5/6 Ivy Ambg 252, +2 280, +5 400, +8 332, Pmps 389, +3 348, +4 246 Libre

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Staci & Ivy, May 6, 2024.

  1. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    5/5/24
    AMBG 252 Libre
    Skipped insulin shot for vet appointment at +3.
    Ivy has been sedated and is very sleepy. (If only she remained as calm as she is now at the vet). Poor, scared girl. :(

    Thank you for all of your good wishes and support for today. Will update later. :)

    Safe surfing today to all :bighug::bighug:
     
  2. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    I hope all goes well. I will keep you in my thoughts today! :bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  3. Heather & Shooter

    Heather & Shooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Just finished saying a prayer for the both of you! Keep us posted!
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  4. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you so much ❤️
     
  5. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you so much ❤️
     
  6. Deb and Tiger

    Deb and Tiger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2023
    Thinking of you this morning. Praying all goes well
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  7. Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

    Alicia & Kit cat (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Good luck this morning. Sending calming vibes to both you and Ivy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  8. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you, Deb ❤️
     
  9. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you, Alicia ❤️
     
    Alicia & Kit cat (GA) likes this.
  10. Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

    Mikanmama (Mikan GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Good luck Staci and Ivy!
    Hope all goes well and fast, and you come home to relax!
    Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  11. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    I keep all my fingers crossed, that sweet Ivy will manage well and that her appetite is good after coming home! Big hugs for you Staci, I know today is nerve-wrecking for sure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  12. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Hi Everyone, thanks so much for all your support of me and Ivy today. ❤️
    We are home and she did much better than expected (thank goodness, I’m sure all of your support and all the good vibes we took with us carried us through). :bighug:

    They didn’t have to further sedate her and that was wonderful news.
    They commented that she’s really a “less is more” kind of girl. Less handling is better. Less restraint works better on her. :facepalm:
    They covered her with a towel and managed her that way (who knows if anything else was done, she was taken to another room).

    Since I fasted her, I’m trying to slowly give her the meal she missed to try to get calories into her. Feeding 2 tablespoons an hour just to make sure she’s not eating too fast and doesn’t puke.
    I’ll stop feeding before +10.

    Of course her bg is through the roof with the skip this morning. Hoping she eats at dinner so I can get insulin in her and back on track.

    The vet did comment that she’s on a rather large dose of insulin (4.5 units). I explained that my goal is to try to keep her under the renal threshold.

    Ivy is napping in a dark corner under a table trying to forget about today and being handled. She’s not as out if it as you would think from the gaba and trazodone.

    Will update more later :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  13. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thanks, Kit, I’m so relieved that’s over!! ❤️
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm glad the vet visit went well and Ivy did better than expected :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Is that when you will find out if the Methimazole is helping or do you need to wait for a coulple of day
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  16. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024

    Ohhhhhh Staci! That sounds purrfect!!! :cat: You must be so relieved!!! I am so happy they used a towel. That is also the only thing which works on Binie. If she gets restraint, she is freaking out and fighting for her life. Than they call her "difficult to deal with" or "not cooperative". After I saw what my vet can do with her without violence, I believe that all this "She is so difficult"-talk is victim blaming. I hope she continues to eat well and I am sure she forgets the day pretty fast. Now I hope you can relax in the evening and I am praying for good results form the bloodwork. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  17. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you, Heike! I’m so happy today is done. Now I need to wait for the results.
    Thank you so much, Heike. I very much appreciate your kind support. :)
    I agree they like to blame Ivy. Although she is very difficult. I know that first hand.
    However, they should be trained how to properly handle more challenging animals. Unfortunately, Not every animal is docile.
    I’m sorry Binie also has to deal with similar handling. I know Ivy is scared and she reacts badly.

    We now wait for the results so that’s the next stressful waiting period to see what happens next.
    Hoping we can have a calmer night and she eats well and has a good sleep tonight (and me, too).

    Wishing you and Binie a calm and peaceful sleep, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  18. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Yes, Diane. We now wait to see what the T4 result and kidney values show for the dose of methimazole. I’m hoping her dose is the right one. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  19. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I’m glad it went well and she didn’t need the extra drugs. Her BG may be high but I think this way caused you less stress and she will get back on track in a cycle or two.
     
    Staci & Ivy and Heike & BInie like this.
  20. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    You are so much right Staci, that they should be better trained. I can see that it is also a stressful situation for the vets. They can make it easier for themselves too, if they learn to handle cats like Ivy and Binie with empathy and kindness. And I also hope that all four of us are having a good nights sleep and peaceful dreams! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  21. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Me, too, Marje! I was soooo relieved as you know!
    Now for her BG to come back down. A much better plan overall :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  22. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    You are so right on, Heike. Once they seemed to have a plan, they did much better today. I’m so relieved it worked out better this time.
    Sweet dreams :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    All paws crossed for a good report :cat:
    [​IMG]
     
  24. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    Oh, I am glad all went well! And she is beautiful :kiss:
    Bella too was labeled difficult after a tech put her in restraint and a muzzle. I would be difficult too if they did that to me.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  25. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Hi Cecile, I was so relieved. And yes, you are right, they label them difficult and then just don’t even try to come up with a plan how to best work with the cat. It’s not good.

    That picture posted above by Diane is not Ivy (although a beautiful cat, I agree) :p
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    cecile & bella likes this.
  26. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you, Diane! And what a pretty cat with her paws crossed. Love it!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Sorry Cecile thought that pic was Ivy maybe I should have picked one that was a different color lol
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  28. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Pmps 389 Libre
    Well Ivy ate her am meal over several hours this afternoon. I fed her small amounts at a time and she happily ate it.
    When I gave her dinner, she had no interest whatsoever and I ended up having to syringe feed her.
    I’m not sure if she was just full from eating all afternoon or the sedatives just caught up with her and she just wasn’t really interested in dinner.
    Now I just have to get her snacks in her over the next couple hours as the insulin starts to kick in.

    I have a feeling it’s gonna be a slightly challenging night since she doesn’t really want to eat on her own. :arghh:
    Hope everyone is having a calm night :bighug::bighug:
     
    Marje and Gracie likes this.
  29. JLS12

    JLS12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2024
    Such good news that the vet visit went much better this time! I hope it's an easy night for the two of you. :bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  30. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thanks, Janet. It was better than I expected. She’s not eating on her own tonight. Hoping tomorrow is better in that area!

    I hope you have a nice night :)
     
    JLS12 likes this.

Share This Page