere or being boarded they had little risk of diseases. I also thought worming was not nessasary but I have since found out otherwise. Indoor cats can get worms apparently we track the eggs from outside in the soil into the house on our shoes etc. Cats spending most of thier time lying,eating, and walking barefoot on floors and rugs and then cleaning themselves with thier tounge swallow the eggs and the cycle begins. My vet recommemded every 3 months for outdoor cats and 2x per year (spring and fall) for indoor cats. In addition to microscopically examining a stool sample (which might go unnoticed) most parastic infections also show an increased eosinophil count in the CBC.

Spooky had a very high count and recieved an injection, I brought a tablet home for Socks, 2 days later the result was clearly visable in the toilet :razz: And Spooky's stinky gas passing problem also subsided.
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Good morning Pat.
Well nice to have seen the launch ths morning. Maybe Shadow knew it was going to happen
and decided to "launch" his own numbers.
Good luck with the increase.
Definiately read Monique's comments over and over to him and maybe, just maybe
he will submit to her, lol.
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

:lol: That is why those doggie doors might be a bit of a problem sometimes. (I think I saw a funny video once of a raccoon that used to come in and eat the cat's dry food in the kitchen) Well, my two do not get visitors here...especially like that :lol: and they have always gotten all their shots every year but that is when they had access to outside when we lived on the Cape. Now, it is different...(a little like Rapunzel in the tower for my two...) and they are indoor only....

And yes...the night launches are great to see in the sky....it was so beautiful! Things are so eerie quiet too and the large fireball is visible for a long time up there. Amazing.!! We can usually see the white exhaust plume or whatever that's called during a daytime launch...but sometimes the clouds cover it so we see nothing.. I think it is visible from quite a distance though....if you happen to be looking up at 4:10am :lol: I thought it was going at 4:30 or so and was surprised to see it so early.....my kitties were not impressed at all. But I certainly was.... what a show right here in my living room! :-D
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

Totally understandable their not being impressed.

If you can't eat it or play with it, what good is it??
 
Re: 2/8 Shadpw AMPS=410

I agree with everyone else about the shots. Magnolia had her kitten shots, and then others when I had to take her on a plane (she was 2 years old) but she hasn't had any since then. She stays indoors and doesn't have many visitors.

I'm so glad you posted about the shuttle, and that you were able to see it. My dad flew to FL to see it, I read online this morning that it was scrubbed again. I guess I read the wrong article.
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +3=425

It certainly does not take the headlines anymore. It took off at 4:14 am. Glad I didn't miss it. It's never that exciting other mornings when it's just me Shadow, and my meter...oh and Raja shows up for free food too. :lol: I must say that while I find it exciting, part of me is terrified and I can't get past that feeling. I get a funny feeling in the pit of my stomach and it feels like fear. Relief when it is out of sight. But I just read they are to be gone 13 days...that's THIRTEEN...I was surprised that they couldn't make it 14 just for the heck of it...
Yesterday it was due to leave at 4:30 but there were fast moving clouds or something so they postponed it. I guess there were many cars in the are yesterday...at that ungodly hour...and they were disappointed it was delayed. Wonder if they all went back this morning.

Oh...I wanted to update on Shadow:
+3=425
:?
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Woah, looks like Shadow isn't affected by the potential tough love around the corner. Not yet, that is :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Just wanted to say hi and that it's so neat you got to see the shuttle! :) If I were Shadow, I would be terrified of the "going at it German-style" threat and I'd be dropping fast too. ;) Not that Monique is scary; it just has an ominous ring to it. ;)
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Alright Shadow, what ARE you doing in here??
You get down from there right this minute!

That's just NOT your color; you look ever so much better in something more sunny or crystal clear, so let's just stroll through some yellow and head on into the blues, OK?

Oh what's that? Do you hear that, Shadow? I think I hear your bean digging up some treats in prep for those lower numbers, so you come on down now OK? ;-)
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Interesting condo as always! A few years ago, I had five unvaccinated indoor cats. One day I was getting ready for work and I heard some banging and crashing downstairs. My (now GA) Grace was leaping 6 feet in the air and chasing a bat around the house. The next day, five cats were at the vet's getting rabies shots. A few years, and 7 indoor bats later, the Rabies vaccines have lapsed again. When I was actively fostering kittens and volunteering at my Humane Society, I kept my cats' upper respiratory vaccines current, but I had to give up my volunteer work out of fear for exposing Bear and Teddy to illness. Last vaccine story: Pinkerton, my aggressive kitty got vaccinated against Rabies this past summer after inflicting a serious bite wound on a human (me). The hospital turned him in to the Health Department, who made a few inquiries, and it was deemed to be in everyone's best interest to get him vaccinated. So, I am not a proponent of vaccines, but I have had circumstances occasionally change my mind on the issue over the years. Just today, Bear was asking me if he could get vaccinated so that he could cross the border to go to Latte's party.
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Liinda....Bear Man is sooo cute...but you tell him that Carolyn and I know some border guys and Teddy and he can
cross over with no vaccinations needed....
ALL kitties can take moonbeams here and they don't need any paperwork... :RAHCAT
After all, a PARTY is a PARTY and we don't let little things stand in our way...no sireeeeee!!!
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

But I just read they are to be gone 13 days...that's THIRTEEN...I was surprised that they couldn't make it 14 just for the heck of it...








......................................................................interesting foreshadowing...........get it? :mrgreen: but interesting that u would say this....just sayin'
 
Re: 2/8 Shadow AMPS=410, +6=369

Oh boy, Pat....I haven't checked in here in awhile and I see Shadow is still up to his tricks! Hope you get some action from the dosecrease.

I also don't vaccinate anymore...Morris had a bad reaction one time and I decided to stop it. Each time I change vets they disagree but I stand firm. The only problem is boarding...one of the reasons I have to board in a hospital setting both because they fear he could be carrying something but also one of the other animals could pass something to him. They usually keep him in a room by himself, at least in the last place I used they did, and the new vet said they will keep him separated as well. Pretty boring for him but at least he gets some rest.

Good idea about the blood test...you never know when something could be brewing and they look perfectly OK...and I speak from experience here!
 
+6=369
+8=298
PMPS=197 ~ 1.25u Lev (start 2nd cycle)

We will see what Shadow Boy is going to do now. I am getting numb. Anyway, so happy to hear about Logan and his surgery. I am breathing a sigh of relief for now...hoping he has a good night tonight.
And sending my thanks to you all for sharing about the shots. I enjoyed reading your posts...many thanks!
 
Whoooooo HOOOOOOOOOOO That's showing us all Shadow!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I knew you could do it!
Pat how wonderful to see the launch! I'd have loved to see it!
See..Just what I always say this sugar dance is UNpredictable!!!!!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
Moonie went down a bit tonite too!!-I fell & had to go to hospital today-got 3 staples in head--What was I thinking??
OMG hope I get home to give Moonie her shot!!
See where our minds go....So so so glad Shadow came down!!--Now Shadow, show Moonie how!! :mrgreen:
HUGS~! BTW My kitties havent had vaccination since they got spayed & neuter..Indoor kids :razz:
 
Last minute pj party tonight?? :shock:

(((Pat))) Shadow sure doesn't make life easy for you does he!
Hope he settles into a nice surf & brings some pretty numbers tomorrow! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top