3/13, Pookey, AMPS 93, +4 84, PMPS 91, +4 79

Tim & Pookey

Member Since 2024
Administrator
Good morning,

Yesterday’s post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-3-82-5-83-pmps-90-4-93.299068/#post-3253098

Had a little trouble with the drop dose this morning…

I thought you push the plunger all the way in and then release to take up a drop, but nothing came out when I tested it in the sink. It seemed like the plunger didn’t bounce back enough.

Maybe I’ll just eyeball something less than 0.1 we had been giving and call that a drop.

Have a great day! - Tim
 
Good meowning Tim and Pookey!

I was just looking at his SS and you guys did so well in such a short amount of time.
Dosing the drop dose is tricky but you've got this. Just a little push and you're almost at the finish line.
Come on Pokey let's get those numbers in and start the trial. One more week!
upload_2025-3-13_11-15-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-13_11-15-16.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-13_11-15-16.jpeg
    28.4 KB · Views: 148
WOW, this is AWESOME, Tim and Pookey!!! LOVE this post!!
Maybe ask a question in your title and see what advice you get, he seems to be DONE with insulin!!
YAY YAY YAY :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Aww thanks Staci! If nobody comes by maybe I’ll ask it later, it’s low priority compared to other cats’ needs. Exciting times :bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Tim and Pookey!

I was just looking at his SS and you guys did so well in such a short amount of time.
Dosing the drop dose is tricky but you've got this. Just a little push and you're almost at the finish line.
Come on Pokey let's get those numbers in and start the trial. One more week!
View attachment 73087
Thank you Karolina! I’ve been doing some reflecting on our journey, I still can’t believe how things have turned out so far :bighug:
 
Thanks Mary, I hope so!

Part of me is like to heck with the drop and save him from the pokes. But we’ve followed TR so closely to this point I don’t think I can go rogue.
Like they say, you want to hold those numbers low for a while to ensure a strong remission. Hang in there with the protocol. He's going to be OTJ soon enough.
 
This is amazing, Tim and Pookey! I am so happy for you.
I was thinking about Pookey's allergies, and cannot remember, but did you try giving him Zyrtec? I gave Bella 1/2 tablet once a day and it really helped with her overgrooming and itching.
 
This is amazing, Tim and Pookey! I am so happy for you.
I was thinking about Pookey's allergies, and cannot remember, but did you try giving him Zyrtec? I gave Bella 1/2 tablet once a day and it really helped with her overgrooming and itching.
I remember you mentioning that and I have the vet onboard to prescribe it, just was hoping to find a solution with the food if we could. Thanks for your kind words and keeping up with us Cecile :)
 
Part of me is like to heck with the drop and save him from the pokes. But we’ve followed TR so closely to this point I don’t think I can go rogue.

What an exciting time for you and Pookey!! SO close to that final stretch! Must be so tough to do the drop when you're so close, but your patience will be rewarded!
 
I thought you push the plunger all the way in and then release to take up a drop, but nothing came out when I tested it in the sink. It seemed like the plunger didn’t bounce back enough.
Yeah, some people have found that they don't always draw a drop. You could try priming the syringe first (push the plunger up and down a few times) and see if that makes a difference.

The other (painful) way to measure a drop dose is to count the number of drops in your 0.10U and squeeze out half of them. This would involve a bit of practice in squeezing equal-sized drops!
 
Yeah, some people have found that they don't always draw a drop. You could try priming the syringe first (push the plunger up and down a few times) and see if that makes a difference.

The other (painful) way to measure a drop dose is to count the number of drops in your 0.10U and squeeze out half of them. This would involve a bit of practice in squeezing equal-sized drops!
Interesting, okay, I’ll give both of those a try. Thanks Bhooma :)
 
Go Pookey!!!! I’m wondering if you could try a few different brands of syringes and see if one of them has the drop feature/bug
Good idea. I used to get some from the pharmacy that seemed a little higher quality than the Amazon ones we normally use.
 
Yeah! I was thinking maybe even lower quality syringes might have more give in the plunger. I’ve got a few left over Walmart syringes that I could try for you.
 
These Relion Walmart ones did the drop dose really well! The plunger definitely isn’t as seated as my other syringes so I think you get more give.

upload_2025-3-13_17-44-54.jpeg


My normal syringes hardly gave any liquid with this method:
upload_2025-3-13_17-45-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-13_17-44-54.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-13_17-44-54.jpeg
    85.9 KB · Views: 125
  • upload_2025-3-13_17-45-23.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-13_17-45-23.jpeg
    77.3 KB · Views: 130
Back
Top