? 5/12 Celia: New test strips out of range/(defective?): Dose due! Pls help!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Angie & Celia (Cruz), May 12, 2023.

1. Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Angie & Celia (Cruz) Member

Newbie here. Just tested 2 test strips from a new container with the control solution like I always do & 1st strip was 162mg/dL when max. is 158 & second strip was 159. Called Walmart & refunding me. I have no more strips on hand & my clutch just died today on car. Safe to dose at 12th hour (around now) or no? Tested her PMPS anyway with a "defective" strip & she was 240.

Last edited: May 12, 2023
    Reason for edit: Forgot
  2. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

Hi. I need to go back and get familiar with your cat. While I read please stall, don’t feed and then recheck in 20-30 minutes. Remove the 911 and change it to a question mark prefix. The 911 is reserved for a possible hypo or medical emergency.

3. tiffmaxee

What do you mean by defective strip? I see you dint have any strips. I would not feel comfortable shooting without test strips.

4. babyg

babyg Well-Known Member

I've never used a control solution before and honestly never even thought of it lol. I've just always bought strips and used them as is. So obviously I don't know anything about control solution but 162 and 159 are so close to 158, they're practically the same number to me? :confused: I know meters in general can have a 20% variance from the "true" number when testing blood. Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in soon! :bighug:
    Edited to add: yay! just as I posted I see now you're in good hands! :)

Angie & Celia (Cruz) likes this.
  5. tiffmaxee

I never used a control solution. If your strips are good which sounds like they are you can shoot.

Angie & Celia (Cruz) and babyg like this.
  6. tiffmaxee

7. Angie & Celia (Cruz)