5/7 Ivy Amps 217, +2.5 161, +5 203, +6.5 113, +9 53, Pmps 255, +2 169 Libre

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Staci & Ivy, May 7, 2024.

  1. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    5/6/24
    Amps 217 Libre
    Good morning,
    Well yesterday was a challenge with the vet appointment and then getting Ivy to eat again at dinner last night. I had to syringe feed dinner. (I don’t know if she was either just not hungry from feeding her small amounts throughout the afternoon just to get her morning meal into her, or if just having the sedatives in her system made her not hungry). At least this morning she ate her meal and I did not have to syringe, so that was awesome news. Gave her full dose of insulin last night and again this morning, so we’re back on track and I’m already seeing her numbers come down from having skipped insulin yesterday morning to go to the vet.

    Hoping we can get her back on track and moving forward. I’m working at home and will monitor.

    Thank you again for all your sweet messages yesterday, it meant a lot to have all of the support as we were having a stressful vet day :bighug::bighug:

    Wishing everyone a safe day ahead. :cat:
     
  2. Heather & Shooter

    Heather & Shooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good to hear she's doing better this time around! I don't know how she was for them at the vet but at least she's eating on her own and numbers are already better. :)
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  3. Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

    Mikanmama (Mikan GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Good morning Staci!
    I'm sure Ivy was tired out from all that commotion and sedatives yesterday. Glad to hear that she's back on track and eating! :)
    Hope you've recovered from it too - going to vet is such a necessary evil. :rolleyes:
    Ivy must have used some of the depot yesterday so it may take a bit to catch up - hopefully she'll give you a nice relaxing cycle!
    Happy Tuesday and hope you get to enjoy the day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  4. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    I hope you are right, Kit. She definitely used up some of that depot.
    Hoping the cycle is good today, but not crazy. Work will be busy today since I took off yesterday for the vet appointment.
    I hope you have a nice day, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  5. Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

    Alicia & Kit cat (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    I'm glad she seems to be responding quickly to come back to better numbers. I'm also glad you're able to work from home today - she had a stressful day, but you did too! :bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  6. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    It was definitely stressful for both of us. I wish she would be more relaxed overall, but alas, it's just not her personality.:rolleyes:
    She's happier today just being left alone! Although I brought her to the kitchen so she can watch the birds out the back door. If she's lucky, she may even spot one of the frequent visiting bunnies.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  7. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    So sorry you had to syringe feed her yesterday! And good she is eating again and her bg comes back to normal. Hope both of you recover well from that stressful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  8. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Looks like she’s getting back to business! Paws crossed on the labs.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  9. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thank you, Heike. I’m hoping she’s feeling better today.

    I’m also sending you lots of positive vibes for Binie. I know she’s been through a lot lately also. I really good both of them feel much better soon :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  10. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    She is, isn’t she. Busy girl today. Definitely paws crossed on the labs!!
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Marje and Gracie likes this.
  11. JLS12

    JLS12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2024
    Nice to see Ivy is recovering more quickly this time. :)
    When do you expect results from the testing?
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  12. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thanks, Janet :)
    I hope pretty quickly. They just told me her T4 level is 4.
    So that doesn’t sound great (upper limit of “normal”). And that’s on the lowest dose of methimazole.
    Waiting to see the rest of the results. Probably won’t hear from the vet until all the results are back later this week. I’ll be calling in a day or 2 to push for some answers.
    ;)
     
    JLS12 likes this.
  13. JLS12

    JLS12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2024
    So has the methimazole had a positive effect? I can't recall where Ivy was before.
    I hope those labs are good news all around, despite the high end of normal for the T4.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  14. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    I’m not sure really about any effects the meds are having.

    She wasn’t showing the typical signs of hyperthyroidism (loud wailing, ravenous, restlessness), in fact the opposite, her appetite has been less enthusiastic the past few months.

    Her last T4 in late March when diagnosed was 3.94 (but with a different lab, Hemopet). So I’m not quite sure how the results differ. I will have to ask my vet when we discuss the results.
    But it seems like the T4 (at Antech) is similar, perhaps.

    I was hoping it would be lower, showing that methimazole is working. We may need to increase the dose, which doesn’t thrill me since it can reduce appetite from what I understand :(
    @JLS12
     
    JLS12 likes this.
  15. JLS12

    JLS12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2024
    Thanks for the insight.

    I'd wonder, too, about how the two different labs compare. And what would be a reasonable expectation of being on methimazole for a month.

    It certainly seems that nothing can be easy anymore.

    Got my paws crossed for good and helpful results.
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  16. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Thanks, Janet :bighug::bighug:
     

Share This Page