Thanks!https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...last-3-doses-please-help.299322/#post-3255519
Hi! You can edit your title with the drop down in the left to have a “?” to draw some attention.
I checked again and it was still 182 up until 4 hours after her usual shot time so I didn't shoot. Then I spoke to the vet who's worried about ketones and wants me to give her 1/4 shot now, nearly 5 hours after the usual shot time. I don't know what to do.Its now 225Hi @Vanda Kay those are nice high blues. When new to FD, we usually suggest to stall without feeding and test in 1/2 hour to see if the BGs are rising.
If you haven't fed yet, and if you can monitor, and have supplies (high carb food, honey/Karo/syrup and lots of testing supplies, you can shoot the full dose.
What did you decide to do?
Hi. I only gave 0.25 as the late shot and my vet said it would be ok to shoot 2 hours early. I have to get back on schedule by the time I go to work on Monday evening and Landa's numbers are high again. The vet is constantly warning me about ketones. I haven't got the sticks yet or worked out how I'm going to catch the pee. Landa is a very hard to handle cat with semi feral behavior when it comes to any kind of intervention. It's a miracle I'm able to give her insulin at all.See you shot 5 hours late… are you going to shoot late tonight too and then work back? I don’t think you’re supposed to overlap by that much.
Thanks. I have read that note before and followed it when I first started giving Lantus and needed to change the schedule by 15 minute increments. Now I don't have the option because I need to leave for work at 6pm on Monday evening. How do I get back to that safely please? Landa's numbers are high again and I can't skip a shot. She only got 0.25u yesterday at 10.30am, then 1u at 8.30pm. The low did not go below 220. When can I have her her morning shot today? Also, what do you mean by "partial shot" and how would I determine the amount? I messed up by not giving her the shot yesterday morning and now I'm in a pickle. I will be at work Monday 6pm- 9.45pm. A late schedule doesn't work for Landa since she's been waking me up for food at 5am every morning for the last 5 years. About ketones: my vet said this number can increase suddenly and I have to check regularly. When Landa was diagnosed 3 weeks ago, she had no ketones in her urine.For the spreadsheet, I'd recommend a few tweaks to how to document to doses so it's easier to see the timing. The AMPS could be 184@+12, 184@+16, 235@+17. For the PMPS, that would be 289@+10. At a glance, that shows us how much you stalled this morning, and how much earlier you shot tonight.
For future reference, shooting that much earlier is not recommended. This post tells you what to do when you end up late with a Lantus shot: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule
0.4 ketones is still fairly normal on the ketone BG meter. As long as Landa has seen nothing higher, you could have skipped. Once you have a bit more experience, you will find you could have shot the entire dose at that 184. Landa was at 188 at +7 last night, and basically the same number this morning for several hours, meaning she wasn't going to go down any more on last night's insulin dose. In the beginning, especially since she was so flat, you could even have shot a partial dose in the AM after stalling for an hours and seeing her numbers were still the same. Consider this a learning experience for next time.
One housekeeping note, could you put SLGS in the signature, as that is the dosing method listed on the spreadsheet. Just saves us a minute looking it up. Although I always open the spreadsheet, sometimes there are questions that don't need the spreadsheet to answer.
Thanks. I use Freestyle libre because she won't let me touch her ear. There's no way I can get blood from her ear or anywhere else.There are blood ketone meters if you have trouble with the urine strips. Same concept as testing the BG. We have the KetoBM but there are other brands that work too.
I hope you don't mind me reaching out for advice. Yesterday, Saturday morning I was faced with a much lower pre-shot number than before and stalled for five hours until I had a chance to talk to the vet who said to give 0.25. She also said it was OK to give the regular one unit 10 hours later which I did last night at 8:30 PM. It's now 7 AM here in Chicago and I don't know when to give the morning shot because I have to get back on schedule by Monday evening and I go to work at 6 PM. Normal shot time is 5:45 AM p.m. There is no way around this. Her numbers are high still despite the earlier days last night thank you.
Very common.I think she Has more experience with diabetic dogs than cats.
Yes, Landa is eating normally and seems fine. Her nadir went pretty low today (82) and then she bounced. She's up in the high 300s tonight. I had to skip tonight's shot so I can get back on track at 5.30am tomorrow morning. I hope that's not terrible. But I can't be awake all night checking her lows. Once we're back on schedule, it'll be much easier. I've learned my lesson now.Nothing wrong with being paranoid about ketones, but I'd be more worried if Vanda had ever shown ketones before. 0.4 level ketones is in the normal range, not a number to worry about. My cat was in way higher number than yours, and I'd occasionally do a fur shot.. I'd test for ketones and cross my fingers, and fortunately she never showed anything other than trace for ketones. Is Landa eating well and still having a normal level of activity? If yes, then it's even less worrying.
Very common.