4/2/22 - keykey - AMPS 226

keykey

Member Since 2022
Previous Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-1-22-keykey-amps-498.261436/

Hey awesome wonderful helpful people! Just checking in with my cat and her numbers today.

This morning her AMPS was 226. I gave another shot of 0.5u. +2 was 202, +5 was 106, so she's coming down.

I'm running out of test strips (only have 7 left), so I'm trying to moderate how often I'm testing. The meter and strips my mother bought me are manufactured in England (just found that out this morning,) so it'll take like 2 weeks before new strips arrive.

I'm going to go to Walmart later today and pick up that ReliOn meter that's been suggested to me. If I understand this correctly, that's a human meter so it'll have numbers that are slightly different to what I'm getting used to now, correct? I'll have to use a different spreadsheet for this ReliOn meter, right?

Thanks again for everyone's help, you all are truly amazing people.
 
Previous Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-1-22-keykey-amps-498.261436/

Hey awesome wonderful helpful people! Just checking in with my cat and her numbers today.

This morning her AMPS was 226. I gave another shot of 0.5u. +2 was 202, +5 was 106, so she's coming down.

I'm running out of test strips (only have 7 left), so I'm trying to moderate how often I'm testing. The meter and strips my mother bought me are manufactured in England (just found that out this morning,) so it'll take like 2 weeks before new strips arrive.

I'm going to go to Walmart later today and pick up that ReliOn meter that's been suggested to me. If I understand this correctly, that's a human meter so it'll have numbers that are slightly different to what I'm getting used to now, correct? I'll have to use a different spreadsheet for this ReliOn meter, right?

Thanks again for everyone's help, you all are truly amazing people.
Those numbers are pretty much perfect!

No you can keep the same spreadsheet, I'll tag @Bandit's Mom to assist with the conversion. It may end up being easier to start new but she'll know best
 
Those numbers are pretty much perfect!

No you can keep the same spreadsheet, I'll tag @Bandit's Mom to assist with the conversion. It may end up being easier to start new but she'll know best
upload_2022-4-2_20-19-24.png

I just picked this one up from the store. I believe this is the one you were talking about, the premier right? Is there a stick or a conversion chart I could reference? The numbers I'd get off of this thing would mean something different right?

I found a thread here from like 2013, but what I'm getting from it is basically "don't bother"??
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/human-glucose-meter-conversion.184773/
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-2_20-18-50.png
    upload_2022-4-2_20-18-50.png
    537.4 KB · Views: 120
  • upload_2022-4-2_20-19-24.png
    upload_2022-4-2_20-19-24.png
    537.4 KB · Views: 116
So I'm at 132 for her PMPS. I only have 4 testing strips left of the pet glucose meter. Can anyone advise me on what would be the best course to take tonight in terms of dosing? I'm still only really working off of what I've been told here.
 
So I'm at 132 for her PMPS. I only have 4 testing strips left of the pet glucose meter. Can anyone advise me on what would be the best course to take tonight in terms of dosing? I'm still only really working off of what I've been told here.
Did you feed yet? Test again in 20 mins from last test

Now this is where the dosing method does matter. If you did not feed and the next test is flat or rising, we'll advise you to shoot full dose with TR- but it will be some extra testing tonight. With SLGS we'd advise a smaller dose like 0.1-0.25U (as best you can manage - just something definitely smaller than the 0.5U you've been drawing up).

The strips don't matter because you can just use the ReliOn you bought (no there is no conversion, just for now note any tests with the ReliOn as "XXX human meter"). They don't really mean anything different, the human meter just will likely read a little bit lower
 
Last edited:
If you are uncomfortable shooting the full 0.5U dose my advice is this - choose SLGS until you get more settled. And I would reduce the dose to 0.25U to give you something you can consistently shoot AM and PM without the stalls and skips
 
If you are uncomfortable shooting the full 0.5U dose my advice is this - choose SLGS until you get more settled. And I would reduce the dose to 0.25U to give you something you can consistently shoot AM and PM without the stalls and skips
I tested that PMPS 132, and then I gave her food. She's still eating, intermittently. I'm a little nervous shooting the 0.5u with only 4 test strips of the meter I'm used to (3 really, because i'll test her again after eating and before the shot). I think I'll follow your advise with SLGS until I get settled. I'm having so many variables all at once (dosing, syringes, different meters). The moment I'm starting to feel comfortable with one aspect, another enters the equation.

Question: since my syringe doesn't have measuring units until it's at 0.5u, what would you say is around 0.25u on this syringe? Do you think that would be right around the bottom of that thick black line just above where the 0.5u line begins?

upload_2022-4-2_21-35-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-2_21-35-1.png
    upload_2022-4-2_21-35-1.png
    317.4 KB · Views: 112
Ok test again anyway now please and let me know where she's at. I just want to make sure we're not shooting a dropping number (I can make the inference based on the two tests and knowing she had food, I don't think she will be since she nadired earlier today it seems).

Yes, I would say 0.25U is the plunger lined up at the top of the thick black line. Open my spreadsheet, 2022 tab, cell D19. I marked up the image with how I would place the plunger, hope it makes sense
 
Ok test again anyway now please and let me know where she's at. I just want to make sure we're not shooting a dropping number (I can make the inference based on the two tests and knowing she had food, I don't think she will be since she nadired earlier today it seems).

Yes, I would say 0.25U is the plunger lined up at the top of the thick black line. Open my spreadsheet, 2022 tab, cell D19. I marked up the image with how I would place the plunger, hope it makes sense
I just got 148, about half an hour after that 132 test. She's eaten just under half a can of fancy feast classic now with that most recent reading.

Thanks for that markup, that's what I thought it might be. I appreciate the reassurance.
 
I just got 148, about half an hour after that 132 test. She's eaten just under half a can of fancy feast classic now with that most recent reading.

Thanks for that markup, that's what I thought it might be. I appreciate the reassurance.
Ok yes I would go with the 0.25U. start with a +2, I do need to get to bed but the night crew should be around shortly I imagine
 
Ok yes I would go with the 0.25U. start with a +2, I do need to get to bed but the night crew should be around shortly I imagine
Thank you so much for your help, you're the best!

I'll do +2 readings till I run out of strips. That should get me to around when I go to sleep, and tomorrow I'll start with that RemiOne meter/strips.
 
Hi Will On your previous post I posted a Pic of the Relion Syringes from Walmart U-100 with half unit markings to make it easier for you it the ounces from ADW
Unless you want to use up the ones you have now

Also when you switch to the Relion meter please note that in your signature such as Relion meter as of 4-3. Also up top on your spreadsheet where you have listed the pet meter
When you start using the Relion on 4-3 make a blank line above that and type Switched to Relion

The color coding for human meters, the only things you have to change is the dark green cell up top to read 50-99 and the neon green to BG<50

If you have trouble doing any of the changes let us know we can have Bhooma do it for you
 
Hi Will On your previous post I posted a Pic of the Relion Syringes from Walmart U-100 with half unit markings to make it easier for you it the ounces from ADW
Unless you want to use up the ones you have now

Also when you switch to the Relion meter please note that in your signature such as Relion meter as of 4-3. Also up top on your spreadsheet where you have listed the pet meter
When you start using the Relion on 4-3 make a blank line above that and type Switched to Relion

The color coding for human meters, the only things you have to change is the dark green cell up top to read 50-99 and the neon green to BG<50

If you have trouble doing any of the changes let us know we can have Bhooma do it for you
Thanks for explaining that for me. Yeah that makes sense to label everything if I'm changing the meter so that everyone can tell what they're looking at.
I'll be updating everything tomorrow afternoon after I complete and submit my online coursework for school.

I'll definitely look into the relion syringes from walmart, but yeah I need to use the ones I have. It's hard to justify buying more syringes, when I'm running low on money and have like, 60 or 70 left of these ones I've already bought. But yeah once I use them up I'll definitely make the switch. Now that I know what I'm looking for I can be much more discerning when purchasing these items.
 
Hi, you don't need to set up a new spreadsheet. The existing spreadsheet can be modified once you switch to a human meter. Let me know when you make the switch and I will make the changes in the SS for you. There is no conversion between pet meter readings and human meter ones. Human meters read lower. The difference is not much in lower numbers but can be in 100s of points at very high numbers (over 400).

You don't get syringes that measure 0.25U. We use syringes with half unit marking which is what you have. 0.25U is half way to the 0.5U mark. So 1.25 U would be halfway between 1U and 1.5U. This stick has pics:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Is this Keykey's 4th day on Glargine? Considering how well he is doing (despite skips) and that it take a week for the Lantus depot to build, I'm wondering if you need to go down to 0.25U. You want a dose you can consistently shoot twice a day.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation.
 
Hi, you don't need to set up a new spreadsheet. The existing spreadsheet can be modified once you switch to a human meter. Let me know when you make the switch and I will make the changes in the SS for you. There is no conversion between pet meter readings and human meter ones. Human meters read lower. The difference is not much in lower numbers but can be in 100s of points at very high numbers (over 400).

You don't get syringes that measure 0.25U. We use syringes with half unit marking which is what you have. 0.25U is half way to the 0.5U mark. So 1.25 U would be halfway between 1U and 1.5U. This stick has pics:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Is this Keykey's 4th day on Glargine? Considering how well he is doing (despite skips) and that it take a week for the Lantus depot to build, I'm wondering if you need to go down to 0.25U. You want a dose you can consistently shoot twice a day.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation.
No, she's been on insulin for just over a week now. Her first shot was on the 25th. I need to go back in and update that information in my spreadsheet. I didn't have a meter to test with until this past Wednesday (the 30th) and that's when I started the spreadsheet.
 
No, she's been on insulin for just over a week now. Her first shot was on the 25th. I need to go back in and update that information in my spreadsheet. I didn't have a meter to test with until this past Wednesday (the 30th) and that's when I started the spreadsheet.
Ah OK. In that case, could you just put in the number of units she was given from the 25th to the 29th in the SS?

And if you will share the link you use to update the SS, I will make changes required for a switch to the ReliOn from tomorrow.

@tiffmaxee stay with 0.50U till a reduction is earned?
 
Ah OK. In that case, could you just put in the number of units she was given from the 25th to the 29th in the SS?

And if you will share the link you use to update the SS, I will make changes required for a switch to the ReliOn from tomorrow.

@tiffmaxee stay with 0.50U till a reduction is earned?
Is there any way to see specific time stamps on posts that are older than a week? I'm trying to discern exactly when I gave her her first shot, but my first thread on this website doesn't have the time stamps, so I'm kind of lost on the timeline of events.

*EDIT: Nevermind, I remembered I get the email alerts and was able to figure out the time from that. Working on updating the spreadsheet.
 
Is there any way to see specific time stamps on posts that are older than a week? I'm trying to discern exactly when I gave her her first shot, but my first thread on this website doesn't have the time stamps, so I'm kind of lost on the timeline of events.
I don't think there is a way to do that. You don't need the time of the shot. Just the number of units given in the AM and PM is fine. This is just so we don't think that he started Lantus on the 30th.
 
I don't think there is a way to do that. You don't need the time of the shot. Just the number of units given in the AM and PM is fine. This is just so we don't think that he started Lantus on the 30th.

Alright, it's updated now to reflect what I was doing.

My vet really sent me out completely uninformed. They told me to give 2 units twice daily (they also sent me out with u40 syringes and 100 insulin, a mistake I learned of and caught before ever giving a shot, thank God!)

I came to this site right after giving my first shot of 2u, and I was told to lower that down to 1U. I didn't have a meter, or the money to buy one (all my money went to the vet, insulin, new food, and syringes), so my mother graciously bought me a meter...which shipped from England. So I had to wait those days without a meter while I was giving 1 unit dosages.

Once I began testing I was advised to drop it down to 0.5u. That first day I had some pretty big ups and down with the testing. I'm inclined to believe what @FrostD told me at the time, they were probably errors, either on the meter's part or on my part using the meter. The last two days look much more stable.
 
Thanks! I can see the data now. At 2U twice a day, you would have had a serious hypoglycemic situation on your hands! :confused:
I don't know why vets don't recommend home testing!

Btw, please send me the link you to use to edit the SS so I can make the change to human meter from tomorrow?
 
Back
Top