5/23 Newman AMPS 302

At 9:30 he was 445 and he ate a bit more after that. He is on the bed, but I will give him a little break from testing. I'll aim to test again around +4.
 
This is the lowest we have started with. After yesterday's surprises, do I stall or feed and shoot and what dose to shoot?

I can't think straight.
I've been trying to figure out what happened on my end. When I looked at your spreadsheet this morning and said you've had lower pre-shots, the spreadsheet was not updated. I was on my phone and I saw yesterday's pre-shot number of 280. I never saw the 205. Anyway, I doubt if there will be any excitement today.
 
Question. I think that I will switch to a ReliOn Meter. I am using so many test strips and paying $50+ for the AlphaTrak strips. I have that because that is the meter that the vet sent me packing with. Is it best to use them both consecutively to transition, or just make the switch?
 
I think it shows that he's coming up on his own at the end of the insulin cycle and that it will be safe to go ahead and give him the regular dose.
 
Do you want to give him a little food first and then shoot, or just do it all at once? My only concern is that you will be gone from about +6 for a while, right?
 
And if only we could get some food into him in the early part of the cycle... or get him to eat some food before you leave at 2 p.m.
 
Probably be back from appt. by 4:30

I like to feed and then shoot.
I can adjust the shot time to accommodate my absence. So I'm looking at shooting at 9:00 then I will be leaving at +5 and return by +8.
I guess that is the worst time to be away.

I want to do the safest thing even if I risk missing out on the lower numbers. I'm not a risk taker in that sense.

Can I just reduce the dose or would that be bad?
 
Probably be back from appt. by 4:30

I like to feed and then shoot.
I can adjust the shot time to accommodate my absence. So I'm looking at shooting at 9:00 then I will be leaving at +5 and return by +8.
I guess that is the worst time to be away.
Yes. It would be better to be gone in the morning, but it is what it is, right! You're doing a great job. He is definitely on his way up. Another option would be to take a temporary reduction to 1.75 units. But shooting late can act as a dose reduction anyway. It's only about 45 minutes late (9:00 that is). Will this make you have to stay up too late tonight?
 
Yes. It would be better to be gone in the morning, but it is what it is, right! You're doing a great job. He is definitely on his way up. Another option would be to take a temporary reduction to 1.75 units. But shooting late can act as a dose reduction anyway. It's only about 45 minutes late (9:00 that is). Will this make you have to stay up too late tonight?
I like the reduced dose.
I can stay up tonight as necessary.
 
Good. I just thought I would offer that as another option. There were many times that I needed to do a temporary reduction with my cat due to not being home or trips to the vet, etc. I feel better about it, too.
 
Since you are all set with Newman for a while, I will go take my shower :)
I feel best reducing the dose, based on the numbers and my being away this afternoon. His fasting BG this morning was 152. Delayed 20 minutes and retested. He had come up to 238. Decided to feed and shoot 1.75 units, a more comfortable zone, all things considered. Posted on spreadsheet.

Thank you, Suzanne.
 
Good job grabbing Newman for a test. I hope your therapy goes well.
He was at the top of the cat tree when I went out and he was still there when I returned. Lucky for me, he jumped down and hopped up on the desk so I poked him and got that 181 @ +8. Both cats thought they were starving so I went ahead and fed them.

I posted a question yesterday and it got lost in the discussion so I cut and paste it here.

Question. I think that I will switch to a ReliOn Meter. I am using so many test strips and paying $50+ for the AlphaTrak strips. I have that because that is the meter that the vet sent me packing with. Is it best to use them both consecutively to transition, or just make the switch?
 
He was at the top of the cat tree when I went out and he was still there when I returned. Lucky for me, he jumped down and hopped up on the desk so I poked him and got that 181 @ +8. Both cats thought they were starving so I went ahead and fed them.

I posted a question yesterday and it got lost in the discussion so I cut and paste it here.

Question. I think that I will switch to a ReliOn Meter. I am using so many test strips and paying $50+ for the AlphaTrak strips. I have that because that is the meter that the vet sent me packing with. Is it best to use them both consecutively to transition, or just make the switch?
I am glad he’s doing well! Yes, the WalMart ReliOn meter strips are about $17.88 for 100. You can do it either way. Some people will take both meters and will compare them at first (using one drop of blood.). The ReliOn will read a little lower than the AT, so that may scare you a little at first.
 
The difference between the human and pet meters tend to be greater in the higher numbers and closer in the lower numbers. Either way, with the SLGS protocol, a reduction would be earned if he goes under 90. On a human meter, the take action number where you intervene with higher carb foods, etc. is below 50 on a human meter and below 68 on an AT.
 
After withholding food for 2 hours, Newman was 308 . I shot 2 units. I thought that would be okay since the reduction this morning was to accommodate my absence. I just checked him at +2 he was 388. He has finished his food allotment and seems to feel fine. I probably will not be up for 2 more hours unless necessary.
 
I'm not sure how to use what I learned yesterday @Suzanne&Darcy when I stalled on the low AM test. This morning at 7:40 (+11) he is 175. I did give him 2 units last night, believing the reduction to 1.75 yesterday AM was temporary. Please help me get straightened out.

At 8:05 he is 206. I will go ahead and feed him and then decide so I give 1.75 or 2.0 units?
 
Last edited:
I'm not sure how to use what I learned yesterday @Suzanne&Darcy when I stalled on the low AM test. This morning at 7:40 (+11) he is 175. I did give him 2 units last night, believing the reduction to 1.75 yesterday AM was temporary. Please help me get straightened out.

At 8:05 he is 206. I will go ahead and feed him and then decide so I give 1.75 or 2.0 units?
I would give 2 today
 
After withholding food for 2 hours, Newman was 308 . I shot 2 units. I thought that would be okay since the reduction this morning was to accommodate my absence. I just checked him at +2 he was 388. He has finished his food allotment and seems to feel fine. I probably will not be up for 2 more hours unless necessary.
I checked in on his spreadsheet last night before bed and saw the 308. Figured you had everything under control!
 
Yes, I was comfortable last night based on the 308.
Gradually, we need to get him out of pinks and yellows as much as possible. Preferably blues and greens. Those highs are rough on the body over time. But I was encouraged to se that blue yesterday when you got home because out temporary reduction worked and yet he didn’t go red or even worse! I was a little afraid of that, but I wasn’t willing to risk a serious drop while you were gone. We will see what happens today.
 
Back
Top