4/18 Esse +2 256 PMPS 163 - Unsure if we should shoot for PM?

Hi Lauren, Sorry the going is still a bit rough with the testing. I promise it will get easier--hang in there! Are you using cotton pads beneath the ear? I stack two of those flat round ones and place them below the ear to prevent the lancet from poking through.

What size lancets are you using? Here is a post from one of our forum experts discussing this:
What size lancets do you have?
Size 26 or 28 so best for new members as they are bigger and will give you more blood.
Also you can change the depth of the prick by the dial on the side of the lancing device.
It could take a few day for you to both have success so don’t let that get your down. Very few of us have immediate success [...] Try taking Lucy to the testing spot, rub her ears and give her a treat. Do this several times without testing.
You will get there, I promise….

It's nice to see that he had a BLUE yesterday! That's really good! That was a significant drop from the AMPS number. You're starting to see a bit about how Esse is working the insulin. Typically, Lantus has a two-hour onset after injection. +1 and +2 tests can signal what is going to happen in that cycle. If kitty is going up (at +1 and +2), following the PS, then you can assume they will begin dropping from +2 as the insulin begins working. If they are dropping at +1 and +2 after the PS, they will likely continue to drop at onset of the insulin. That information helps us know if we need to begin offering carbs earlier in the cycle to keep them from dropping too rapidly and significantly, which can lead to bouncing. A mid-cycle test can help you begin to locate his nadir.

Since he's already responding to the insulin, I'm curious if you're seeing any changes in his symptoms? I know you had asked about that yesterday.

Also, did you perform a AMPS this morning? I don't see that number posted.

Wishing you a lovely day with safe surfs for Esse!
 
@Marielle

I *tried* to get an AMPS. :( I'm still working on my technique with holding the cat, the lancet, and the cotton pad. Thankfully I had read someone mentioning I could collect the blood on a clean fingernail instead of directly onto the test strip/meter--if it weren't for that tip I'd probably have zero results. I don't even think it's the ear pricking he objects to, it's being held still and having his ears fussed with. So by the point that he's growling at us and trying to climb me/the wall, I figure we have to give him a break (and a piece of chicken as a reward), even if it's not ideal. Helen mentioned yesterday that I could try him for a test at the beginning of his meal, but he's only *just* tolerating the 'tenting' for the insulin syringe, so I didn't want to risk it. It's a size 28 lancet. We will keep trying though!

Re: symptoms -- litter box "results" this morning were more like what we've been seeing in the last few months (4 large pees), so maybe what I found yesterday morning (2 normal pees) was a fluke. I will say that he seemed less hungry today than usual, though he still ate enough when he did eat, so possibly that's a change. Typically he grazes a few times during the day but today it was more of a breakfast and lunch situation.

Thank you for checking in!
 
@Marielle

I *tried* to get an AMPS. :( I'm still working on my technique with holding the cat, the lancet, and the cotton pad. Thankfully I had read someone mentioning I could collect the blood on a clean fingernail instead of directly onto the test strip/meter--if it weren't for that tip I'd probably have zero results. I don't even think it's the ear pricking he objects to, it's being held still and having his ears fussed with. So by the point that he's growling at us and trying to climb me/the wall, I figure we have to give him a break (and a piece of chicken as a reward), even if it's not ideal. Helen mentioned yesterday that I could try him for a test at the beginning of his meal, but he's only *just* tolerating the 'tenting' for the insulin syringe, so I didn't want to risk it. It's a size 28 lancet. We will keep trying though!

Re: symptoms -- litter box "results" this morning were more like what we've been seeing in the last few months (4 large pees), so maybe what I found yesterday morning (2 normal pees) was a fluke. I will say that he seemed less hungry today than usual, though he still ate enough when he did eat, so possibly that's a change. Typically he grazes a few times during the day but today it was more of a breakfast and lunch situation.

Thank you for checking in!

That all sounds SUPER frustrating! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It really can be a learning curve in the beginning, and every cat is different in terms of testing. Some people end up with the CGMs because it's impossible to test their cats using a handheld monitor. Hopefully, you'll begin to develop a routine and Esse will begin to relax with the experience. The reason I asked about the AMPS is that I'm trying to read your data on the spreadsheet, and I noticed it was missing--I wasn't sure if you forgot to add it or what. If you are unable to get data, simply note it in your comment section of your spreadsheet. I assume there is probably a notation to put in the spreadsheet cell when you cannot get a test, but I don't know what that is. @Staci & Ivy or @Tim & Pookey, do you know? Definitely put it in the comment section, though. That data really helps the senior members here who might need to weigh in and help you from time to time. It saves them time when they look at the spreadsheet to see what is currently and has been happening.

I'm glad he's showing a little improvement, Lauren! That's a good sign.

You're doing your very best for him right now, and things will begin to go more smoothly as you become more used to the process!
 
Thanks Mary and Tim -- I added a comment in the Remarks section for the AMPS (or lack thereof).

I am very surprised to see that for his PMPS he's at 163? Should we skip, or have him eat something and see if we can get another test?
 
Thanks Mary and Tim -- I added a comment in the Remarks section for the AMPS (or lack thereof).

I am very surprised to see that for his PMPS he's at 163? Should we skip, or have him eat something and see if we can get another test?
Very nice preshot! I can't offer dosing advice. Do this: put your "?" up in the title and write the words "need immediate dosing advice" in the title.

When are you scheduled to shoot?

@Angela & Cleo, @tiffmaxee, @Bandit's Mom
 
The experienced folks will ask if you have the supplies (high carb food, syrup/honey) and if you’re able to monitor tonight. Assuming yes to these?
 
Yes, I saw that in SLGS you have ~options~ if you're in the 150-200 range this early on without much data. We do have med/high carb food (FF gravy) and treats, plus glucose gel/honey. 9pm is our PM shot time (it's 9:18 now) and while we will be home and have all the supplies, I'm hesitant to put us in a risky situation so early, if that makes sense? Unless there's some major likelihood of complication if we DON'T give the dose?

And no known ketone history (added to SS).
 
Also, you can post on the main forum and pose this question over there. Just be sure to link today's post (the URL) to your post. Sometimes there are more "eyes" over there.
 
Ah, I see, that makes sense! Thanks for hanging with me while I think through it.
And here is something to consider in your decision: what would happen if you shoot is that someone with more experience would weigh in, and they would walk you through the cycle, guiding you, and you would need to be testing him on a frequent basis (like, hourly) to determine what his bg is, to ensure he doesn't go too low. If he approaches going too low, they will instruct you to use certain carb-valued food to boost his bg.
 
Back
Top