4/19 Brian +11 59, PMPs +1 70

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nate2021, Apr 18, 2021.

  1. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s hard to say. Test again in 30 minutes. Do you have 15-20%?
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  3. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    yep I have some 20%. Just still worried it won't do enough if it comes to it
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Let’s see the next test. Do you have any higher carb if needed? Honey or Karo syrup?
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  5. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Good to see a pic of your pretty boy. I hope you can get a handle on the shots. I am too new to advise anything. How are his clinical signs? Eating well, not urinating too much nor drinking a lot of water? What about his personality? Does he seem happy and feeling well? Does he have energy?
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  6. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Do have honey yup. He's up to 61 40mins after last test and a whole can of 10%
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  7. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Thank you :) not drinking much water or urinating much. He seems fine, he's had a wander around and now gone back to sleep but that's fairly typical
     
    Summer and Susie (GA) likes this.
  8. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Question... Maybe hard to answer, but how do you know if your cat would have gone under 50 if you've fed high carb? Should I assume Brian would have gone under 50 without the can of ff 20%?
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There is no way to know but the carbs will wear off. If a cat needs a reduction he will go under 50 even with hc. I'd test again soon.
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  10. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Really good info to know cheers! Looks like he's on the way up, the HC should have been wearing off by now based on the other cycles so I'm thinking maybe the depot is finally worn off enough to see what this new lower dose will do, that or bouncing I guess. Thanks!
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You were right to be alert when the +3 dropped lower to 59. I don’t know if anyone mentioned that the +2 is often an indication of whether the cycle will be active as that’s when most cats onset. So if it’s lower than the AMPS or PMPS you want to test more often. Once he starts back up from a number under 60 or flattens out you want to make sure he stays up without food for two hours.
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  12. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Thank you for confirming that, I didn't realise specifically, but knew he drops again later and that drop in the first few hours usually meant there would be movement!
     
  13. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Not too sure what to think with the cycle today
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like another skip!
     
  15. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    thank you got confirming. This cat is driving me crazy! Thanks :)
     
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    he is on a mission! :D
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How long til PMPS?
     
    Nate2021 likes this.
  18. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    15 minutes, about to check again
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    When did he eat last and what?
     
  20. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Dropped to 52 for PMPS
     
  21. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    He ate a whole can of LC ff at +9.5
     
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think you need to skip this dose and take another reduction in the morning (next dose),down to 2 units.
    52 is not quite a reduction but with his recent history and the fact you have fed 20% carbs this cycle I think it is the best and safest plan
    Are you comfortable with that.?
     
    Nate2021 and Bandit's Mom like this.
  23. Nate2021

    Nate2021 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Yep perfect. Exactly what you've said, all things considered I think too much insulin on board. Cheers for the help
     

Share This Page