3/8, Falafel, PMPS 220 +2 51 +2.25 42 +2.75 78 +3.25 134 +3.25 142 +4.25 230

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by thornmallow__, Mar 8, 2024.

  1. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-7-falafel-amps-206-2-186-4-219-6-198-8-234.287472/

    Hi everyone. I will be taking Falafel's PMPS BG in ~20 minutes (7:30 ET). I'm a little nervous because I think I should skip this shot.

    Vet updates:
    - I got good news! They think she's a good candidate for remission and are pleased with how well she's responding to the insulin, and cautioned me about hypo episodes since she's responding so well. Trace amounts of ketones in blood, so I'm scared to miss a shot. Dehydration remains an issue, so I administered 25 mL of SubQ fluids today (bearing in mind she has heart issues so I need to be careful, vet said I can try this amount every other day until she's plump and hydrated again).
    - Previously the ER vets mentioned she might have kidney issues, and while the primary vets said her labs could indicate the very early signs of kidney failure, it's possible this could go away once her diabetes is under control so we're holding on investigating that for now.
    - Wednesday I'm going in for another follow up and then going to the specialist for an echogram (this Wednesday they heard a heart murmur, and today they heard a heart gallop so definitely something to investigate). Then we'll tackle dental one of these days...
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Let me tag Wendy since I see she gave you some advice on your previous post. I'm not experienced at giving dosing advice
    Z's shooting time is 7:30

    @Wendy&Neko

    Edit : Wendy her PMPS was OK to shoot so she's good
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2024
  3. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  5. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Okay PMPS is 220, which matches 3/6 and 3/7. I think I'm good to shoot the regular dose.
     
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yep you are :cat:
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  7. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Thanks!

    In another week I have to go back to work and I'll be out of the house from (roughly) 8:30am-6:30pm on the weekdays. The best time for me to shoot would actually be 7am and 7pm, but I wouldn't have time to get any readings (best I can do is +1) until I get home.

    I was thinking next week I would follow the same 15 minute protocol to move my shot time up to 7am/7pm (after daylight savings).

    Does all this sound okay? I would also want to shoot very conservatively since no one would be able to help in the event of a hypo.
     
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Z it's been so long that I had to give Tyler insulin or figure daylight savings time out ,I'll tag Wendy
    @Wendy&Neko
     
  9. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Just took +2 and it’s 51! I’m scared, is this a sign she could go hypo tonight??

    Eating LC wet right now with good appetite.
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    OK don't feed her too much check her again in 30 minutes and post what her BG is , I'll be waiting
    @thornmallow__
     
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko
    @Marje and Gracie
    @Suzanne & Darcy
    @tiffmaxee
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2024
  12. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Ok she just ate almost half a can of FF pate (there’s only a little left in the bowl), does this ruin the dose?

    She doesn’t usually eat this much in one go unless she’s starving, I’m watching her now and behavior is pretty normal
     
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Try not and over feed her in case she drops lower you want to keep her hungry. No it doesn't ruin the dose
     
    thornmallow__ and tiffmaxee like this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you double check that 51 to make sure it’s not a bad strip? If not please do. Post result. If it about the same feed a teaspoon or two of 10-25% carb food and check again in 30 minutes.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks for checking in Elise , you know I suck when it comes to telling her how many carbs to feed
     
  16. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    It's been 15 mins since that test, she ate almost half a can since that first test (sorry I didn't know not to let her! It was her regular low carb food) and I just tested again she's at 42
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Time for high carbs. Do you have 20%? Or higher?
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  18. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    I have the FF with the gravy
     
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Do you have any of these
    Med and High Carb food



    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
     
  20. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Elise her kitty just switched from Vetsulin to Lantus and boy is she really responding good with lantus
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Gravy Lovers? Feed a couple teaspoons now and test in 20-30 minutes.

    I missed your answer. Feed another teaspoon and add some honey or karo.
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  23. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s not high carb. Do you have honey or karo?
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s early in the cycle so you need carbs. Honey will work but wears off faster than hc food so you will need to check in. 20 minutes.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  26. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    ok, added some honey
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ll check back on 20 minutes.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Reduction earned btw. New dose starting tomorrow is .25.
     
  30. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    I also have Hills Science Diet i/d (wet) is that better?
     
  31. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    I also have FF Chicken Feast in gravy Senior 7+yrs
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think the ID might be 24% which is higher. Which one? I don’t know about the ff but dint think it’s hc.
     
  33. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
  34. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Ok new BG is 78!
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Chicken feast in gravy is 12 % so mc. You can use this tomorrow when you go to the market. The honey will work fine tonight. You will need to check every 20 minutes until the bg goes up enough and stays up without needing honey or the 12% to keep it up. I’ll help you figure that out.

    https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s the honey bringing it up. Feed a teaspoon of the 12% without honey . Check in 30minutes.
     
  37. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Oooh okay the Hill's I have is 23% carbs according to this chart. Fed a couple tsps of the 12%. Waiting to check the BG now.
    Thank you for helping us!!
     
  38. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    She seems to be breathing faster than normal (not panting) and looking for food, ok if I feed her another couple tsps or should I keep waiting? Have about another 10 mins before the next test


    ok nvm i was overreacting about the breathing lol. i am so stressed rn!!
     
  39. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @tiffmaxee
     
  40. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes it's 23% carbs
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  41. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Ok so this is good to keep in case of future hypo?
     
  42. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Tomorrow go buy some of these to have on hand and mark the cans
    FANCY FEAST
    Medleys Tuscany
    White Meat Chicken Tuscany
    in a Savory Sauce 20 % carbs

    Tender Turkey Tuscany in a
    Savory Sauce 20 % carbs

    Tuna Tuscany in a Savory
    Sauce 22 % carbs

    Wild Salmon Tuscany in a
    Savory Sauce 23 % carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

    Get some 15% , 20%, 22% and 23%
     
    Staci & Ivy and thornmallow__ like this.
  43. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    New BG is 134!
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test again.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We cross posted. You can feed her some of her regular food and check in an hour. She might be starting to bounce from the lows but we need to make sure she doesn’t go down when the honey is out of her system.
     
  46. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Retest says 142

    Should I test again?

    Will feed regular food rn and recheck in another hour!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  47. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @thornmallow__
    Z while you're waiting to test in an hour update your SS and Title please
     
  48. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @tiffmaxee
    Elise once her kitty is in safe numbers she needs an answer in her post #11 Thanks Elise
     
  49. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    @Diane Tyler's Mom could you help me on how to update my spreadsheet. Not sure how to fill this in:

    7:30 (PMPS) - 220
    9:30 (+2) - 51
    9:45 (+2.25) - 42
    10:15 (+2.75) - 78
    10:41 (+3.25) - 134

    10:45 (+3.25) - 142

    Do I make new rows for the bolded numbers? Should I add them in the remarks section?
     
  50. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    In cell #2 where you have the 51 put 42 +2.25, then put 78 +2.5 then color code it dark green since the last test there was 78

    134 would go in the 3 cell 134 +3.5. 142 +3.5 then color code them blue
    I'm going by the actual times you listed
    @thornmallow__
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2024
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  51. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @thornmallow__
    Do it the same in your title you can remove preventing hypo if you can't fit all the numbers
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  52. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    you can remove preventing hypo if you can't fit all the numbers in your title
    @thornmallow__
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  53. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Don't feed her anymore ,Elise do you think she can stop feeding her now , does she need to do another test
    @tiffmaxee
     
  54. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Haven't fed her anything since when I posted - just waiting 5 more mins before i test her again
     
  55. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    What was the BG when you stopped feeding? I'm confused
     
  56. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    78 - 20 mins after few tsp of the 12% w the honey mixed in
    134, 142 - 30 mins after few tsp of the 12% w no honey
    230 - 60 mins after regular food (just tested)
     
  57. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s fine to move the time 15 minutes each cycle. Do you have a timed feeder? That could be set to give food while you are at work. As for dosing, see what happens closer to your return to work as far as dosing.

    You can stop testing for tonight unless you want to test one more time before bed. It’s not necessary though.
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  58. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks Elise Good night
    Good night Z
    Don't forget tomorrow's dose will be 0.25 units
    @thornmallow__
     
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  59. thornmallow__

    thornmallow__ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2024
    Re: when I go back to work, is it okay that I can only grab a +1 test before I leave for the day in the morning? I will revisit the dosing closer to next week.

    Yes I have a timed feeder. I will explore that later because I have a lot more questions lol.

    I'll test again at +5 just to be safe.

    Thank you for all your help!!!
     
  60. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @tiffmaxee
     
  61. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d start getting a +1 and +2 now to see how much of a bump you get. If you could get a test at +1.5 or +2 that would be better than a +1 but a +1 might help you figure out how to program the auto feeder. I’d get her used to it while this week and see if she takes to it.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.

Share This Page