? 4/25 Benny AMPS 375 +5 123 +6 101 +7 77 +8 131 PMPS 191

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Ben&Squirrel, Apr 25, 2022.

  1. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Hello everyone,

    Have been having BGs all over the place in the last few days. Vet agrees with SLGS.

    I am a shooting wimp. I'm afraid he will get hypoglycemic when I'm asleep and can't help him.

    So I wanted to check in to make sure I am doing the right thing by giving him 0.5u with the PMPS of 191. Will it be okay?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2022
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2022
  3. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Diane, I can't believe I am still forgetting to put in my last thread link. I'm not sure how to add that to my spreadsheet. Will add to my sig file now.
     
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    That's ok if no one I tagged replies back looking at the SLGS dosing method it says
    Hold the dose for at least a week:
    • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
    • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
    So Benny dropped to 77 today so I would shoot 0.5 units

    If you want to try and add SLGS to your spreadsheet just go all the way up top where it says dosing method and just add it there, if it doesn't work no biggie
     
  5. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    I'm confused about this part:

    "Starting Dose:
    • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
    • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet"
    He is now on an all-wet/canned low carb diet. This would put him at 0.5u. Then, if we decrease that by 0.25, he would be getting 0.25u shot. I'm afraid to give him his shot because if I give him the 0.50 u, that could be double what he should be getting.

    ETA that he has already been on 1u BID, so I went with the 0.5u shot after all.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2022
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Catherine I would go back and re read yesterdays post where members have commented on dosing

    Since your dosing was all over the place I wouldn't GI by what the starting dose says which you posted

    He dropped to 77 this afternoon
    So following SLGS if he drops under 90 you reduce by 0.25
    So tiu would shoot 0.5 tonight

    Previous post

    Prevr post
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-23-benny-amps-400-5-57-6-112-pmps-516.262397/#post-2941325
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Did you shoot yet, I meant to say to shoot 0.75 units, I'm so sorry
    You shot 1 unit this morning , so he dropped under 90 so you would reduce by 0.25 units so tonight shot would be 0.75
    @Ben&Squirrel
    If you already shot it's OK, DO NOT GIVE ANY, we can straighten it out tomorrow
     
  8. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Yes, I shot 0.5 u. I started the day with SLGS with 1u. Maybe that was wrong. I'm sure some of the members you tagged will be able to give some info for next time. I know Benny's bg values will be settling down now that we will keep a steady dose.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Don't know if you saw I added to my last post
    You shot 1 unit this morning , so he dropped under 90 so you would reduce by 0.25 units so tonight shot would be 0.75
    @Ben&Squirrel
    If you already shot it's OK, DO NOT GIVE ANY MORE , we can straighten it out tomorrow

    If you want to try and add SLGS to your spreadsheet just go all the way up top where it says dosing method and just add it there, if it doesn't work no biggie

    You said
    He is now on an all-wet/canned low carb diet
    Since when
    How long has he been on Fancy Feast
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2022
  10. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    In an earlier post, you said "So Benny dropped to 77 today so I would shoot 0.5 units"
     
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes I know but you saw that I said you should have shot 0.75 units tonight in my post #7 numbers are to the right of each post
    I made a mistake
     
  12. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Yes, it was too late by then. That's okay, I'm sure we will get some clarification from the tagged folks.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    We'll get it straightened out :cat:
     
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)

    @tiffmaxee
    I tagged you but I guess you were not on yet
    I was trying to help Ben&Squirrel with her dose
    She is following SLGS ,shot 1 unit at AMPS
    Dropped to 77 this afternoon ,she was asking about the PMPS dose for tonight 4-25
    I told her to reduce and shoot 0.5 units by mistake (very sorry)
    I meant to say to reduce and shoot 0.75 units
    If you look at her previous post
    Prevr post
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-23-benny-amps-400-5-57-6-112-pmps-516.262397/#post-2941325

    You both gave her advice, her doses were all over the place
    Can you please take a look at her SS and read the previous post
    just so you can tell her what dose to stick with for tomorrow morning

    If you can read post #7 and #8 on her previous post you will see what I'm talking about

    Thanks Ladies
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The dose should have been .75. I think the 2.0 was in play though and why Benny had a low nadir. That’s not taken into account with SLGS normally. So in the morning shoot .75. Sorry I don’t don’t see the tag until now.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks so much Elise, I realized after I told her to shoot 0.5 I screwed up.
    I knew it should have been 0.75 :banghead:
    Sorry about that
    @tiffmaxee
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Don’t worry about it, Diane. His dose has been all over the place with the highs and lows. Better too little insulin than too much.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you Elise, I felt so bad about it
     
  19. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    So for tomorrow morning, shoot .75u?

    I agree. It's not a problem, Diane.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks Catherine :cat:
     
  22. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    @tiffmaxee Just to make sure I understand, because this dosing has been an issue for me, give him 0.75 AM and PM for several days?
     
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. With SLGS when a reduction is earned it is held for 7 days unless you see a nadir under 90. If that happens you reduce the dose. The same happens when you increase.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  25. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    By "the same happens when you increase," you mean when an increase is earned it is held for 7 days? Sorry to be so concrete but I want to make sure I understand as well as I can!
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Doses are held for 7 days with SLGS.
     
  27. Ben&Squirrel

    Ben&Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Ok, I think I've got it! Seven days of .75 it is, except if he earns a decrease due to a nadir below 90. Thanks very much @tiffmaxee and @Diane Tyler's Mom!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You're welcome you got it, after 7 days if he hasn't dropped below 90 you can post and ask about an increase
     

Share This Page