3/31 Karamelle Amps 243 +3 392 +6 390 PMPS 529

JoM

Very Active Member
3/26 Karamelle AMPS 77 +2 83 +4 199 +7 245 PMPS 405 +2 464 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Sorry, I needed a break so I havent been here for a few days. As @Wendy&Neko might attest to, I was rather cranky the last time I posted. After that, I just completely lost it (it wasnt pretty :eek:) and needed to make a change. Ive put Karamelle back on SLGS and given her the Young Again dry food again in a microchip bowl as of 3 days ago. Im still feeding her some wet periodically but with her Pancreatitis, she just wasnt eating enough on her own and I was having to stuff food in her mouth at least once a day, sometimes more. Now that she has the dry food, I havent had to assist feed at all as she is getting enough calories with the dry food and she seems much much happier, and so am I.
My question here is, is it time to increase again? I had someone on FB tell me it takes Levemir 2 weeks to adjust to a new dose. Shes been on 1.25U for 1 week now and the last time we saw any greens or blues was 5 days ago and that was very short lived. If I raise it, she will be back to the dose she started with on Levemir. I dont really know what was happening when it started going all wonky. It seems to have settled a bit, but shes still way too high.
 
I had someone on FB tell me it takes Levemir 2 weeks to adjust to a new dose.
What FB site is this? Never heard that before, never seen it before either. Not all FB advice is equal or good. Lev is like Lantus, no different in how long it takes to build the depot.

I am happy to hear she's eating again, and getting enough. That is great!

Could you change your signature to also say SLGS? Are you sticking with the reduction point of 90? That would be a reduction per SLGS. Not increase. However, the days since she's been eating dry don't look like great numbers.
 
What FB site is this? Never heard that before, never seen it before either. Not all FB advice is equal or good. Lev is like Lantus, no different in how long it takes to build the depot.

I am happy to hear she's eating again, and getting enough. That is great!

Could you change your signature to also say SLGS? Are you sticking with the reduction point of 90? That would be a reduction per SLGS. Not increase. However, the days since she's been eating dry don't look like great numbers.
Well they dint look like great numbers before the dry either. To me they seem a bit better in the last couple of days. At least no reds! Im not changing from the dry, even tho I introduced it too fast and now she has diarrhea. I started her on a probiotic, so it should right itself soon. I'll change the signature. I already changed it on the spreadsheet. So what do you think about increasing the dose?
I may not stick with the 90 reduction point. We'll see how it goes.
 
We dose based on how low the dose takes her, and she did get to a 77, which would mean reduce via SLGS. But the 10 cycles since then have been "meh".
 
We dose based on how low the dose takes her, and she did get to a 77, which would mean reduce via SLGS. But the 10 cycles since then have been "meh".
Her PMPS was 529!!!! I increased to 1.5U. We'll see how it goes. Besides I didnt start SLGS until 3/28. That was 2 days after the 77.
 
Back
Top