5/6 Mookitty AMPS 470 +2 197, +3 85, +4 88, + 163

@Mookitty's Mom
I have spoken to others and if you are agreeable we can do SLGS customised dosing for Mookitty where because of the recent DKA we can do increases sooner than the normal 7 days of the SLGS method. You would need to be doing at least 2 tests during every cycle and only do the increases if advised by one of the experienced members. I also think that reducing the reduction BG to 80 would be a good idea because we need to make sure Mookitty is getting enough insulin.
What do you think of that?
If you are agreeable, you will need to put in the signature ‘SLGS customised dosing. DO NOT FOLLOW.’

FOR ANY LURKERS OR OTHERS READING THIS, THIS CUSTOMISED DOSING IS ONLY FOR MOOKITTY BECAUSE SHE HAS RECENTLY HAD DKA and MUST ENSURE SHE IS GETTING ENOUGH INSULIN SO KETONES DO NOT RETURN. PLEASE DO NOT FOLLOW THIS ADVICE.
 
That's fine but when it comes to dosage I'm taking into account that she needs to coast at 80 without intervention with syrup or high carb food. The spreadsheet does not tell the full story of what has been happening with her blood glucose. If she is at 99 and then 15 minutes later 80 with clear signs of dropping further without me intervening with high carb food and sweets, that's not an acceptable dosage. I can't watch my cat all night to make sure she doesn't become hypoglycemic. I've watched her and I just can't trust she can manage it on her own. She just sleeps and may or may not eat during these periods. That is why I reduced her dosage. Having to feed the curve every night is something I can't do and I've been really clear about the fact that I haven't been able to sleep normally for two weeks.

I ordered a blood ketone meter to monitor her better for ketones.
 
By reduced dosage I'm implying the ~0.8 dosage, not the 0.25. That was way too low.
 
Back
Top