3/29 Niko - AMPS 90, +1 280, +3 315 SHOOTING FIRST GREEN!

You can do this. Congrats on shooting your first green! :woot:

Don't feed feed him too much. You want him hungry enough to eat every hour, if required. Can you test him again at +1 and +2?

I'm going to tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.

Okay will do! We gave him his usual breakfast and he ate. He is a glutton for high carb snacks so I’m hoping he keeps that energy if needed. Yes my partner will be around to do the +1, I’m stepping out briefly but will be around to do +2.

What should we expect for the +1 and +2? If he is dropping to let’s say 70 at +2, is that ok or cause for concern?
 
What should we expect for the +1 and +2? If he is dropping to let’s say 70 at +2, is that ok or cause for concern?
You might see a food bump at +1. If he's comfortably higher, he might just bounce. Nevertheless, you want to feed LC and get a +2. If he's flat or lower at +1, you want to feed a little carbs. What do you have in terms of higher carbs? What carb%?

@Angela & Cleo will be around and guide you on what to feed. It's 23:30 for me, so I might not be around (unless I'm unable to sleep!).
 
Okay will do! We gave him his usual breakfast and he ate. He is a glutton for high carb snacks so I’m hoping he keeps that energy if needed. Yes my partner will be around to do the +1, I’m stepping out briefly but will be around to do +2.

What should we expect for the +1 and +2? If he is dropping to let’s say 70 at +2, is that ok or cause for concern?
There is NO Cause for concern as long as you can monitor and have your hypo kit ready to go ;)
Lets see where the +1 is, if higher, then we'll wait for the +2; if lower then you have been gifted an opportunity to see how carb sensitive Niko is :cat:
 
Congrats on your first pre-shot green! :D
I can understand your nervousness - we want green numbers so badly but when they finally arrive they fill us with fear and panic!

I've had a crash course in last couple weeks on managing lower numbers under the expert guidance of @Bandit's Mom and @Angela & Cleo. They will guide you!!
I test in the first few hours after a shot to see how my guy is trending - sometimes flat, sometimes dipping sharply. If its the latter I use small helpings of HC and MC food to keep his numbers up. I'm really starting to get the hang of it - how much to give and when. I've made a few mistakes but am feeling so much more capable and in control than I did just ten days ago. You will learn this new skill too :)

Just make sure you have all the food options and plenty of testing strips at the ready.

Ana, you and your partner have got it!
 
And. these are for you! The Coveted Balls of Steel ( BOS) for shooting your first green

upload_2018-2-2_19-36-17-png.34009
 
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo thank you folks!

well, might be a bit disappointing but hes around 280 at +1 lol. Might be a food and bounce combo here.

I know the 90 wasn’t a fluke because it tested on both meters for us! We will keep testing to see if his pancreas brings him down - I’m a tad disappointed!

But he has been doing pretty well on this dose so I’m happy for that! Thank you everyone for your encouragement! Hopefully we have more greens to shoot for moving forward.
 
You might see a food bump at +1. If he's comfortably higher, he might just bounce. Nevertheless, you want to feed LC and get a +2. If he's flat or lower at +1, you want to feed a little carbs. What do you have in terms of higher carbs? What carb%?

@Angela & Cleo will be around and guide you on what to feed. It's 23:30 for me, so I might not be around (unless I'm unable to sleep!).

we have some MC Weruva gravy pouches and FF (10-12%) and some HC crunchies (temptations, freeze dried treats that make him spike). :) hopefully thats enough for the future
 
Congrats on your first pre-shot green! :D
I can understand your nervousness - we want green numbers so badly but when they finally arrive they fill us with fear and panic!

I've had a crash course in last couple weeks on managing lower numbers under the expert guidance of @Bandit's Mom and @Angela & Cleo. They will guide you!!
I test in the first few hours after a shot to see how my guy is trending - sometimes flat, sometimes dipping sharply. If its the latter I use small helpings of HC and MC food to keep his numbers up. I'm really starting to get the hang of it - how much to give and when. I've made a few mistakes but am feeling so much more capable and in control than I did just ten days ago. You will learn this new skill too :)

Just make sure you have all the food options and plenty of testing strips at the ready.

Ana, you and your partner have got it!
Thank you for sharing your experience — this makes me more excited to see more greens PS in the future :) appreciate it!!
 
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo thank you folks!

well, might be a bit disappointing but hes around 280 at +1 lol. Might be a food and bounce combo here.

I know the 90 wasn’t a fluke because it tested on both meters for us! We will keep testing to see if his pancreas brings him down - I’m a tad disappointed!

But he has been doing pretty well on this dose so I’m happy for that! Thank you everyone for your encouragement! Hopefully we have more greens to shoot for moving forward.
Don't be disappointed too much. Try to look at it by all the positives. First you shot your first ....of many... greens. Second, think of the duration and all that time in healing BGs leading up to that PS. Third - now you have the rest of the cycle to do something other than obsess over FD ;)
 
we have some MC Weruva gravy pouches and FF (10-12%) and some HC crunchies (temptations, freeze dried treats that make him spike). :) hopefully thats enough for the future
A lot use this for their hypo kit

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs. This is not correct on the food chart, many members used the car calculators and it is 14 % carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

I wouldn't give temptations

@Niko's Mom

Try and keep you spreadsheet updated and your title :cat:
 
Don't be disappointed too much. Try to look at it by all the positives. First you shot your first ....of many... greens. Second, think of the duration and all that time in healing BGs leading up to that PS. Third - now you have the rest of the cycle to do something other than obsess over FD ;)
So, so true!!! I was a little shaky drawing up the syringe this morning haha.

I’m actually going to go into work and leave the testing to my partner today lol! Whew! Very happy he is becoming more regulated as we are only approaching three months, I really am happy his body is relearning to use insulin so fast.

You guys are awesome for being so supportive! :-)
 
@Niko's Mom
And I'll just add this about the hypo kit: In case you don't have it, make sure you have honey or Karo syrup on hand. I've had situations where Jude wouldn't eat (and he's normally a good eater), so I had to give him a little honey to bump him up when he was trending a little too low. If I hadn't had that on hand, I would have been in trouble.
 
A lot use this for their hypo kit

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs. This is not correct on the food chart, many members used the car calculators and it is 14 % carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

I wouldn't give temptations

@Niko's Mom

Try and keep you spreadsheet updated and your title :cat:


Awesome will do that now!’ Thanks so much for the info
 
@Niko's Mom
And I'll just add this about the hypo kit: In case you don't have it, make sure you have honey or Karo syrup on hand. I've had situations where Jude wouldn't eat (and he's normally a good eater), so I had to give him a little honey to bump him up when he was trending a little too low. If I hadn't had that on hand, I would have been in trouble.
Perfect yes we have Karo syrup! This is good to know.
 
Call me crazy, but I would still get a test in before PMPS.

Also, next time you shoot a green around this low. Don't ease up for a bit, please, please do a +1 & +2!!

From my experience, Kona's onset of the insulin can change from day-to-day. Most of the time, it's at the +1 & +2, but on occasion, she'll flip the script and drop crazy at a +8 or +10 on the tail-end.

With all that being said, GOOD JOB!!! Once you get a few of these under your belt, the fear will go away and you'll gain courage and you will encourage these. Whenever Kona has a low pre-shot, I'm get all my supplies, get mentally prepared, and I'm sooo excited to attempt to ride the curve in the cycle in greens as much as I can. But, of course, safely!

Have a great night! :bighug:
 
Call me crazy, but I would still get a test in before PMPS.

Also, next time you shoot a green around this low. Don't ease up for a bit, please, please do a +1 & +2!!

From my experience, Kona's onset of the insulin can change from day-to-day. Most of the time, it's at the +1 & +2, but on occasion, she'll flip the script and drop crazy at a +8 or +10 on the tail-end.

With all that being said, GOOD JOB!!! Once you get a few of these under your belt, the fear will go away and you'll gain courage and you will encourage these. Whenever Kona has a low pre-shot, I'm get all my supplies, get mentally prepared, and I'm sooo excited to attempt to ride the curve in the cycle in greens as much as I can. But, of course, safely!

Have a great night! :bighug:

yes looks like he’s in bounce city at around 315 at +3! Will be interesting to see if he comes down for PS…

I will test again at maybe +6 or +7. He’s a weird guy like Kona too! Some days he drops immediately at like +2, other days we don’t see a nadir until almost +8. I think as he is regulating his body is trying to find better rhythm with this dose.

amazing thanks so much for sharing :) I think it will be interesting to see how he responds over time. Hopefully we can have more green PS soon where he stays the green/blue course for a bit more of the cycle! Whew, what a ride.
 
Call me crazy, but I would still get a test in before PMPS.

Also, next time you shoot a green around this low. Don't ease up for a bit, please, please do a +1 & +2!!

From my experience, Kona's onset of the insulin can change from day-to-day. Most of the time, it's at the +1 & +2, but on occasion, she'll flip the script and drop crazy at a +8 or +10 on the tail end.
From my experience, Kona's onset of the insulin can change from day-to-day. Most of the time, it's at the +1 & +2, but on occasion, she'll flip the script and drop crazy at a +8 or +10 on the tail-end.

I second this. Kobe started getting A LOT of action from his insulin shot LATE in the cycle. I would catch him with a pre-shot of 120 and not realize that he was still going DOWN from his last shot!!! A couple of times the +2 spot check saved our bacon.

I started building 20 extra minutes into our feeding/ shot routine so that I could test again after 20 minutes to see if that 120 was "120 and rising" or "120 and still going down."

Congratulations on shooting your first green! Woo hoo!
 
Back
Top