6/30 Newman AMPS 268 increase to 2.0 now 86@6.5

Linda and Newman

Active Member
@FrostD

If you can, I would like you to look at Newman's spreadsheet and advise.

PMPS 270, shot 1.75U. he ate some dinner and I tested him because he wasn't too interested in eating. He was 288 @ +1.5.

Thanks
 
Do you have a specific question?

He looks like a cat that will do pretty well on ProZinc, fingers crossed!

The +1.5 probably isn't telling you much. I don't think his onset is that early, so it's a bit of a food bump (if he ate) plus the shot hasn't kicked in yet.

His nadir varies quite a bit, so if you're concerned I'd get a +4. Realistically I think he'll be fine I actually think he could probably do with an increase. Why did you decrease from 2U to 1.75U? (Sorry I don't have time to go back and read)

As far as trying to predict nadir - this is a stretch since not a lot of data - it seems when he has a very flat last half of a cycle, his nadir is earlier on the following cycle. I think his AM cycle today probably qualifies, so possibly an earlier nadir tonight.

I have to head to bed but I think he should be just fine tonight :)
 
Sorry I was vague and didn't ask a direct question. I guess I just wanted your input. I was thinking of increasing but wanted to give the 1.75U an adequate time trial. It seems to me that Newman needs a bit of extra time to level out on a dose and to see the full results.

Your answer reinforces my plan to increase the dose. Suzanne & Darcy have been waiting patiently for me to go ahead.

Thanks for looking, I thought I had missed you. @FrostD, @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Planning to increase dose this morning so of course, he ate his breakfast and immediately regurgitated. Sometimes he returns right away and eats again but this morning he is less interested.

Should I go ahead with the .25 increase?
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Remember that down to 50 is safe on a human meter (though I am sure.you do not want him there!). We like to get nadir as close to 90 as possible, so you definitely have plenty of room. It's different by cat, but typically a 0.25U increase on ProZinc brings nadir down about 25-50 points.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

Yikes! I just woke him up and got him to come out from under the bed. Tested. 86 @ +6.5 I am going to offer him some of his Fancy Feast left over from breakfast.

He ate it and immediately threw it up.

What next? He is back under the bed.
 
Last edited:
Hmm how was his appetite today compared to normal?
His appetite was normal this morning. He ate and then threw up which is something he does sometimes. About 15 minutes later he ate again, used the litter box and eventually went to nap/sleep. All pretty normal
 
Yes, he usually comes back to eat at least once between breakfast and about 1 PM. But occasionally he naps longer and I don't see him until about 3:30-4:00 looking for dinner.
The food does not sit out, but I see him looking for it and uncover it.
I guess that’s why he dropped so much today. How much FF did he eat this morning?
 
He is stretched out near the kitchen as usual after a brief period of grooming. I think he feels okay. I am thinking I won't test him again, but rather offer him more food around 4:30 which is the normal schedule. I will stick with slightly reduced portions more frequently. Since I shot him at 8:00 this morning, I have until 5:30 - 6:00 before withholding food ahead of his PMPS.
I will be somewhat nervous about shooting 2.0 since nighttime testing can be iffy here.
 
What a beautiful cycle though!

How often does he get like this? Where he doesn't graze, or throws up?

I won't be around until after your PM shot. I would go back down to 1.75U for tonight just in case his tummy is still off. If it's a frequent thing, I have some other ideas.
 
What a beautiful cycle though!

How often does he get like this? Where he doesn't graze, or throws up?

I won't be around until after your PM shot. I would go back down to 1.75U for tonight just in case his tummy is still off. If it's a frequent thing, I have some other ideas.
It is sporatic, maybe once every 10 - 14 days I would guess. The thing is he will be ready immediately, to eat again. And he does not gobble his food, so it doesn't seem to be from eating too fast. He has always done this for as long as I can remember.
 
It is sporatic, maybe once every 10 - 14 days I would guess. The thing is he will be ready immediately, to eat again. And he does not gobble his food, so it doesn't seem to be from eating too fast. He has always done this for as long as I can remember.
Ok. Do you usually have warning that he's going to do it? Like does it start right away with morning meal?
 
PMPS 214

I feel a bit gun shy with that number even with the plan to reduce to 1.75U

On his SS last week there is one similar low PMPS 201. The scheduled dose was 1.75U and I reduced it to 1.5U. It appears he was okay with that, but he was not having any tummy issues.

This evening he ate two treat kibbles after test, but has not eaten any food since 4:30, approx 1/3 can of FF.

I guess I will wait and see if he has any interest in his food. I hate to give him insulin and then he doesn't eat.
 
If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.

If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him
 
PMPS 214

I feel a bit gun shy with that number even with the plan to reduce to 1.75U

On his SS last week there is one similar low PMPS 201. The scheduled dose was 1.75U and I reduced it to 1.5U. It appears he was okay with that, but he was not having any tummy issues.

This evening he ate two treat kibbles after test, but has not eaten any food since 4:30, approx 1/3 can of FF.

I guess I will wait and see if he has any interest in his food. I hate to give him insulin and then he doesn't eat.
I am nervous about that low preshot too after today. Unless he seems really keen to eat, keeps it down, etc. I don’t think I would shoot 1.75 either.
 
If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.

If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him
Wait. I’m confused. Is he eating? Has he eaten? Or not.
 
If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.

If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him

He has eaten about 2 tbsp of FF, but I still would like to only give a token dose since it is the overnight.
I will go with the 0.5U although I can't leave any food out for him because the other cat or the dog will eat it. Feeding time here requires an attendant. lol
 
Back
Top