MinnerPip
Active Member
Prior Post
Hi, we haven’t posted in a while (since 3/9) and things have been stable. But we need some help tonight because Minner is having the most active cycle I’ve ever seen and I’m fighting it at +1.6 with medium carb, and the real action hasn’t even hit yet.
Brief recent history: Suspected lipohypertrophy in shoulder/upper side areas where she has been injected since the beginning (july 2024). Started feeling more fatty and in past 3-4 weeks her action has been more and more inconsistent. Many days I feed only 0 and 1% and don’t get below 90. Other days have solid action with nadir in 50s or 60s and feeding 3-5%.
So … 3 days ago I decided to try injecting her in hip area. Since then she has had noticeable solid action and I’ve had to feed even more to avoid the 50s.
Tonight I dropped her dose to 6.625 (reminder I use calipers for precision). I also fed immediately post shot … didn’t matter, she dropped to 59 by 1.6 so I panicked and started feeding medium carbs. By +2 she inched up to 70 and 89 at +2.5. Whew. I just took the +2.5 reading, thank goodness. But I know I’ll need to test hourly since that carb load might not get her through.
Help Needed: Does anyone have experience shooting insulin in the hip and is it different? Or is the difference I’m seeing likely proving out she has fatty buildup in her regular injection areas which is interfering with absorption?
Does her IAA increase her likelihood of responding with fatty buildup in injection areas? I’m very concerned that this will start happening in hip area too.
I have no way of knowing how much the fatty buildup is interfering other than based on the strong action witnessed these past 5 cycles since moving to the hip …. I’ve had to feed her alot more, including using higher carb (still LC until tonight’s cycle when I grabbed MC and then bisque which is HC). I’m tempted to drop her dose down to 6.0 in the morning as a “safer” way to try to recalibrate, vs letting her drop below 50 by not feeding so much at current dose. This is a high dose and there is simultaneously the possibility that we could be seeing antibodies starting to break or behave more erratically.
This is a lot and she has multiple factors at play … I’m hoping there are some suggestions to help us, otherwise I’ll probably keep shooting the hip area and keep reducing her dose more proactively until the pendulum swings.
Thank you.
Hi, we haven’t posted in a while (since 3/9) and things have been stable. But we need some help tonight because Minner is having the most active cycle I’ve ever seen and I’m fighting it at +1.6 with medium carb, and the real action hasn’t even hit yet.
Brief recent history: Suspected lipohypertrophy in shoulder/upper side areas where she has been injected since the beginning (july 2024). Started feeling more fatty and in past 3-4 weeks her action has been more and more inconsistent. Many days I feed only 0 and 1% and don’t get below 90. Other days have solid action with nadir in 50s or 60s and feeding 3-5%.
So … 3 days ago I decided to try injecting her in hip area. Since then she has had noticeable solid action and I’ve had to feed even more to avoid the 50s.
Tonight I dropped her dose to 6.625 (reminder I use calipers for precision). I also fed immediately post shot … didn’t matter, she dropped to 59 by 1.6 so I panicked and started feeding medium carbs. By +2 she inched up to 70 and 89 at +2.5. Whew. I just took the +2.5 reading, thank goodness. But I know I’ll need to test hourly since that carb load might not get her through.
Help Needed: Does anyone have experience shooting insulin in the hip and is it different? Or is the difference I’m seeing likely proving out she has fatty buildup in her regular injection areas which is interfering with absorption?
Does her IAA increase her likelihood of responding with fatty buildup in injection areas? I’m very concerned that this will start happening in hip area too.
I have no way of knowing how much the fatty buildup is interfering other than based on the strong action witnessed these past 5 cycles since moving to the hip …. I’ve had to feed her alot more, including using higher carb (still LC until tonight’s cycle when I grabbed MC and then bisque which is HC). I’m tempted to drop her dose down to 6.0 in the morning as a “safer” way to try to recalibrate, vs letting her drop below 50 by not feeding so much at current dose. This is a high dose and there is simultaneously the possibility that we could be seeing antibodies starting to break or behave more erratically.
This is a lot and she has multiple factors at play … I’m hoping there are some suggestions to help us, otherwise I’ll probably keep shooting the hip area and keep reducing her dose more proactively until the pendulum swings.
Thank you.