? 5/22/24 WATSON AMPS 273

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Rosie Lass, May 22, 2024.

  1. Rosie Lass

    Rosie Lass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2024
    Watson went to the vet yesterday for another Libre2 placement. I took a copy of his spreadsheet for the vet to look at. The vet feels it's probably time to go back up to 2 units twice a day (this would be +.25). He was reduced to 1.75 on 5/16 due to a drop below 50 during the night per the Libre sensor.
    Vet also feels he might never be regulated to "normal" numbers.

    I would like to do a curve today as I'll be around most all day for testing. What do I look for that tells me I need to increase his dose?

    Since the reduction on 5/16 his lowest number with meter testing was 256 and the highest was 342; and with Libre the lowest was 273 and highest was 382. He had a 400+ yesterday right after his vet visit.


    YESTERDAY: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-21-24-watson-amps-163.290257/#post-3181013
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    From the sticky on dosing:
    • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
    • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
    • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
    I think an increase is a good idea unless you see a bg under 150 today. If under I still probably would increase as that would only be one under 150.
     
    Rosie Lass likes this.
  3. Rosie Lass

    Rosie Lass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2024
    @tiffmaxee
    Thank you. I’ll increase him tonight to 2.
    His dosage has been up and down like a yo-yo. I wish we could find the sweet spot.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max was like that fur about 9 months. It’s quite common with newly diagnosed cats. :bighug:
     
    Bella & Puddin and Rosie Lass like this.
  5. Rosie Lass

    Rosie Lass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2024
    @tiffmaxee but he’s not really newly diagnosed. It’s been over a year. ‍♀️
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Some take longer. I don’t feed having to feed dry food helps but it is what it is.
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Good luck with the increase Rosie :bighug::cat:
     
    Rosie Lass likes this.

Share This Page