3/2 Karamelle AMPS 282 +7 185 PMPS 306 +2 278

JoM

Very Active Member
? - Levemir questions | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB This was my last post, but I havent been posting since Jan.

So on my last post I was asking about Levemir. My vet recommended we try changing her insulin because shes always so all over the place. I said I wanted to try Levemir, so he agreed and sent me the prescription which I forwarded to Marks Marine and placed my order. So in a couple of weeks we should be starting the new insulin. But Karamelle is like, WHAT? you want to change my insulin, um but this one is fine, I'll even drop low for you so you can lower the dose and stay steady with no bouncing. :p So take that!! Ive already ordered it so the change is immanent but wouldnt it be ironic if she just stayed in good numbers now? Probably wont happen, cause she does get these good days every so often. Its just the timing. Plus shes eating a bit better today. Shes gone almost two weeks where Ive had to assist feed her. Cats! lol, they certainly keep you on your toes.
 
? - Levemir questions | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB This was my last post, but I havent been posting since Jan.

So on my last post I was asking about Levemir. My vet recommended we try changing her insulin because shes always so all over the place. I said I wanted to try Levemir, so he agreed and sent me the prescription which I forwarded to Marks Marine and placed my order. So in a couple of weeks we should be starting the new insulin. But Karamelle is like, WHAT? you want to change my insulin, um but this one is fine, I'll even drop low for you so you can lower the dose and stay steady with no bouncing. :p So take that!! Ive already ordered it so the change is immanent but wouldnt it be ironic if she just stayed in good numbers now? Probably wont happen, cause she does get these good days every so often. Its just the timing. Plus shes eating a bit better today. Shes gone almost two weeks where Ive had to assist feed her. Cats! lol, they certainly keep you on your toes.
Oh my, Karamelle must have gotten word about the switch!! :p
Hang in there, Jo! You’re such a great Mom to your sweet girl!
:bighug::):bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Of course, now shes not eating again. It had only been 2 hours since she ate. I'll try later. I just wanted to see if we could go a whole day without assist feeding. But shes only eaten 68 calories so far and its after 5pm (+8.5). I can usually get her to eat around 6-630pm (+9.5- +10) and sometimes again at around pm +2, but I dont think she will get enough. Maybe I'll just leave it today. Shes really starting to hate the assist feeding. She eats it but growls the whole time.
 
For a long term diabetic, which she is, the reduction criteria is once below 40. Or a week in normal green numbers. If you consider a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, then it's three times between 40 and 49, on three separate days.
 
It really does seem like as soon as you give in and decide to change things they're like "Wait, no, I'm gonna be so different now, watch!" I hope she starts eating soon and that the transition goes well!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
For a long term diabetic, which she is, the reduction criteria is once below 40. Or a week in normal green numbers. If you consider a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, then it's three times between 40 and 49, on three separate days.
Yes, I did consider that, since she just dropped twice in one day, I could have held the dose, but it was going into the evening and I didnt want to be up all night. So far shes not doing too bad with the reduction, so we'll see.
 
It really does seem like as soon as you give in and decide to change things they're like "Wait, no, I'm gonna be so different now, watch!" I hope she starts eating soon and that the transition goes well!
Yeah, its so ironic that shes doing pretty good BG wise at the moment. But... I had to assist feed her last night at +10. But a couple hours after her Mirataz, she did eat some of her rabbit treats (30 calories worth, so I'll take it)!! She still wont eat for me in the morning. I have to wait for her Mirataz to kick in. So she doesnt get fed at shot time. So far this hasnt been a problem.
 
Yeah, its so ironic that shes doing pretty good BG wise at the moment. But... I had to assist feed her last night at +10. But a couple hours after her Mirataz, she did eat some of her rabbit treats (30 calories worth, so I'll take it)!! She still wont eat for me in the morning. I have to wait for her Mirataz to kick in. So she doesnt get fed at shot time. So far this hasnt been a problem.

I'm glad it hasn't been a problem! Cats can all be different just like us, but as long as it's not causing problems, I guess it doesn't matter too much.

My guy doesn't get fed at shot time either (and sometimes hasn't fasted for 2 hours prior to PS) because of the medicine I have to mix into things and how long it takes to work, etc. Sometimes we've just gotta be different lol

I hope her appetite kicks in and you don't have to assist feed her anymore! That's miserable. :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I'm glad it hasn't been a problem! Cats can all be different just like us, but as long as it's not causing problems, I guess it doesn't matter too much.

My guy doesn't get fed at shot time either (and sometimes hasn't fasted for 2 hours prior to PS) because of the medicine I have to mix into things and how long it takes to work, etc. Sometimes we've just gotta be different lol

I hope her appetite kicks in and you don't have to assist feed her anymore! That's miserable. :(
She just ate at about +1.5. A new food, Friskies salmon pate. She ate 38 calories. If she eats 5 meals at this amount, it would be enough. However, I fed her a new food yesterday, Friskies turkey and giblets pate, which she ate 47 calories of in the first feeding. Then she wouldnt touch it the rest of the day. Its so frustrating.
 
She just ate at about +1.5. A new food, Friskies salmon pate. She ate 38 calories. If she eats 5 meals at this amount, it would be enough. However, I fed her a new food yesterday, Friskies turkey and giblets pate, which she ate 47 calories of in the first feeding. Then she wouldnt touch it the rest of the day. Its so frustrating.

I know, it certainly is! Especially when they're inconsistent. One day they're fine with this food, the next they take a bite and then don't touch it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top