4/17 Esse AMPS 493, +4 193, PMPS 275

We've tried to test him 5 times so far and only been successful twice. He's so squirrely and active when he's hungry, i.e. after being fasted for 2 hs. pre-meal/shot! Can't imagine how so many of you do this by yourselves, it takes two of us just to corral him in one spot. But this morning's attempt was the quickest/most painless so far, so hopefully it'll continue to get easier. Any anecdotal experience about progress on testing welcome...

I am curious about how long after starting insulin it would be normal to start seeing improvement in symptoms. His only real symptoms before (that we noticed) were polydipsia/polyuria, and today's litter box output was very normal for his old self! But that must be a fluke, right?

I know we should be getting some mid-cycle spot checks, but it's hard to make myself stress him out again so soon. He's the only cat I've ever had who purrs as a stress response. :( But we'll try today!

PXL_20250415_030956115.PORTRAIT.jpg

(The peaceful sleep of a guy who's done being poked and prodded for the day.)
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20250415_030956115.PORTRAIT.jpg
    PXL_20250415_030956115.PORTRAIT.jpg
    48.5 KB · Views: 67
We've tried to test him 5 times so far and only been successful twice. He's so squirrely and active when he's hungry, i.e. after being fasted for 2 hs. pre-meal/shot! Can't imagine how so many of you do this by yourselves, it takes two of us just to corral him in one spot. But this morning's attempt was the quickest/most painless so far, so hopefully it'll continue to get easier. Any anecdotal experience about progress on testing welcome...

I am curious about how long after starting insulin it would be normal to start seeing improvement in symptoms. His only real symptoms before (that we noticed) were polydipsia/polyuria, and today's litter box output was very normal for his old self! But that must be a fluke, right?

I know we should be getting some mid-cycle spot checks, but it's hard to make myself stress him out again so soon. He's the only cat I've ever had who purrs as a stress response. :( But we'll try today!

View attachment 73592
(The peaceful sleep of a guy who's done being poked and prodded for the day.)
HI Lauren and welcome to you and Esse, he's very handsome!
It will take a little time for you to see some improvement, but not that long. You will see his numbers begin to lower now that he's on insulin. And the PU/PD will become better. You will tell by his output in his litter box.

The beginning is tough, with you and he getting used to testing and the routines. Hopefully he will become more cooperative as you go along. Is he a relaxed kind of kitty?
You can try to train him with testing by giving low carb treats at test times (even if it's a failed attempt), then most kitties get the hang of being tested. Some even don't mind the routine.

Hopefully over time, it will only take one of you to be able to test Esse. Things do get better, it's a lot to learn in the beginning and everyone is overwhelmed and stressed. And we have all been there. Keep asking questions and post so we can get to know you and Esse so we can help you.

Wishing you all the best. You're in a good place now that you've come here. We have lots of great helpers at all times!:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Lauren! Welcome to the LLB forum!

Here is a sticky on testing: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/#post-1665. It takes some practice to get into the swing of things with testing. Once you get more comfortable with the process, you'll likely move more quickly, and that will help matters. Also, when first starting testing, it takes some time for the ear to bleed easily (so sometimes you're making multiple pokes); that gets better and easier over time and with practice. Are you warming his ear before the poke? Are you offering LC treats when testing? Especially after the test (provided you don't need to stall, that is). Once he comes to associate the test with a treat, that can help create a calmer test experience. And the good part of the higher numbers right now is that you likely won't need to stall the shot because of lower numbers--that gives you a little bit of time to give those treats right after testing and start training him to see the test as a good thing.

In terms of symptoms being eliminated after starting insulin, I hope someone else will weigh in--Jude doesn't have symptoms unless he is very, very high--like when he was initially diagnosed. Once he started insulin, it took about two days for those symptoms to disappear, and they've not returned. I think this is an every cat is different (ECID) thing.

It sounds like you've already been reading the stickies on the forum, but this one is particularly helpful related to dosing: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/. What you're doing with testing right now is checking prior to his shot what his bg is (to ensure his bg has not dropped too low to receive insulin), so always test before every insulin shot (the pre-shot test). But, at the very beginning of being diagnosed (and even as you continue treating his diabetes), you're also building data on your sugar sheet that will show you how Esse is working the insulin. This information will guide you in a number of ways, but specifically in knowing when to take reductions and make increases in dosage. Since you are following SLGS, the sticky says to perform a curve after remaining on a dose a week. In terms of when and how frequently it is ideal to test when you're following SLGS, I'll tag someone more qualified to answer that question: @Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee.

Finally, in terms of forum housekeeping, I notice you have your initial or intro post in the signature, and that's fine. What you'll want to do each time you post on the forum is copy the URL for the previous day that you posted and place it at the top of the that current day's post. That way forum experts will have continuous links, posted daily in the same place, to look back at Esse's progress when they need to offer you guidance.

Begin looking at others' spreadsheets--you'll learn so much just doing that. And ask questions.

Esse is so beautiful! We are sorry you need to be here, but glad to have you.
 
What a beautiful boy Esse is!
Testing gets so much easier with practice. I recommend giving him a treat (low carb) every time you test, regardless of whether it you are successful or not. Maybe even before and after to start. It should help motivate him to sit still for the few seconds :)

Food takes about 15 to 20 mins to affect the BG, so if all else fails you can let him have some food and then quickly do his BG.

Every cat is different of course, but in time you are very likely to develop a test, feed, shoot routine that takes just a few minutes. There is so much to learn in the beginning it will take a little time. Good luck :cat:
 
Thanks, all three of you!! I think you are all correct that the treats will be the key. We have some 'high value' treats he really loves that are just single pieces of cooked chicken or tuna so we've been doing those as soon as testing time is over. We did manage to get a mid-cycle value today, so that was exciting! And it was easier even than this morning, although I'm sure part of that was that he was sleepy. :)

I wouldn't describe him as relaxed per se, he's pretty chill with the two of us generally but only wants to be handled on his own terms--although don't they all, lol--and can be sensitive about hands in his face. So it'll be great when we can come to an understanding that we won't have to hold him in one place (even as gently as we try to) if he cooperates.

Really good to know about the 15-20 minute 'offset' after eating, will keep that in mind!
 
Hello and welcome, Lauren and Esse! You've got such a handsome boy!

I can't give much advice in the testing department aside from pointing to the same stickies because my case has been an unusual one, but it sounds like you're already doing great and improving, so go you!
 
Welcome to LBL :-)

Here is a post with some other testing tips:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

Testing gets easier with time and practice. Very often the CG is more stressed than the cat! The edge of the ear has fewer nerve endings and therefore doesn't hurt the cat. But cats do feed off any anxiety or stress they sense in their humans! :)

You will see excessive urination and thirst when the BG is over the renal threshold (the BG level over which the kidneys expel sugar through the urine). This can vary from cat to cat. It's usually between 200-250. If he is isn't spending too much time over this level, you might not see the symptoms.

Link to your previous post on the Main forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-esse-with-questions-answered.300078/
 
Have plenty of patience and low carb treats :bighug: Tip on the treats: buy freeze dried treats for dogs instead of cats. The bag is larger and the treats are larger but easily broken up into smaller cat-sized pieces. So you get like three times the amount of treats for not much more than a cat sized bag :) I use Northwest Naturals https://www.nw-naturals.net/product/freeze-dried-treats/

Leroy is now at the point where he comes running when he hears me unzip the case I keep his testing supplies in :D Unless he's sleeping and doesn't want to move. He was easy to test right away. He has never minded me poking and prodding his body. Sometimes he asks to be tested because he wants a treat :p My first diabetic was quick to learn to hold still for testing.
 
Welcome to LBL :)

Here is a post with some other testing tips:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

Testing gets easier with time and practice. Very often the CG is more stressed than the cat! The edge of the ear has fewer nerve endings and therefore doesn't hurt the cat. But cats do feed off any anxiety or stress they sense in their humans! :)

You will see excessive urination and thirst when the BG is over the renal threshold (the BG level over which the kidneys expel sugar through the urine). This can vary from cat to cat. It's usually between 200-250. If he is isn't spending too much time over this level, you might not see the symptoms.

Link to your previous post on the Main forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-esse-with-questions-answered.300078/
Bhooma, On SLGS, how frequently should she be testing him (outside the preshots), and when?
 
Welcome Lauren and Esse! Esse is a very handsome boy! ❤️

I hadn't seen some of these before, thank you!
Yes, prepare to do some reading, lots of reading. At some point you will think you have read everything, but the reading never stops. Which is a good thing, because that means this community has a boundless supply of information and resources to help you and Esse!
 
Back
Top