He just ate after I served it up at his "spot" on my desk. He is grooming now. He may be headed to the litter box. I will hold off for a few minutes to be sure he keeps the food down. I am ready to shoot 2.0UHaven't you been able to get him to eat again at all?
Good. I had questions about shooting at all if he would not eat. But he ate again so that's good. Good plan to make sure he keeps it down. 2 unitsHe just ate after I served it up at his "spot" on my desk. He is grooming now. He may be headed to the litter box. I will hold off for a few minutes to be sure he keeps the food down. I am ready to shot 2.0U
Okay, he ate, used the litter box and I shot 2 units at 8:00.Good. I had questions about shooting at all if he would not eat. But he ate again so that's good. Good plan to make sure he keeps it down. 2 units![]()
Yes, regular chicken feast pateYou did the right thing. You gave him the Fancy Feast. Was it just regular pate?
His appetite was normal this morning. He ate and then threw up which is something he does sometimes. About 15 minutes later he ate again, used the litter box and eventually went to nap/sleep. All pretty normalHmm how was his appetite today compared to normal?
I was expecting blues at best.86 is a good number, but scary to have greens at first.
Right. (I am almost certain)So he ate nothing since breakfast when you got the 86?
Yes, he usually comes back to eat at least once between breakfast and about 1 PM. But occasionally he naps longer and I don't see him until about 3:30-4:00 looking for dinner.I thought he usually liked to graze and his food was available. Not hungry today?
I guess that’s why he dropped so much today. How much FF did he eat this morning?Yes, he usually comes back to eat at least once between breakfast and about 1 PM. But occasionally he naps longer and I don't see him until about 3:30-4:00 looking for dinner.
The food does not sit out, but I see him looking for it and uncover it.
Will he eat a little more Fancy Feast?I just got 82 @ 7.75
I will offer it.Will he eat a little more Fancy Feast?
That’s perfect, LindaI will offer it.
I gave him a little less than a tbsp. I don't want him to throw it up again. He has eaten it.
I was too!I was expecting blues at best.
Yes. I was thinking about that. I agree with Melissa about backing down to the 1.75 for tonight.I will be somewhat nervous about shooting 2.0 since nighttime testing can be iffy here
It is sporatic, maybe once every 10 - 14 days I would guess. The thing is he will be ready immediately, to eat again. And he does not gobble his food, so it doesn't seem to be from eating too fast. He has always done this for as long as I can remember.What a beautiful cycle though!
How often does he get like this? Where he doesn't graze, or throws up?
I won't be around until after your PM shot. I would go back down to 1.75U for tonight just in case his tummy is still off. If it's a frequent thing, I have some other ideas.
Ok. Do you usually have warning that he's going to do it? Like does it start right away with morning meal?It is sporatic, maybe once every 10 - 14 days I would guess. The thing is he will be ready immediately, to eat again. And he does not gobble his food, so it doesn't seem to be from eating too fast. He has always done this for as long as I can remember.
I am nervous about that low preshot too after today. Unless he seems really keen to eat, keeps it down, etc. I don’t think I would shoot 1.75 either.PMPS 214
I feel a bit gun shy with that number even with the plan to reduce to 1.75U
On his SS last week there is one similar low PMPS 201. The scheduled dose was 1.75U and I reduced it to 1.5U. It appears he was okay with that, but he was not having any tummy issues.
This evening he ate two treat kibbles after test, but has not eaten any food since 4:30, approx 1/3 can of FF.
I guess I will wait and see if he has any interest in his food. I hate to give him insulin and then he doesn't eat.
Wait. I’m confused. Is he eating? Has he eaten? Or not.If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.
If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him
Now that you ask, I would say it is nearly always in the morning.Ok. Do you usually have warning that he's going to do it? Like does it start right away with morning meal?
He ate 1/3 can FF at 4:30.Wait. I’m confused. Is he eating? Has he eaten? Or not.
If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.
If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him