3/9 Charlie AMPS 345, +2 274, +4 274, +6 313, +9.25 308, PMPS 324

Previous post

I feel like his numbers have steadily gotten worse since starting insulin. Am I just imagining this or is this normal/explainable?

You're doing an awesome job testing Charlie! As an outsider.. I don't see worse... I see pretty consistent average numbers that warrant a dose review -which I think you got yesterday and will be doing 2.75u in the morning and evening? I would also check carb counts for all his food.

Hope you see some safe lower action on the new dose.
 
Last edited:
Previous post

I feel like his numbers have steadily gotten worse since starting insulin. Am I just imagining this or is this normal/explainable?
His numbers look very much like a newly diagnosed kitty to me. Don't despair, you'll get to the right dose soon enough :bighug:
How is he otherwise? The 5 PS - peeing, pooping, playing, preening and purring?
Our FD cars are more than their BGs:cat:
 
As a person who admittedly has very little experience compared to most here, I agree that it doesn't look like Charlie has gotten worse, just that he's not regulated yet. I can see why it may look that way with some greens up there, and I got discouraged seeing that in my own spreadsheet, but I've noticed that looking at most other spreadsheets on here that that's fairly common. The good numbers seem to wax and wane until they narrow in on the right dose.
 
You're doing an awesome job testing Charlie! As an outsider.. I don't see worse... I see pretty consistent average numbers that warrant a dose review -which I think you got yesterday and will be doing 2.75u in the morning and evening? I would also check carb counts for all his food.

Hope you see some safe lower action on the new dose.


Thank you! And yeah, I increased yesterday and am probably on track to increase again tomorrow. (I think? I'm still a little confused with the timing, but I'll make another post here today).

I did recently check the carbs on his food--I actually called the company because I was getting different answers all over the internet. Post is here if you're interested. It's 2% carbs, but if his numbers still don't improve after the next couple of increases, I'll probably switch to something that's 0%. I've been researching all the TikiCat foods for that reason.

Thanks again!
 
Last edited:
Best of luck with the increase, hopefully when the depot fills you will see better numbers :bighug::bighug::cat:

Thank you!
His numbers look very much like a newly diagnosed kitty to me. Don't despair, you'll get to the right dose soon enough :bighug:
How is he otherwise? The 5 PS - peeing, pooping, playing, preening and purring?
Our FD cars are more than their BGs:cat:
Thank you for the gut check! His pooping schedule is an ongoing challenge he's had since diagnosis (lol) but other than that, he's normal!
 
As a person who admittedly has very little experience compared to most here, I agree that it doesn't look like Charlie has gotten worse, just that he's not regulated yet. I can see why it may look that way with some greens up there, and I got discouraged seeing that in my own spreadsheet, but I've noticed that looking at most other spreadsheets on here that that's fairly common. The good numbers seem to wax and wane until they narrow in on the right dose.
Thank you, that's good to know. I think the blues in the beginning are what's throwing me off. I keep telling myself to be patient!
 
Thank you, that's good to know. I think the blues in the beginning are what's throwing me off. I keep telling myself to be patient!

It is really hard to accept that it looked better and then looked worse! I totally get it. I'm still having trouble being patient lol But it might help to look at some other people's spreadsheets, going back to the beginning. There are some that are, of course, quickly regulated but I feel like most look more like ours.
 
Back
Top