5/29 Fistuk AMPS 92, +3.25 95, +5 54, +8.75 76 PMPS 70, +2.75 92

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-fistuk-amps-76-2-75-88.290395/#post-3182298

Hi Everyone :)

After 13 cycles on 2.25U that Fistuk was mostly green, besides three 104/106 reading, with low nadirs I have decided to give him a reducey :D Fistuk got 2U this morning.

He keeps looking well and eating very well. Feeling more independent with going up and down the bed and to the toilet. I'll try teaching him to eat by himself at night. Paws crossed.

He did have a few retching episodes in the past three days. Once a day, just a couple of gags and nothing comes out besides a drop or two of transparent liquid.

we haven't changed anything in the food and his production is regular. Any ideas if it's something I need to take care of? or what it could be?


I'm flying to Spain Sunday morning. Everything is set. I'll miss him terribly but I'm feeling more settled with leaving.

Wishing you all a great day :bighug:
 
A day early by my count but agree with the reduction fwiw! Good luck.
It's a cycle early if I understand TR correctly (one week=14 cycles) But I didn't see a need hold the dose for another cycle. Fistuk seemed ready for this. So we'll see.
I'm happy you think it was a good move and thanks for the good luck :bighug:
 
Sounds divine! How long will you be gone? Do you have someone that will shoot and test him?
Thanks, Angela :) I love Bilbao. Been a year since I've been there so I'm looking forward.

DH is here. when he's not working he'll take care of Fistuk. Then I have three cat sitters-Vanessa, who's our main Catsitter and Fistuk really loves her. She knows everything and we've set up a WhatsApp group for me her and DH.
The other is our neighbour who comes from time to time for a while. She knows how to test. And the third is a new one. It'll be the first time she comes in. Though I'm not here I think she'll be good and if need be I can ask Vanessa to take over. But I need to have few extras in case Vanessa is on holiday or sick so I'm trying to groom couple of new cat sitters.

Overall he'll be in good hands. Albeit, not mine ;)
 
Thanks, Angela :) I love Bilbao. Been a year since I've been there so I'm looking forward.

DH is here. when he's not working he'll take care of Fistuk. Then I have three cat sitters-Vanessa, who's our main Catsitter and Fistuk really loves her. She knows everything and we've set up a WhatsApp group for me her and DH.
The other is our neighbour who comes from time to time for a while. She knows how to test. And the third is a new one. It'll be the first time she comes in. Though I'm not here I think she'll be good and if need be I can ask Vanessa to take over. But I need to have few extras in case Vanessa is on holiday or sick so I'm trying to groom couple of new cat sitters.

Overall he'll be in good hands. Albeit, not mine ;)
Love the CAT-CARE-LINE-UP! I may have asked for a vacation dose, but with this level of care it doesn't seem necessary :kiss:
Have a wonderful time!
 
Love the CAT-CARE-LINE-UP! I may have asked for a vacation dose, but with this level of care it doesn't seem necessary :kiss:
Have a wonderful time!
Thanks, Angela. I thought about it but since hubby is here for either morning or the evening and Vanessa is here I thought too it's not necessary. but ones July I might consider this.
:bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, enjoy your trip sounds just wonderful! And your line up of care is perfect. He’s in very good hands. Good luck with the reduction, sounds like he’s ready:D
What great news all around. Love your report. :bighug::bighug: :bighug:
 
It's a cycle early if I understand TR correctly (one week=14 cycles)
Holding the dose for 7 days is just for the very first dose, according to these instructions for TR. After that you hold for a minimum of 3 days.

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Holding the dose for 7 days is just for the very first dose, according to these instructions for TR. After that you hold for a minimum of 3 days.

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
That's true. Since Fistuk has spent 7 days/14 cycles in greens with nadirs in the 50-80 range, he has earned a dose reduction. See this post
 
Hello Shelly,

Fistuk looks just so so great. Good luck with the reduction.
And your trip sounds wonderful, I'm so jealous. Hopefully meow that I have a pet sitter I can also start traveling more.
Enjoy your time there and thanks for this beautiful Fistuk update :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

upload_2024-5-30_0-57-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-5-30_0-57-48.png
    upload_2024-5-30_0-57-48.png
    180.9 KB · Views: 181
That's true. Since Fistuk has spent 7 days/14 cycles in greens with nadirs in the 50-80 range, he has earned a dose reduction. See this post
It was the first time I took a reduction without posting first. I'm feeling grateful for having the knowledge and confidence to manage Fistuk's BG.
That doesn't mean I don't need you ;) Just that I appreciate the confidence I have to take care of him more independently.
Also, We're nearing a year with this D thing that landed in our life and I have quite a lot of knowledge in the way Fistuk is dancing with :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Shelly,

Fistuk looks just so so great. Good luck with the reduction.
And your trip sounds wonderful, I'm so jealous. Hopefully meow that I have a pet sitter I can also start traveling more.
Enjoy your time there and thanks for this beautiful Fistuk update :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

View attachment 70224
Hi Karolina :)
I'm very much looking forward for my trip. It'll be the first time I travel since Fistuk's dx.
I too hope you can start travelling soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Karolina :)
I'm very much looking forward for my trip. It'll be the first time I travel since Fistuk's dx.
I too hope you can start travelling soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I hope so too. Before covid my work bestie and I would do a short Euro trip every year. Last year we did Barcelona again. It was lovely.
Hoping we can find time to do something this year as well.
I'm definitely going to Poland in August though. So that will be fine.
Enjoy your trip and post some photos after !
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top