3/9 Apache amps 99 i assume i should stall

No. Will you be able to monitor her blood sugar in the first part of the cycle if you shoot?
 
Last edited:
Then please feed and shoot. Do you have enough strips and high carb food?

Don't fill her up with breakfast. Feed some of it at +1 and +2. Start with a test at +1?
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry. I just can't do it. Seems to me to me numbers are too low. I m probably wrong but it just seems to low from the little experience I have. I will wait an hour and retest
 
If you haven't fed, you can test right away and see where she is. It has been 20-30 mins since the first test?
(Sometimes numbers can fall when stalling without food)
 
Last edited:
Lantus is very different from Vetsulin. Lantus gives lovely flat cycles when you shoot low. If you're not comfortable shooting and you've decided to skip, you might as well feed her. She must be hungry? Also stalling without food can sometimes cause numbers to drop.
 
93 half hour later. I have fed her 1/2 can and will retest in 6 hrs. I'm sorry I just need a few more members to confirm that it's OK to shoot so low. If u are correct ... next time I will shoot on low numbers
 
Okay. Add that to your signature. It will take 5-7 days for the initial depot to build. It looks like you did shoot this morning according to your spreadsheet. . How late was the shot? That will determine when you shoot tonight. Your comment above indicates you did not shoot. If so delete the 1.5 and put NS. You can then shoot at your normal time tonight. If you shot late you can get back to your shot time 15 minutes each cycle, a total of 30 minutes a day.

With SLGS you can shoot if over 90. Any drop under 90 earns a decrease off .25. Then you hold the new dose for a week unless another reduction is earned by another bg under 90.
 
Okay. Add that to your signature. It will take 5-7 days for the initial depot to build. It looks like you did shoot this morning. How late was the shot? That will determine when you shoot tonight.

With SLGS you can shoot if over 90. Any drop under 90 earns a decrease off .25. Then you hold the new dose for a week unless another reduction is earned by another bg under 90.
That is not what the sticky notes u sent me says.
 
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
 
Apache is not a newly diagnosed cat but is new to lantus. It was fine to skip but you will quickly lower your no shot number as you gather data. If too low to shoot again tonight it might turn out to be better to find a dose you can shoot every cycle. Did he have ketones or dka when diagnosed?
 
Hi Ric, I have been watching your threads over the last few days, and just wanted to offer you a bit of comfort if I can..... Firstly, You have a lot to contend with, with the food allergies, the previous 6 months of Vetsulin, lots of big, fast BG drops, and less than a week here to suss everyone out.... and it is all scary as!:nailbiting:..... (I had it quite easy in comparison, and I found this site soon after diagnosis.)
Apache is your cat, and you need to ultimately make decisions and be comfortable with these choices, so, for what it is worth to you.... the
advice you have received just today and the eyes that are looking out for you from Wendy&Neko, Tiffmaxxee, Bandit's Mom, Bron&Sheba..... you can take this to the bank!!! These gurus have so much combined knowledge, and have been here for a long while out of love! ;). I say this to hopefully give you a little bit of peace of mind as you move forward with your new insulin, and a new treatment plan! :bookworm: You are in good hands! :joyful:
 
I have become extremely hesitant to reply to any posts that include members recommendations. Seems like when i do, i get attacked. I'm also afraid my responses may be taken the wrong way.
 
Ric, you are new to Lantus. It's OK to be cautious at first. :bighug: Try the 1.25 units for a while and see how it goes. If a person is skipping a shot because they don't feel comfy shooting it, as long as the cat is not ketone prone or recovering from DKA, it's OK to skip. Think of it as experiment. We also suggest that if someone is new and skipping shots, it's better to lower the dose so you can give two shots a day. Again as long as there are no ketones, it's OK to lower the dose so things are less "dramatic:" to start.

Once you get more comfortable with Apache's cycles on Lantus, and that takes some time, you will want to shoot those lower numbers. The lowest shot you have done so far on Lantus is 237. That's a long way from 99. And you are probably still thinking of the Vetsulin way of things. No way you'd shoot that on Vetsulin. Take your time, hopefully Apache will give you a nice high blue sometime to shoot, so you can work your way down to lower preshots. And you will also learn Apache's patterns on Lantus, which will give you the knowledge and ability to shoot lower.
 
Ric, you are new to Lantus. It's OK to be cautious at first. :bighug: Try the 1.25 units for a while and see how it goes. If a person is skipping a shot because they don't feel comfy shooting it, as long as the cat is not ketone prone or recovering from DKA, it's OK to skip. Think of it as experiment. We also suggest that if someone is new and skipping shots, it's better to lower the dose so you can give two shots a day. Again as long as there are no ketones, it's OK to lower the dose so things are less "dramatic:" to start.

Once you get more comfortable with Apache's cycles on Lantus, and that takes some time, you will want to shoot those lower numbers. The lowest shot you have done so far on Lantus is 237. That's a long way from 99. And you are probably still thinking of the Vetsulin way of things. No way you'd shoot that on Vetsulin. Take your time, hopefully Apache will give you a nice high blue sometime to shoot, so you can work your way down to lower preshots. And you will also learn Apache's patterns on Lantus, which will give you the knowledge and ability to shoot lower.
so this doesnt apply from sticky note ???
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
 
so this doesnt apply from sticky note ???
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
That is for when new to insulin. Read further though in tge sticky.
 
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
You might find it helpful to look at other member's posts and spreadsheets. For example, Lando just switched from Vetsulin to Lantus. Try to find some members who are following SLGS and see what their Lantus journey looked like in the beginning. Although Apache is her own sweet self, you will see some similarities that might give you some idea of what to expect.
 
I never used vetsulin started out with NovolinN & didn't know anything about diet & home testing. I changed to prozinc & it worked really well for my boy & then we were just stuck at a dose. So I decided to try Lantus, at first it was alot of high numbers where as your getting lower numbers & I was discouraged but my boy has chronic pancreatitis & UTIs FLUTD which infection raises his numbers. Take a look at his spreadsheet starting at the end of April beginning of May 2022 when we startedLantus. He's had high numbers low numbers & bouncing but with the guidance of the wonderful people here on the forum I stuck with Lantus & I really started watching his numbers & learned him I guess you could say. He has absolutely beautiful numbers now. I remember when I started shooting lower numbers I was scared at first as well but I knew I could test & make sure he was safe by feeding MC or HC if I needed to. Once you get used to seeing him in blues & greens & you know how his cycles look, you will be more comfortable shooting lower numbers & probably be upset when you see yellows. I know I was, now I'm like a blue what I want to see those greens!
 
Back
Top