? 4/21 Fistuk AMPS 77, +4.5 90, +8 94 Can't shoot tomorrow

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Fistuk & Shelly, Apr 21, 2024.

  1. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...17-5-5-97-pmps-79-2-5-97.288978/#post-3172000

    Happy weekend :)

    I do't know how it happened... but it turns out that noone's around to give Fistuk insulin tomorrow morning :(

    WHAT DO I DO????

    His shot time is 7:30am. Can I give it to him earlier ? The latest I need to leave the house is 6:50.
    If I give earlier should I also give it earlier tonight ?
    Should I could give a token dose at 6:30am?

    Fisrtuk had ketons in the past. He hasn't had any ketones since September 2023.

    @Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee

    Wishing you a relaxing weekend:bighug:
     
  2. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    When was the last time you checked for ketones?
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Will anyone be around a few hours later to test? You can shoot 30 minutes early according to TR. It’s just 10 minutes more so I think fine to shoot.
     
    Nestle and Fistuk & Shelly like this.
  4. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    I don't check for ketons anymore... last time December 18 2023
     
    Nestle likes this.
  5. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Yes, the Catsitter comes at +4 to test and feed and then again at +8
    I can't really shoot at 6:50 (which is 40 minutes before shot time). I will need to leave at that time which means I'll need to shoot earlier. Unless I can test him at 6:30, feed him and then shoot at 6:50 and leave.
    Fistuk eats slowly so in order to get the breakfast amount into him I need at least 20 minutes to half an hour
     
    Nestle likes this.
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You could test at 6:30 and shoot at 6:50. But honestly I think you are fine to shoot 40 minutes early. It likely won’t change a thing and you have the day sitter to check on him.
     
  7. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I would do this.
    The sitter will check on him at +4, correct ? If you're worried, you could also try feeding slightly higher end LC or even MC at shot time.
     
    Fistuk & Shelly and Nestle like this.
  8. Nestle

    Nestle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2022
    Hello Shelly,

    Fistuk is looking beautiful. You take such good care of him.
    I also agree with everything Angela and Elise said.
    I'd add that if he's low tomorrow AM when you test him and you're worried about shooting and leaving it's also good to consider:
    A) feed MC or HC
    B) give half a dose
    That's my 3 cents but I think you should be ok since the sitter is coming @+4

    Wishing you and the furry boys a beautiful week ahead :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

    upload_2024-4-21_11-23-55.png
     
  9. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Shall I also give the juice a bit earlier tonight?
     
  10. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Hi Karolina :)
    Thanks for pitching in.
    I think I'm more concerned about messing up the shot times than Fistuk going low, though it's always a possibility.
    DH is considering calling in sick. That solution would be the best for me :p
    Hope you and the boys are doing well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Nestle likes this.
  11. Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

    Mikanmama (Mikan GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Maybe shoot 30 min early this PM at 7pm and shoot tomorrow at 6:30am?
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  12. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Thank you all for helping out.
    DH decided to cal in sick and I must say it is a huge relief
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  13. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You have a great DH!! Elise and Kit had good suggestions. I'd tuck that information away if you need it at some other time.

    One other thought... Sometimes everyone has to skip a shot. It's no different than if you gave a fur shot. Things happen.
     
  14. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    That's a relief for tomorrow, but I've done what Elise said and shot 30-40 minutes earlier and then leave and test at +4, and usually she is fine. Just in case you need that for another day!
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Shelly, what a great day Firstuk had today :D:D:D
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.

Share This Page