? 4/7 Tiger AMPS 247 +3 216

No, you wait 7 days total before increasing, unless his nadirs (note the plural) are in the 90-149 range. If they are in the 90-149 range you stay with that dose. If he goes below 90, you reduce. And somewhere in that 7 days, preferably towards the end, you do a curve.
Is this 'bouncing'
It's hard to tell without any night time tests past PMPS. I can see a few reasons for numbers to be increasing. He could be bouncing, or he could be seeing some insulin resistance causing his numbers to start creeping up. Or he could have found a stash of higher carb food somewhere outside. Seen that one before! Can you get some more before bed tests or night time tests? It would be good to know if he's going lower and needs a reduction, or whether he needs more insulin.
 
@Wendy&Neko
Just to clarify, he went 7 days with nadirs in range of 90-149 and then acurve confirmed the nadirs as well so he is on his 2nd week at 5.5u. If I wait to do the curve on Thursday he will be at Day 14 on 5.5u. In the future, I will always continue to curve every 7 days (on Thursdays for me) even if he has stayed on the same dose at last curve and his numbers change significantly mid-cycle?

I can absolutely get more nighttime tests. I'm positive he hasn't gotten any food elsewhere. When he goes outside these days he doesn't travel past our yard. It a quick trip out to potty and pretty much back inside!

Thank you.
 
You are in this part of the SLGS Dosing method guidelines:
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
The curve doesn't have to be exactly on the 7 day mark, you can move it around a bit to work with your schedule. You do want to make sure he is continuing to see nadirs in that 90-149 range, hence redoing as curve. It's only the last couple days that you haven't seen a number in that range.
 
Back
Top