3/16 Mikan AMPS 184, +2 170, +6 40 , +6.5 76, +7.5 81, +9 125, PMPS 260, +2 189, +4 186

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mikanmama, Mar 16, 2023.

  1. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    3/15/23 POST

    Good Morning!

    Still dark outside, but we are having a beautiful blue start!
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Nice! Feed a little at +1? :)
     
    Mikanmama likes this.
  3. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Good call! Yes, I will :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Good morning! Hope you and Mikan have a beautiful day!
     
    Mikanmama likes this.
  5. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Good morning Deb & Sly! We have a good start! So far, so good. Hope you and Sly have a good one too!
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  6. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    @Bandit's Mom

    I fed her LC at +1 and +2. 170 at +2. I have to get to work now but will be back for +6 testing. I'll have LC food out for her. Hoping for another gentle cruising :)
     
  7. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    @Bandit's Mom, I was so surprised to see 40 at +6. She looks fine and is acting normally. I gave her a bit of MC 13% mixed with LC food. I'll test her again at 6.5.

    Now dosing question: I know TR says .25 reduction when BG hits lower than 50. But we just got to this dose 1.5. Do you think an option of going skinny 1.5 (sort of between 1.25 and 1.5) viable? I even bought a large magnifying glass with a stand so I can see the syringe lines better :)
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you get another test right away? Just rule out the possibility that it was a bad strip? Hope long since she had the MC?
     
    Mikanmama likes this.
  9. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    It took me a bit to catch her - she took me around the house tour a few times

    76mg/dL. She did eat 25 min ago or so. Think 40 was legit?
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like it.

    On the dosing front, I would reduce the full 0.25U. We get to skinnying and fattening doses only after a cat goes between doses a few times. Congrats on the reduction. :)
     
    Deb and Sylvester and Mikanmama like this.
  11. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Thank you so much Bhooma! I got it. I see many kitties go back and forth before settling down on the stable green numbers. Hopefully, Mikan is heading toward that direction :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She is doing great! Not every cat flattens out so soon after diagnosis. In fact it can be a while before cats see green. :)
     
    Mikanmama and Deb and Sylvester like this.
  13. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Great catch at that +6...

    @Bandit's Mom knows I would have had a PANIC ATTACK if I saw a 40:eek:

    You handled it so gracefully!!
     
    Mikanmama and Bandit's Mom like this.
  14. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Gosh, my heart WAS pounding! All I could think of was "gotta feed her!" (AND gotta talk to @Bandit's Mom!)
    I bet all my hair was all standing right up. I wish Mikan could give me some advance warning ;)
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  15. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I know, it's hair raising!!

    My last diabetic cat loved to scare the life out of me! One time, I was wondering, why is this cat so hungry, he has been eating all day.. Random check, nowhere near nadir and he was 39, I almost passed out!!
     
  16. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    PMPS 260. Bounce forecast, maybe? :(
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  17. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Mikan hit 40 today, so she's going to do a bounce dance.

    Don't forget to take the reduction as Bhooma advised today. She may bounce for a few cycles, but she will come back down again!
     
    Mikanmama likes this.
  18. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Thanks for the reminder! Yes, she got 1.25 for this cycle.

    Down she went, up she goes! Really, they do push your patience, don't they! :rolleyes:
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  19. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Yes they do!!
     
    Mikanmama likes this.

Share This Page