3/19, Falafel, AMPS 265 +2 246 PMPS 308

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-falafel-amps-269-2-340-pmps-285.287833/

Try going back to how you were measuring 0.1 units. Maybe do this with coloured liquid such as a apple/grape juice, or tea etc. Then twist the plunger until you get a drop out. Try doing this several times so you know how to get consistent size drops out. Count how many are in your 0.1 unit dose. Your drop dose could be 1/2 that. Say for example it is 2 drops. A 1 drop dose would be the 0.1 units dose with one drop removed.

OMG. Thanks, Wendy. I need more practice but this morning I got 1 drop of insulin into Falafel. I changed my SS because now I'm even more sure that yesterday I didn't get any insulin in her, so put NS there. Or should I put something else since I did stick her with a needle that touched insulin?

For me, I found 0.1U was 3 drops so I counted off 2 drops before injecting Falafel. I also found this post helpful: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/to-measure-a-dose-consistently.34424/#p360982

I will try to catch her peeing tonight to check for ketones since she didn't get any insulin yesterday.
 
Scary pink PMPS :( but I know, I know, it's probably the bounce...

Updates: Miss Falafel is refusing to eat when I'm not home. Distressing. Measuring out drop doses is also distressing. But she is so cute.... not distressing.

I found out on Monday and Tuesday of next week I have these work events to go to at night!!! Exciting for my career (I guess), but Falafel is going to have to miss her PM doses 2 nights in a row. No one in my family can test or shoot, and I would feel scared to let them since I'm doing a drop dose. I found out about the events today and I still haven't found a certified pet sitter who is comfortable handling a diabetic kitten (I did read horror stories about mis-dosing which was NOT helpful).

I'm hoping and praying she magically has super low AMPS on Monday and Tuesday so I feel good about skipping the doses...
 
people usually put "drop" as the drop dose in the units cell.

Time for the depot to rebuild. Come on down Felafel!

Monday is ages away, we can talk strategy sooner to that day.
 
people usually put "drop" as the drop dose in the units cell.

Time for the depot to rebuild. Come on down Felafel!

Monday is ages away, we can talk strategy sooner to that day.
Edited that. Thank you Wendy. I need not just patience pants, but a patience suit clearly. :rolleyes:
 
Ask the techs at your vet's office. Some might be willing to help you out with insulin injections and even pet sitting. A lot of vet techs do pet sitting on the side for the extra money.
 
Back
Top