? 3/23 - Rosie | AMPS 367, +1 356, +2 385, +3 403 BG going up??

Hi there

Rosie has been on Lantus for ~ 3 months now. The vet started her on a dose of 3U. Everyone on here has been telling me it's too high, but the vet mentioned it works on a 0.5U/kg ratio, and she weighs 6 kgs. She's a big lady.

This is the first time I am doing a 12/12 curve - the vet wants to see how she's performing, and I am recording it on the SS as well. I am a little worried though, because her BG is going up?? I don't know if it's because of the stress of a BG test every hour, but she sits through them so sweetly and she purrs, and I've got a good hang of it so I don't fiddle with her ears a lot.

Should I be worried? Is this normal?

More info:
Diet - she's on Hill's m/d Diabetic Care dry food, with a wet/dry mix once a day (I know dry food gets a lot of hate here, but I'm doing my best. A wet food diet will cost me 4x what the dry food costs, and it's already a very tight squeeze with all her medical bills).

She hasn't had any wet food today, yet. She had last night, and will get more this afternoon.
 
At these numbers meter variance (10-20%) can be a pretty big number, those first few tests look pretty flat to me. Also a curve is a test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours. No need to test hourly.
 
Hi Thalia - welcome! I'm also in Cape Town :)
You are in the right place for support and advice for Rosie :bighug:

It's understandable that you are worried about Rosie's high numbers, especially when you are trying your best and following your vet's advice. There is so much to learn about FD it can be quite overwhelming, but take it slow and don't panic. I really recommend reading and rereading the Sticky posts at the top.

Regarding food... Noogi also used to eat mostly dry food (Hills metabolic) with just half a pouch/tin of wet food daily. When he was first diagnosed, Oct last year, I transitioned him to m/d Diabetic dry, m/d Diabetic wet (when I could find it) and Royal Canin Diabetic wet (ditto). He also had Hills w/d wet as he'd had pancreatitis. Those first two months were awful - his BG remained sky high and he barely left his bed. His dose increased and increased up to 5u, when we finally started to get some action. But we were on a rollercoaster of highs and lows. It was only when I started to sort out his food (January) did we start to see any real progress and stability (he got a skin infection in Feb which set up back, but we've got some forward momentum again at last now). First to go was w/d which is super-high carb (which my vet did not know). Then the dry food too, as I moved to only wet food, mostly low carb, although I do still give him some RC Diabetic wet. We have so few low carb options in SA and I completely understand the worry about expense. But Hills is hardly cheap either! I have done a lot of research into non-prescription food available here and am happy to share info if you want.

I don't want to pressure you into changing Rosie's food - completely get that you are doing the best you can under present circumstances - but do keep an open mind to making changes down the line if you need to. Going on my experience, it was the turning point to getting a handle on managing this condition.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top