? 3/8 Vesper, AMPS 234

Prior post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-vesper-amps-234-4-197.298602/#post-3251584

Hi everyone! Forgive my absence--I had minor surgery last week and have a lot going on at work so haven't been as diligent about posting lately.

Vesper is doing GREAT!!! She has gained a full pound since her last DKA episode and is now back up to 10 lbs. She feels so healthy, has energy, and has a great appetite.

I finally bought a blood ketone meter and tested that for the first time yesterday and her ketones were 0.2, which I assume is good? How often should I be testing ketones? Every day? If so, is once a day sufficient? She is still VERY feisty for blood draws, so we are minimizing them as much as we can. I still need to try to add in some nighttime checks and hope to get back into the swing of those soon too.

Her numbers seem to be doing okay--we even had almost a full day of blues, but I'm not noticing long term trends. I haven't bumped up the dose yet because every time I am about to do that, she gets another blue. But do you think I should try increasing to 1.75?

We are about to switch her from prednisolone to budesonide, so I might wait to increase change the insulin dose until she is stable on the new med so I can see if the change affects glucose? But let me know if you think we should do things differently?

Hope you are all well!!
 
YAY! So glad all is going well :) hope you are recovering from your surgery well. I'm sure someone will make a dose recommendation soon. :bighug:
 
Good to hear that Vesper is doing well. Hoping you are also recovered from the surgery!

I finally bought a blood ketone meter and tested that for the first time yesterday and her ketones were 0.2, which I assume is good? How often should I be testing ketones? Every day? If so, is once a day sufficient?
I think once a day is fine if her ketones stay low and she looks OK (eating and drinking well and not lethargic etc) but I will tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) for confirmation.

Her numbers seem to be doing okay--we even had almost a full day of blues, but I'm not noticing long term trends. I haven't bumped up the dose yet because every time I am about to do that, she gets another blue. But do you think I should try increasing to 1.75?
Yes. With 3 DKA episodes in the past, you want to get her to better numbers sooner rather than later. With TR, you hold a dose for only 8-10 cycles once you start seeing blue nadirs. Her nadirs are over 150 and she has been on this dose for a while. You can take her up to 1.75U and evaluate the dose in 8-10 cycles (unless she earns a reduction before then).


We are about to switch her from prednisolone to budesonide, so I might wait to increase change the insulin dose until she is stable on the new med so I can see if the change affects glucose? But let me know if you think we should do things differently?
With a history of DKA, you might not want to delay an increase, but I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko for her advice.
 
Hi Kelly, so glad to hear Vesper is feeling much better. Just wanted to send you lots of good wishes for continued good health.
I hope you have a quick recovery from your surgery.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Glad to read that both you and Vesper are on the mend.:bighug:

I agree with Bhooma - it's time for 1.75 units.

Can you remind me what condition the prednisolone (and now budesonide) are treating? I don't see anything about it in the signature. What is the prednisolone dose, what will be the budesonide dose? Are you tapering the prednisolone first?
 
Back
Top