5/27 ( Newman AMPS 137) 63 @ +4, 121 @ +4.5, 151 @ +5, 198 @ +6, 190 @ +8

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, May 27, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  3. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did he eat yet?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  5. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No. Just treats for testing.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If he hasn’t eaten. I would shoot the same as last night.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What do you think? Your home today. Although Newman may be naughty. He seems to het really hungry if he drops into green… well at least he was yesterday.
     
  8. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Okay, I will feed him. He is getting impatient. lol

    This is the hard part, shooting when the numbers are low, but I get it. That would be a skinny 2.
     
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes skinny 2
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    The skinny part is for your comfort level…. And mine too!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yesterday morning’s cycle was really nice. I wish I knew what happened last night. It was pink at bedtime. I think it was okay based on this morning’s AMPS though.
     
  12. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    A first for Newman and me this morning. I shot him while he was eating, which I know is most common, but for us it has been different. He noticed me standing for the moment, but after a glance he decided to continue eating. Yea!

    I didn't post last night very well. At planned shot time he was 198, then at 20 minute intervals he was 203, 217 at which time I shot the skinny 2. After that, he was back to finish his daily food allotment so the 320 at +2 was maybe a bump from that?

    Finally, in all reality, my skinny 2 looks like an actual 1.75. It is hard to measure on my syringes even with .5 marks.

    As always, I thank you.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It is hard to eyeball the skinny doses. It’s even hard to do the .75 doses.

    That would be an awfully big food bump. I think he was already on the way up. Hopefully, the insulin will do its work.

    That’s great about shooting while he was eating! He didn’t care at all!
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh, I thought you meant that you just got a 320 on him today…. That was last night’s 320. I thought you got another one today.

    On my end, Newman’s spreadsheet is not showing any entries for today 5/27.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  15. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Oops, I forgot that part. lol
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am biting my nails a bit (figuratively) over his numbers today. Normally, I would not, but then I think… what if she can’t get a hold of him? What if he won’t eat… sooo I will probably check his spreadsheet today quite a bit to see if you have gotten any tests.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  17. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He’s doing well. He’s kind of returning to where he started this morning.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  18. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I know you are watching closely, but I don't know how to use tagging, and is that like asking a "tagged" person to check in asap?
     
  19. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    It's getting a little scary with the 94 @ +3. He had a few more Dr. Elsey's with the most recent test and I headed him over to his Fancy Feast and he ate about a tablespoon of that.
     
  20. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Okay, Newman is 63 @ +4. I have given his Friskies with gravy. I will test again in 20 min.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  21. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I added some Karo to the friskies gravy.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  22. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Unfortunately I cannot stick around, you'll get more eyes if you post "emergencies"/time sensitive posts on the main forum

    Test again 30 mins from last test. While he's 60-68 just do the high carb food (no syrup). Test again in 20-30 mins. If he's under 60, high carb food plus syrup, test in 15 mins. Lather rinse repeat until you're sure he's rising without food influence. 68-75 give a little medium carb and test in 30 mins. Above that I'd let him go without food (to keep him hungry) and test again in 30 mins.

    His nadir tends to be a little later so you might be at this for another few hours, hard to say. But whenever you intervene with food do small amounts, tsp or so at a time. Need to keep him hungry.

    He's earned a reduction down to 1.75U. since he went this low I'd consider 1.5U, but he's still fairly bouncy so that may shoot yourself in the foot a bit. Up to your comfort level and ability to monitor.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  23. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Test 121 @ +4.5

    Gave Karo before I got the post from FrostD.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  24. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Ok no food. Test in 30 mins. If he's flat or rising, one more test an hour later then you're good to take a break.

    If he dropped, follow what I wrote above.
     
  25. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Got it, thank you.
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hi there. What's going on with Newman.
     
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Also, when tagging you put the @ sign in front of the person's name. I'll tag you now @Linda and Newman - when the drop down menu pops up below where you are typing, select that person from the list.
     
  28. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That's fine.
     
  29. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He has come up to 151 @ +5.
     
  30. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Phew. I'm sorry you had such a scare.
     
  31. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How have you managed to keep him close at hand?
     
  32. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And you gave the karo how long ago?
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I would go ahead and reduce to 1.5 tonight. If he doesn't do well on it after a while, we can always go back up to 1.75.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  34. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He was staying with me for a while and then after he moved I could reach him and wrangle him a couple of times. He soon decided under the bed was his salvation, and fortunately my son was just coming in so he got him for me.

    I gave him the karo mixed with some Friskies turkey shreds with gravy at 12:30 (+4) when he tested 63.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I think you did just fine.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  36. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So the Karo has worn off by now. Any food after that karo/Friskies gravy shreds?
     
  37. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Are you okay? I'm worried about your nerves being shot. I tried to private message you but apparently, your permissions are not set up right for me to send you a private message.
     
    Lee Renfro likes this.
  38. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No food after the Karo laced turkey shreds. I have to a bit careful or he will regurgitate and I assume under the circumstances I need to be careful.
    Hopefully I will be able to get another test in about 20 minutes which will be +6.

    I don't recall setting permissions. Is that with the profile listing? I'll check it out.

    It is/was pretty nerve wracking but I'm okay. I'm not sure that we are completely out of the woods. Thanks for thinking of me.
     
  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    There are privacy protections under your account and you can specify if you will allow members to private message you. Yes. Please post that +6 here!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  40. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay, I see the 198 on his spreadsheet. He is rising. He should be in the clear now, but I hope you will still keep an eye on him.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  41. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He may actually be starting a bounce.
     
  42. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Can you update your thread title with more numbers to show that he's come up from that 64.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I went to see about my contact preferences. I clicked my name at the top of the page. Then I clicked contact details (under signature.) Then I clicked messaging preferences. Mine is set to Accept Conversations from Members Only. I just wanted to send you some contact info.
     
  44. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay, I have to go take a shower. I was too afraid after what happened to go away from the computer. Even though my head tells me that he was rising.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  45. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He is 190 @ +8. That is down 8 points from 198 @ +6 @ 2:30.

    I will add these numbers to the title.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  46. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That’s okay. That’s considered to be flat. Very good.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  47. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I would like to stay on schedule with tonight's shot, which would be 8:30. He really hasn't eaten much of his dinner portion yet. That is not unusual but on a normal day it isn't hard to make him wait those two hours. Today has not been normal. Should I withhold food after 6:30?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  48. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am not getting notifications! I just came here to check in since I had not heard. What did you do? Has he eaten?
     
  49. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Since we had a scare today, I would like to know what his real PMPS is.
     
  50. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He literally had about 2 mouthfuls of his usual Fancy Feast at 6:40. His BG was 246 at 6:30 (+10)
     
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. I think it’s not a problem at all.
     
  52. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I would stay on schedule. A very small amount of low carb FF isn’t going to last that long and confuse us.
     
  53. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I can check in around 8. Since I don’t seem to be getting alerts sometimes, I will set an alarm to check in by at least 8:15?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  54. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I get email when someone posts. I was just checking my email and one from you at the beginning of this thread was in the spam folder!
     
  55. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Argh! I need to check my junk folder! Sometimes my email won’t even let stuff get through at all. Not even to spam/junk.
     
  56. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Are you going to test at 8:30? You could shoot then.
     
  57. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I just tested. He is 417.

    I still want to shoot only 1.5, after today I am gun shy. Would that be a mistake? I would rather deal with any issue in the daytime.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  58. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    What does one do after a hypo? At the most I guess I could shoot 1.75 units
     
  59. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I
    I agree. He already earned a reduction and you were already doing a skinny which, as you said, was like a possible 1.75. Definitely 1.5.
     
  60. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Okay, on second thought, I am shooting 1.5 tonight and having a look tomorrow.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  61. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. 1.5. Are you good with that?
     
  62. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Then we will not raise him back up immediately. We will wait and see how he does on 1.5, since he really did earn a reduction, we hold that dose before reassessing.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  63. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, I shot 1.5
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  64. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Wow, what a day.

    Thank you Suzanne and thanks to FrostD for jumping in.

    I'll probably check him later before I go to bed. He has done real well, mostly cooperating through it all.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  65. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He’s a good boy. Melissa is fantastic and very clever. We are fortunate to have her helping on this team.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  66. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Tomorrow is another day. I'll start another new thread.

    Good night.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  67. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Still in the red. Good night.
     
  68. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages crossed. Good night.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  69. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Tag me in the new post this morning, if you would. I want to see if it works today.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  70. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I should have responded to tell you that I have started a new thread and tested tagging. New thread 5/28 Newman bounce after hypo
     

Share This Page