4/10 Charlie AMPS 124, +1 113, +2 99, +3 90, +4 88, +5 100, +6.75 122, +9 146, PMPS 187

Charlie'sMom22

Active Member
Yesterday's post

I'm sorry to be such a pain, I'm once again very nervous to shoot this number. He's just on such a big dose I'm worried it's going to drop him too low. I thought he would've come up to at least 200 by now. Should I shoot a reduced dose?

I also received an email from the vet saying she's concerned that his dose is too high and he's having somogyi effect, so now I'm all confused. And sleep deprived :blackeye:
 
Last edited:
If you can monitor, please give the full shot? I know it's scary to shoot lower numbers at first, but you'll soon realize how simple and easy it is with time. All of us have been petrified at first but routinely shot green after.

It's possible that this will be a breakthrough dose for him and that he'll zoom down the dosing ladder. But you won't know till you keep doing what you've been doing and help him stay in good numbers.

You have tested enough to see how low reach dose is taking him and you have increased the dose systematically so you don't bypass a good dose.
 
If you can monitor, please give the full shot? I know it's scary to shoot lower numbers at first, but you'll soon realize how simple and easy it is with time. All of us have been petrified at first but routinely shot green after.

It's possible that this will be a breakthrough dose for him and that he'll zoom down the dosing ladder. But you won't know till you keep doing what you've been doing and help him stay in good numbers.

You have tested enough to see how low reach dose is taking him and you have increased the dose systematically so you don't bypass a good dose.
Thank you Bhooma. I did it. It was about a half hour late. I'll plan to shoot 15min late tonight to get him back on schedule? I'm definitely petrified, haha. I'll test him and feed a little LC every hour. I have MC food and some karo syrup at the ready if needed.

So I can be prepared--how do I know if I need to give him MC food rather than his regular LC food?

As for the vet, I may just wait until Monday to respond to them. I'm not firing on all cylinders right now lol. She suggested I bring him in to have the libre CGM put on so I can catch these "lows" she thinks he's having, which I've already told her I don't want to do. Charlie would hate that thing. I thought I was doing a pretty good job with testing, so I'm not sure where she even thinks these lows are happening.
 
Big day for you! Great job shooting through your fear and keeping him safe with testing and snacks. Lots of snacks will be had :) Certainly looks to be his breakthrough dose!

:bighug::cat::bighug:
omg when I tell you I had tears in my eyes and my hands were shaking I was so scared. TR is not for the faint of heart :joyful::confused: I'll be stuffing him full of food like a thanksgiving turkey today :joyful::joyful: (well, not really but ykwim)
 
Thank you Bhooma. I did it.
Yay! You did it!



Thank you Bhooma. I did it. It was about a half hour late. I'll plan to shoot 15min late tonight to get him back on schedule?
You can shoot at your usual time tonight which would be 11.5 hours after the AM shot. A difference of 30 mins is fine.


So I can be prepared--how do I know if I need to give him MC food rather than his regular LC food?
Be guided by how steep the drops are. If the curve is a gentle one, just LC is fine. Give him a small snack at +1 and get a +2.
 
Yay! You did it!




You can shoot at your usual time tonight which would be 11.5 hours after the AM shot. A difference of 30 mins is fine.



Be guided by how steep the drops are. If the curve is a gentle one, just LC is fine. Give him a small snack at +1 and get a +2.


Thank you both so so much. I'll update shortly
 
No food bump at +1. Interesting. Will he dip his toes in green at +2? :-)

Did he eat a snack at +1?

What carb % do you have in MC and HC?
 
No food bump at +1. Interesting. Will he dip his toes in green at +2? :)

Did he eat a snack at +1?

What carb % do you have in MC and HC?

I've had a feeling he doesn't really get food bumps. He got a snack at +1 (a couple spoonfuls of LC), and he's playing with his treat ball right now.

His MC food is NV minced chicken. Dr. Pearson's chart says it's 15%, but the carb calculator says it's 19%, so I'm not really sure which it is. I don't have anything higher than that. His regular food is 2% (carb calc and verified with the company. Dr. Pearson's chart says 7%).
 
I've had a feeling he doesn't really get food bumps. He got a snack at +1 (a couple spoonfuls of LC), and he's playing with his treat ball right now.

His MC food is NV minced chicken. Dr. Pearson's chart says it's 15%, but the carb calculator says it's 19%, so I'm not really sure which it is. I don't have anything higher than that. His regular food is 2% (carb calc and verified with the company. Dr. Pearson's chart says 7%).
Do you have any old kibble by chance?
 
I also have a couple cans of FF Gravy Lover's Chicken Hearts & Liver (15%) and yes, some old kibble Instinct Original Salmon kibble. I REALLY try to avoid feeding dry as he's never eaten it in his life except maybe once and he started to become addicted to it immefiately lol. Juist checked on the carb calc and that's 31% carbs
Yes, we absolutely don't want to feed kibble. But I think you have what you need for emergency carbs.
 
I just ordered some Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup which Wendy had receommended, it's ~22%. That way I'll have a for-sure HC wet food option. It arrives tomorrow supposedly
 
You're doing great! I know it's a nerve wracking... :bighug::bighug: Curious to see his +2. And I love that he has a treat ball!
 
I just looked at your chart again - hadn't realized it is his very first green. What a moment, I'm so happy for you and Charlie :)

Safe surfing now. I'm online this evening, so will be watching his progress!
Thank you so much! I'm excited and celebrating but also SO tired. Will I be able to catch up on sleep at some point soon? :blackeye: Maybe I can sneak a nap in after +4 or +6?
 
Your days of sleeping are probably over. Hope you enjoyed them while they lasted! ;)
Oof. I was worried you might say that. I may have to consider switching to SLGS depending on how things go. I was stretched too thin as it was before this--I have a hard time taking care of myseld and pretty much survive on protein shakes as it is. I don't know if I can handle not getting enough sleep for a prolonged period on top of that. But let's see how far I can push myself I guess. Maybe my sleep schedule will adapt

Just tested for +3 and he's at 90
 
Congratulations on that green! Those greens are healing numbers!
Thank you! I've been meaning to look more into this and learn about it. What exactly is healing? Does that mean it's healing his beta cells so he can start producing and using insulin on his own?
 
Thank you! I've been meaning to look more into this and learn about it. What exactly is healing? Does that mean it's healing his beta cells so he can start producing and using insulin on his own?
Yes, his beta cells in his pancreas can heal! I'll see if I can find the write-up on this and send it. That's what remission is--a cat's pancreas has healed and is performing adequately.
 
Woohoo! Go Charlie! Look at him surfing like a pro! :D:D:D

upload_2025-4-10_12-49-54.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-10_12-49-54.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-10_12-49-54.jpeg
    11.3 KB · Views: 102
Woohoo! Steady as she goes Charlie. :D:D:D I'm glad Christie found a surfing image for inspiration. I was just browsing Charlie's SS and saw the excitement so had to pop in and say way to go. Soon enough you'll get another reward for shooting your first green.:cool:

Remember that Lantus does a great job at keeping low preshots nice and flat and low. The size of dose doesn't matter, it's the BG numbers that are important. FWIW, I once shot Neko at a PS of 51 at 6.0 units. She went up but stayed green all cycle.

A couple things to keep in mind. What do cat do when they see normal numbers for the first time in ages? I don't want to say the B word, but it's possible you might get sleep tonight.

If he's an acro, his pancreas might be working just fine.
 
Remember that Lantus does a great job at keeping low preshots nice and flat and low. The size of dose doesn't matter, it's the BG numbers that are important. FWIW, I once shot Neko at a PS of 51 at 6.0 units. She went up but stayed green all cycle.

Thanks for stopping by, and for reiterating this! Shoot low to stay low, I keep telling myself that. What I'm fixating on though (and worrying about) is why the size of the dose doesn't matter. Does the body just know how to allocate it? Like you told me before, insulin is a hormone, not a drug--I assume that has something to do with it. I just can't wrap my brain around why it can sometimes drop him 150 points and then other times keep him surfing, and that freaks me out.

In any case, that's super helpful to know about Neko. I was just worrying how the heck I'm going to handle shooting green on such a whopper of a dose. Scary stuff!
 
Thanks for stopping by, and for reiterating this! Shoot low to stay low, I keep telling myself that. What I'm fixating on though (and worrying about) is why the size of the dose doesn't matter. Does the body just know how to allocate it? Like you told me before, insulin is a hormone, not a drug--I assume that has something to do with it. I just can't wrap my brain around why it can sometimes drop him 150 points and then other times keep him surfing, and that freaks me out.

In any case, that's super helpful to know about Neko. I was just worrying how the heck I'm going to handle shooting green on such a whopper of a dose. Scary stuff!
For confidence in shooting large doses in the greens, look at @MinnerPip's spreadsheet and @bluesunshine's. There are others too, but these come to mind.
 
Last edited:
For another perspective ;), a cat with acro and probably IAA (couldn't test cause in France), check out Crystal's SS. Her caregiver Suki earned those balls of steel, shooting 60 units at green preshots. As a concession, she reduced additional R dose from 22 to 11 units. :eek: Note, I think in my time here I've seen maybe just two cats here getting 80 total units of insulin per cycle. So not common. But a case of "a cat needs however much insulin they need".
 
Back
Top