3/11 Tux AMPS 482, +6 181, PMPS 177

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jenny&Tux, Mar 11, 2023.

  1. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
    Post from yesterday

    So Tux’s AMPS was high, not surprisingly since I didn’t dose him last night.

    His PMPS just now was 177…

    Maybe 1/2 dose tonight? So .5 units?
     
  2. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
    Update

    I fed as usual and gave him 1/2 of his dose, so .5 units

    I will test in an hour
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'm wondering if you should try going back to 0.75 units as his normal dose. With time and experience, he's giving you very shootable numbers, but maybe not just yet. It's always easier to start a little lower, gather some data, then increase. It's also better to start with a dose that you can shoot twice a day.

    I'd still get a test in a couple hours, as he looks like he might be trending down as he clears a bounce.
     
    Jenny&Tux likes this.
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry no one responded earlier. That's a great recovery after a skipped shot. It's good you gave half a dose instead of skipping. Can you get a test at +2?
     
    Jenny&Tux likes this.
  5. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
    I can try giving .75 dose - I just get nervous when his PMPS is so much lower than what I’m used to seeing - even though he hasn’t even been on insulin a week. Especially overnight when I can’t keep an eye on him.
    Thanks for the reply!
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'm hoping that by giving 0.75 units starting tomorrow morning, you won't be faced with as low a PMPS.
     
  7. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
    That’s ok :) I didn’t leave much time for responses before I decided on a course of action. I just sort of don’t know what I’m doing :nailbiting:
    His +1 was 261 and I gave him 1/2 dose (.5 units) at dinner time
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It was fine to do the 0.5 dose tonight. With that higher +2, it looks like it'll be a quiet cycle tonight.
     
    Jenny&Tux likes this.
  10. Jenny&Tux

    Jenny&Tux Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2023
    I just tested him again at +4 and he’s 324

    Does that make sense to anyone? Is this a bounce?

    Should I still dose at .75 if his AMPS is high like it was this morning?
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, he's bouncing from the lower numbers he saw earlier. Looks like he might be a cat who nadirs at the end of the cycle and then heads from there. Too early to say but that's what he did today.

    You could try 0.75u tomorrow and see what that does for him.
     
    Jenny&Tux likes this.

Share This Page