? 3/17 Mr Kitty AMPS 347 Pancreatitis Questions

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by FrostD, Mar 17, 2021.

1. FrostD

FrostD Well-Known Member

Yesterday

Two more questions-

How do I know when a flare is "over"? Do I stop app stim first to see if he still eats? Then stop anti nausea? Or stop both at same time? Then if he won't eat, give them again? How do I know when to start/stop subQ fluids?

Is it best to hold the dose during a flare, since the eating is hit or miss? I was tempted to raise the dose again this morning since he's been eating, but was hesitant since that could change. He's still high so I have wiggle room, but at lower numbers I might not.

Thanks!

2. JaxBenji

JaxBenji Well-Known Member

I have zero experience with pancreatitis but just wanted to drop this link off - A Primer on Pancreatitis

Lots on the board of have pancreatitis experience so I'm sure they will be by. Hugs to you and Mr. Kitty.

3. Pamela & Amethyst

Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

4. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

Hi. Good questions. The only way I know to figure out if a flare is over is to watch the symptoms. When he acts normal with whatever medications he’s getting for several days I would remove or reduce one thing at a time and see how Max did. Definitely start with the appetite stimulant. If giving once a day skip a day and see how it goes for after several days without it. If the appetite is good then start reducing but not cold turkey the nausea medication. Used ondansetron so would go from twice a day to once and see how he did. If you change more than one thing and he’s not doing well you won’t know which one you need to add back. I hope this helps.

Suzanne & Darcy and FrostD like this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator