4/21 Bat Boy AMPS 212, +1 173, +2 159, +3 54 +4 54

justme4112

Member
Question - advice appreciated as this is quite a roller coaster. BG seems to be a moving target! Is there anyone else here who has a cat with IBD and has to feed dry high carb?
 
Hi. It looks like this is your first post. We ask new members to post an introduction on the main forum. If you have posted in the past would you please share the link? If feeding dry TR is not for you. With have lots of cats here with IBD but most are able to find wet food that works for both IBD and fd.
 
Hi. It looks like this is your first post. We ask new members to post an introduction on the main forum. If you have posted in the past would you please share the link? If feeding dry TR is not for you. With have lots of cats here with IBD but most are able to find wet food that works for both IBD and fd.
Ok, thank you. This is so stressful and maybe this isn't for me either.

I have tried So many canned foods already as he has had IBD for few years already and even been on chemo for it. This whole thing is such a struggle and Im losing.
 
It is stressful at first. We can help. Please post an introduction on the main forum and give us some history. Most important I think is why you think he needs high carb dry food and what other foods you have tried. There are lots of novel protein choices for example. Don’t give up.
 
Great. That means the dose is too high. The Libre often reads lower than an ear prick. I’m wondering if you have a hand held meter and can recheck the bg with it?
 
Great. That means the dose is too high. The Libre often reads lower than an ear prick. I’m wondering if you have a hand held meter and can recheck the bg with it?
I'm sorry, but I can't. He is a fractious cat and won't allow it. I am immune compromised and can't risk getting bit. We tried to get him used to the ear pricks for the first month, but it clearly hurt him and he wasn't having any of it. He does allow me to put transdermal gabapentin in his ears twice daily for arthritis pain and anxiety (and aggression).
 
Yes, the dose was too high, but I think only because he wasn't as hungry this morning. We have been dancing around the 4 Unit to 4.25 Unit dose with him. 4 is not enough and 4.25 can be too much. More dangerous I think with these high insulin doses to offset the evil hills z/d.
 
Thank you. I was not trying to break the rules here, I didn't understand the correct sequence of events with the glut of information on the boards. I wanted to delete my thread here but apparently I can't do that. Lots of folks with cats that have concurrent GI issues are being helpful there :)
No problem at all :cat:
 
Back
Top