3/12, Falafel, PMPS 254 +5 156

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-10-falafel-pmps-268-2-275.287564/

Hi everyone. I thought Falafel would be over her bounce today. Could she still be bouncing because of the changing shot times? We should be steady with the timing from now on at 6:15.

A couple other things. I don't think she likes her automatic feeder too much. I had to put FortiFlora in it today and she did eat once that was in, so I'm thinking maybe I can bribe her with that until it starts to feel normal for her. I am trying to keep her on this routine for when I go back to work next week.

She also did something weird today - ran into the bathroom after I flushed (ok TMI lol) and tried to climb into the toilet?? I have NEVER seen her do this before. She actually got up and looked like she was looking into the toilet bowl, and then when I pulled her off she sat on her hind legs for a moment before sitting down like normal. She's hanging out in the bathroom right now (this part is normal, she loves that place).

To be fair, she could do this when I'm not around, but this is the first time I've seen her do this. She seems normal otherwise (eyes, fur, etc.) and just ran downstairs and drank some water out of her bowl. We have a vet follow up tomorrow but has anyone else ever experienced this? I wonder if it's a symptom of her energy levels returning (she has started running a little bit in the house again and is using her scratch mat a bit which she ignored while she was really sick around her DX).

She also hasn't pooped since Saturday.

Hoping she gets over the bounce this PM and that we're okay until I can get her back into the vet. She's driving me up the wall!
 
I don’t think she’s still bouncing. I think she might need an increase but with SLGS you need to wait 7 days.

How often does she normally poop? Constipation could be a contributing factor. Will she eat a teaspoon of 100% pumpkin added to her food? Do you add a little water to her food? I’d add as much as you can where she still will eat.
 
I don’t think she’s still bouncing. I think she might need an increase but with SLGS you need to wait 7 days.

How often does she normally poop? Constipation could be a contributing factor. Will she eat a teaspoon of 100% pumpkin added to her food? Do you add a little water to her food? I’d add as much as you can where she still will eat.
Before she got sick I would say she pooped every day (but she also wasn’t on a LC diet, she was eating a mix of HC wet and HC dry). I will try the pumpkin but in the past she has hated when I mixed it into her food. The vet said tomorrow she would feel her colon and maybe give her a mild laxative if she doesn’t poop today.

She is due for SubQ fluids today and tomorrow I will discuss with the vet about increasing her dose (we are currently at 25 mL every other day bc she has heart issues). I do think the persistent dehydration could be causing a lot of this, her skin tent only looks good the day I give her the SubQ. One day after and she’s already dehydrated.

Q about dosing - if I have to increase back up to 0.5U, does that mean she didn’t earn that dose decrease from when she dropped on Friday? I am a bit confused by that!
 
Adding a little water to her food would be easier in her than more fluids but the same dose every day might be good.

With SLGS she definitely earned the reduction. It’s quite common to need to go back and forth on doses
 
Cats don't bounce from changing shot times. They bounce from fast drops or going lower than used to. Neither of which seems to have happened the last couple days. I suspect the bounce from the previous greens is gone, and it could be she just needs more insulin. We'll know for certain when the week is up. The other possibility is constipation can make them higher. Have you tried baby food squash instead of pumpkin. Some pumpkin hating cats are good with squash. Or you could do psyllium husk fiber.
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

I’ll pick up both the pumpkin and squash later today and add it to her nighttime meal (almost time for PMPS now). I have psyllium husk at home but I can’t be sure that it doesn’t have any additives so won’t use that. Re: her food, I add water and bone broth to all her meals (a decent amount, it’s pretty soupy and she likes it like that).

I guess this is probably not that serious compared to others but I’m nervous since she seemed to be doing so good for a couple days. :(
 
Good luck, I hope she eats one of the additional things to give her more moisture. I also add water to Ivy’s food. It’s kind of soupy, but she’s used to it and likes it. :bighug:
 
Psyllium husk powder is good. Squash dies nit have as much fiber as pumpkin but if she doesn’t like it try squash.

Correction. . Squash has more fiber.
 
OMG I got her to eat the pumpkin! I mixed it with her favorite stinky fish flavor of FF pate and added the FortiFlora so she would be enticed.

She’s eating rn!!! I hope she poops tonight.

I couldn’t find any butternut squash at the store but tomorrow I’ll try a different place and see if I can get it.

Thanks everyone!
 
Guys her +5 is at 156! Does this mean we broke the bounce and this is an active cycle?

I’m so happy to see the blue!!!

@Jason - Kona's Dad I’ll try the Weruva once we get through the baby food I got today. Thanks :)
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't call it a very active cycle, but rather a normal (non bounce) cycle. Which is good. Typically the +2 quite a bit lower than preshot is a hint of a more active cycle. About the same is a normal Lantus cycle.
 
Back
Top