4/3 - Xander | AMPS 237

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
4/2/25

Hey everyone,

Same old, same old for lately. Last night he wasn't interested in his late night snack and stayed upstairs most of the night again. Since he was behind on food, when I woke up around 2 I got up and got him some. He ran down excitedly for that and then stayed in bed the rest of the night. He woke me up around 5 (presumably for food) and I got up and gave him a small amount with some meds in it (it was around +7 and I didn't want to mess up the curve too much). He ate all of that, as well as the next meal. No interest in his PS meal at all. I had thought maybe the ondanestron wore off too quickly so the vet recommended the Cerenia instead, which is what I gave him this morning. Based on him not wanting his PS meal I'd say it probably has about the same action window, which is not enough.

Please excuse the incoming novel, but I do have a theory that maybe it really is the food. I mentioned that one reddit post that was questionable, but doing some more research I found a lot of other people complaining about batches of Fancy Feast across different varieties and flavors that all caused problems, all within the October-December 2026 expiration date. Some also still mention the batch numbers starting with "43." One person even said 2 of their cats were diabetic and kept throwing these up, so they couldn't give insulin and both had to be PTS for DKA. :( I'm not on Facebook to verify this but people even mentioned that there were thousands of people making this same complaint in a single Facebook group. I feel like despite that one unreliable post it seems likely that something was up with those cans.

Before this really got started I noticed that Xander seemed to suddenly be throwing up after having the Chopped Grill Feast, so I kinda phased that out. We only had it every other day anyway. All of my cans of this flavor are December 2026. We do feed him the Chicken Feast every single day, and most of those cans were also December 2026 and started with "43." I usually give him chicken at about 5:45 (AM and PM) and then he often doesn't want to eat whatever I give him at his next meal, which would kind of lend more credence to that theory. I'm wondering if maybe he just had so many of whatever that contaminated period of time was that it made him actually sick, and if I stop giving him any from that expiration date at all, maybe he'll start improving. I set aside about 15 cans of various flavors that all have that expiration date and am consciously checking every can I buy now to make sure the expiration date is 2027. I guess we'll see.

Sorry for not responding to most condos yesterday. It was a really rough, busy day filled with bad news (for him and I) and I literally fell asleep at my desk just waiting to be able to give this still way later shot. Wish I could go back to normal time now.
 
signal-2025-04-03-111105_005.jpeg
signal-2025-04-03-111105_004.jpeg

Not hanging out with me today, enjoying his window seat.
 

Attachments

  • signal-2025-04-03-111105_004.jpeg
    signal-2025-04-03-111105_004.jpeg
    41.2 KB · Views: 67
  • signal-2025-04-03-111105_005.jpeg
    signal-2025-04-03-111105_005.jpeg
    53.6 KB · Views: 68
Ugh, Brianna, I'm so sorry you and Xander are going through this. Food stuff is so exhausting and overwhelming to deal with. Obviously I'm no expert, but I think your theory makes sense. I hope that you'll see improvements when you start giving him cans outside of that expiration date. At the very least, it'll be one more thing you can rule out :bighug:
 
4/2/25

Hey everyone,

Same old, same old for lately. Last night he wasn't interested in his late night snack and stayed upstairs most of the night again. Since he was behind on food, when I woke up around 2 I got up and got him some. He ran down excitedly for that and then stayed in bed the rest of the night. He woke me up around 5 (presumably for food) and I got up and gave him a small amount with some meds in it (it was around +7 and I didn't want to mess up the curve too much). He ate all of that, as well as the next meal. No interest in his PS meal at all. I had thought maybe the ondanestron wore off too quickly so the vet recommended the Cerenia instead, which is what I gave him this morning. Based on him not wanting his PS meal I'd say it probably has about the same action window, which is not enough.

Please excuse the incoming novel, but I do have a theory that maybe it really is the food. I mentioned that one reddit post that was questionable, but doing some more research I found a lot of other people complaining about batches of Fancy Feast across different varieties and flavors that all caused problems, all within the October-December 2026 expiration date. Some also still mention the batch numbers starting with "43." One person even said 2 of their cats were diabetic and kept throwing these up, so they couldn't give insulin and both had to be PTS for DKA. :( I'm not on Facebook to verify this but people even mentioned that there were thousands of people making this same complaint in a single Facebook group. I feel like despite that one unreliable post it seems likely that something was up with those cans.

Before this really got started I noticed that Xander seemed to suddenly be throwing up after having the Chopped Grill Feast, so I kinda phased that out. We only had it every other day anyway. All of my cans of this flavor are December 2026. We do feed him the Chicken Feast every single day, and most of those cans were also December 2026 and started with "43." I usually give him chicken at about 5:45 (AM and PM) and then he often doesn't want to eat whatever I give him at his next meal, which would kind of lend more credence to that theory. I'm wondering if maybe he just had so many of whatever that contaminated period of time was that it made him actually sick, and if I stop giving him any from that expiration date at all, maybe he'll start improving. I set aside about 15 cans of various flavors that all have that expiration date and am consciously checking every can I buy now to make sure the expiration date is 2027. I guess we'll see.

Sorry for not responding to most condos yesterday. It was a really rough, busy day filled with bad news (for him and I) and I literally fell asleep at my desk just waiting to be able to give this still way later shot. Wish I could go back to normal time now.
Hi Brianna, Well good job with the research! If you’ve identified a problem with that food and can eliminate it, hoping it solves the problem!!!

I’m so sorry you’ve both had such a rough time. It’s a lot to go through and to try to decipher!

We are sending prayers that Xander feels much better and improves quickly.

Please give your sweet boy some gentle pets and kisses from us. :kiss::kiss:
And big hugs for you, too :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I hate to think that it's been the food, but if it has been, I'm glad you've figured things out.
He looks so beautiful sitting there on his brightly colored afghan. Mine love only one thing more than a window seat, and that's a window seat when the window is open.
Happy surfs!:bighug::bighug:
 
Uh, I'm so sorry Brianna :( It must be so tiring waiting for that later shot time and still not having much ability to shift it earlier because of his PM lack of appetite. Your ability to research and look into all probable causes is inspiring and really great to see you exploring all avenues. Like the others have said, very disappointing if it is his food but if it is, really glad you have the answer you need.

Hope your food experiments go well over the next few days and that you're able to get some rest. You're doing the most for Xander and I'm sure he's so grateful :bighug:
 
I am sorry you and Xander are going through this. I didn't know about the Fancy Feast. I'll need to check my cans expiration date. Great job with the research.
I hope this solves the problem and Xander feels better. Sending prayers and hugs :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Ugh, Brianna, I'm so sorry you and Xander are going through this. Food stuff is so exhausting and overwhelming to deal with. Obviously I'm no expert, but I think your theory makes sense. I hope that you'll see improvements when you start giving him cans outside of that expiration date. At the very least, it'll be one more thing you can rule out :bighug:

Thank you! I appreciate the reassurance that I'm not just grasping at straws. He hasn't had any of the food from that expiration date today at least (not positive about yesterday). Not sure how long it would take to see a real difference if the food is the problem.
 
Hi Brianna, Well good job with the research! If you’ve identified a problem with that food and can eliminate it, hoping it solves the problem!!!

I’m so sorry you’ve both had such a rough time. It’s a lot to go through and to try to decipher!

We are sending prayers that Xander feels much better and improves quickly.

Please give your sweet boy some gentle pets and kisses from us. :kiss::kiss:
And big hugs for you, too :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you so much, Staci! The hugs and kind words are so needed, I appreciate them! :bighug:

I'm not positive it's the issue, but it's been nagging at me, especially since the vet can't seem to find anything else wrong. The alternative to just switching out cans to a better expiration date is x-rays and ultrasounds so it seems worthwhile to at least try that first!

This morning he wasn't doing great but by noon he was doing so much better. Like he was a whole different cat, back to himself. Super aggressive cuddling ALL DAY, biggest headbutts ever. Anytime he left for a few minutes as soon as I acknowledged him he was back for more. So happy I could cry. He hasn't had any of the potentially "bad" food today, but we also just started the Cerenia this morning and are still using Ondansetron, so who knows if it's the meds or the food. :rolleyes: Either way, it's been so nice to have my guy back. I hope I can nail down if that's the problem or not.
 
I'm so sorry to hear you and Xander are going through this Brianna. Just awful to think that it could be food causing his to be so unwell.
Sending hugs and good wishes to you both, and hoping to hear he is feeling better soon. :bighug:

Thank you, Helen! If it is the food it really is crazy that it's having this big an effect without any murmur of a recall. Scary!
 
I hate to think that it's been the food, but if it has been, I'm glad you've figured things out.
He looks so beautiful sitting there on his brightly colored afghan. Mine love only one thing more than a window seat, and that's a window seat when the window is open.
Happy surfs!:bighug::bighug:

I hope I can find out definitively if that's the case! If so it's definitely disturbing (like I mentioned above, this much damage with no recalls happening is scary).

Aww thank you! My Mom has crocheted him a few mini blankets and he loves them! He's got one on his window seat, one on my desk and one on a chair next to mine. :D I want to crochet him one that's a little bit stuffed, like a comforter. Just for some extra padding without the size of a whole cat bed on my desk!

Oh he'd love for the window to be open! Unfortunately while it's the one with the best view and most space to give him a seat, it's also on a stairway landing on the third floor, so it doesn't open lol
 
Uh, I'm so sorry Brianna :( It must be so tiring waiting for that later shot time and still not having much ability to shift it earlier because of his PM lack of appetite. Your ability to research and look into all probable causes is inspiring and really great to see you exploring all avenues. Like the others have said, very disappointing if it is his food but if it is, really glad you have the answer you need.

Hope your food experiments go well over the next few days and that you're able to get some rest. You're doing the most for Xander and I'm sure he's so grateful :bighug:

Thank you, Briana! :bighug: I appreciate the kind words!! ❤️❤️❤️

I've actually been holding off on switching his shot time back after the lack of appetite that sent it here in the first place because we have an event to go to on Monday night and it didn't make sense to fix the schedule and then immediately mess it up again, so I just left it. Assuming he keeps eating at PMPS (paws crossed) we can start heading back down on Tuesday morning.

Aww thank you! I think it's less my ability and more my desperation/obsession, but either way it may have gotten us some answers. I hope. Even if it is the food, at least I can fix that.

Hope you're having a good night!
 
I read that also about the Fancy Feast calso Brianna.
I hope that was the problem .:bighug::cat:
Maybe try Friskies and see what happens
@Brianna & Xander

Out of curiosity, where were you seeing the mentions of problems with Fancy Feast? I'm not on FB but people on reddit were confirming that they're talking about it over there too.

Unfortunately in those same threads I've been seeing people say that the Friskies right now is having basically the same issue! :arghh:

It seems like everyone agrees that the 2027 expiration dates are okay (so far), so it might be as easy as avoiding the 2026 cans.
 
I am sorry you and Xander are going through this. I didn't know about the Fancy Feast. I'll need to check my cans expiration date. Great job with the research.
I hope this solves the problem and Xander feels better. Sending prayers and hugs :bighug::cat::bighug:

It could be nothing! While a ton of people have agreed that they're having an issue, others have said they're not. So who knows. But if Butch suddenly starts to seem off/sick, definitely peek at those dates!

Thank you, Madeline! Me too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:❤️
 
but by noon he was doing so much better. Like he was a whole different cat, back to himself. Super aggressive cuddling ALL DAY, biggest headbutts ever. Anytime he left for a few minutes as soon as I acknowledged him he was back for more. So happy I could cry. He hasn't had any of the potentially "bad" food today, but we also just started the Cerenia this morning and are still using Ondansetron, so who knows if it's the meds or the food. :rolleyes: Either way, it's been so nice to have my guy back. I hope I can nail down if that's the problem or not.

Gosh, it's terrible if it was the food, but at the same time, it would be the easiest variable to correct...
This is really great news! Maybe you are already doing this, but I wonder if you can stagger the Cerenia and Ondansetron so that they aren't both wearing off at the same time... Kobe's Cerenia was once a day, and the Ondansetron was twice... but if you offset one of them by six to eight hours, that might give you better coverage where at least one is in effect at all times. I do know you can use them together. Might be worth a shot. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I used to help someone who needed lots of pain medication, and we would do that with his Tylenol 3 and Percocet, stagger the dosing.

Hope Xander keeps feeling better!
 
Hi Brianna :)
I feel your pain about the bad-batch cans. This is very upsetting As if you don't have enough to handle. Bad food can mess them up for a while. ECID when it comes to recovery from that. So hang in there. Looks like you're doing everything possible to Help Xander recover and I feel confident he will :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gosh, it's terrible if it was the food, but at the same time, it would be the easiest variable to correct...

I agree! But I'll also worry about if this could just randomly happen again.

Maybe you are already doing this, but I wonder if you can stagger the Cerenia and Ondansetron so that they aren't both wearing off at the same time... Kobe's Cerenia was once a day, and the Ondansetron was twice... but if you offset one of them by six to eight hours, that might give you better coverage where at least one is in effect at all times. I do know you can use them together. Might be worth a shot. :bighug::bighug::bighug:/

I think I am basically doing that - the Cerenia supposedly lasts 24 hours, so I give that earliest in the morning, along with an Ondansetron. I feel like I only get about 3 hours out of the Ondansetron, but it can only be every 6 hours so I give him another at about 12-1 and then around 6-7. I'm hoping the Cerenia kind of just fills in the gaps. So far it does seem to make a big difference. I wish it were something that could be used longer term. :(

Hope Xander keeps feeling better!

Thank you!!! Me too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Brianna :)
I feel your pain about the bad-batch cans. This is very upsetting As if you don't have enough to handle. Bad food can mess them up for a while. ECID when it comes to recovery from that. So hang in there. Looks like you're doing everything possible to Help Xander recover and I feel confident he will :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I hope it doesn't take him too long to start feeling better if that was the problem! :( Poor guy has suffered enough.

Thank you, Shelly!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope xander feels better soon. It's so hard having to figure out what factors can be causing issues. It's hard enough on the cats with all the diabetes stuff but also having to swap foods around to see if they are part of the problem etc.
 
Back
Top