7/19 Kozmo, AMPS 97, +1 99, +2 81, +3 135, +5 67, +7 68, PMPS 74, +1 74, +2 92

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Annie & Kozmo, Jul 19, 2020.

  1. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Previous thread.

    AMPS 92 - +12.25 97

    Happy to feed then shoot. Just want to check dosage again.
     
  2. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    With all the stalling we’ve been doing, our shoot time is becoming more and more delayed. Even with pulling back 15 minutes each cycle, we’re still an hour an ten minutes later than our normal time and it’s becoming unmanageable.
     
  3. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Im just looking at the SS. BRB
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Are you able to monitor all cycle (you must be very tired) ?
    I don’t like chopping and changing the dose all the time. It’s not good for the depot. But we need to keep in mind the ketones and the BG.
    If he eats well I’m thinking if we try 1.5 units maybe that will be a dose we can shoot both cycles. How would you feel about shooting 1.5 units? Hopefully that will allow us to continue with that dose.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  5. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    He didn’t eat. But given his recent pattern, I feel confident he’ll start once the shot kicks in.

    We’re around for testing so will shoot 1.5. The quantity of testing is getting to both of us to be honest. I’m shattered so Neil will test this morning.
     
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I do understand. Hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to test less often..... he is doing incredibly well on the Lantus. This is why you are needing to test so often. He keeps wanting to get into the lagoon. All those greens are healing numbers so hang onto that. If you look at the SS he hadn’t had a red or black number for 6 days and the pink and yellow BGs are fading away.
    Try and get a good rest.
    If we can get a dose that works for both cycles hopefully the schedule will go back to normal.
    Because we’ve reduced the dose again can you get a couple of ketones tests in today please if Kozzie obliges.
    We’ll go with a +1 and +2 to start with.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  7. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks Bron, we’ve noticed he’s loving the lower doses and is looking really healthy too. His fur is soft and full, his eyes less strained and he played with us yesterday.

    Will test for ketones when we catch him in the litter. He drinks less and therefore goes less now.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  8. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That’s a great report.
    It makes it all worthwhile!
     
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I see +1 99. Has he eaten yet?
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  10. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    He hadn’t eaten yet and Neil’s just given him a cerenia.
     
  11. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok that’s good. We need him to eat soon before the Lantus kicks in.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  12. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    10 minutes pre +2 he refused wet food but was more than happy to eat Ziwi Peak air dried chicken hand fed to him one by one on our bed
     
  13. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    +2 81 snacking wet food
     
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’m glad he’s eating some wet food. Is it the higher carb food you often give him at the beginning of the cycle to bring the BG up a bit?
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  15. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    It’s the LC wet that he always eats.
     
  16. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Is that the one which we asked Eliz and Bertie about? I’d like to see his BG up a bit over 100 for the onset of insulin if possible.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  17. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yes, that’s the one. I’ve plonked him in front of his food again and he’s eating.
     
  18. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Good boy Kozzie and clever Annie!
     
  19. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    +3 135

    He’s had so much food he’s about to pop. Test again at + 5?
     
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    My goodness that food does raise his BG!
    Yes I think +5 would be fine.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  21. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    +5 67 snacked.

    Will test again at +6
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Good plan.
    I’m heading to bed. I hope you have a good day.
    Hopefully @Nan & Amber (GA) will be around sometime soon.
    You can always change your subject line to ask for help if needed. If he drops under 50 you need to give him HC food and test again 30 mins later.
     
  23. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I'm around! Seems like Annie and Kozmo have things under control so far. He's such a good boy!
     
  24. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)
    I've only one eye open but can watch for the next hour. If numbers drop, I'll make a latte.
    Morning Annie. Night Bron. Sleep well.
     
  25. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Night Bron, thanks for the help.

    Morning Nan. I’m sure we’ll be fine with Kozzie. We have high carb food but he won’t eat it :facepalm:. We’ll use honey if need be.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  26. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    My apologies, Annie. Good afternoon to you. You are five hours ahead of Nan and myself.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  27. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    It’s true, I’d be five hours younger if I were in Canada :)
     
  28. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    +6 67 again

    Will check again in an hour.
     
  29. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    A happy 68 at +7 and that was with no food after +6
     
  30. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    That is one flat cat!!!!
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  31. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    A lovely surf.

    And if I was in the UK, I'd be 5 hours even closer to 61.

    Going to put on acceptable to the public clothing and go out briefly to secure awnings and bring in wicker before a massive thunderstorm hits.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  32. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    It's another stall this evening.

    PMPS 70 then +12.25 74

    We fed him then shot 1.75 1.5! We shot 1.5 units

    Will check +1 and +2

    Wondering why his levels are so flat? Probably a silly question.
     
  33. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    He is doing exactly what you want him to do on Lantus! These flat cycles are what Lantus is known for, and they are a wonderful thing to see for Kozmo. No wonder he's feeling good!

    Before seeing this pre-shot, I was actually going to suggest that his numbers have been so well-behaved, you could probably ease off a bit on the testing tonight and trust him to behave himself. Maybe you'll still be able to do that, but I agree it makes sense to start off keeping a close eye on him.

    It's hard to tell because of the multiple changes in dose, but I'm starting to get a sense that he typically nadirs right in the middle of the cycle, hitting his lowest numbers between +4 and +8. If that holds, your schedule will get a lot easier because you'll know when you need to pay extra-close attention and won't have to be testing all the time.
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  34. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks Nan. That’s encouraging... and we agree. We need to ease up (in a smart way).
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  35. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    +2 92

    He was hungry after +1 and I let him self eat.
    What are your thoughts on testing, Nan?
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  36. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I was thinking maybe +4, and then make a decision as to whether to do more testing or call it a night. What do you think?
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  37. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I like it :)
     
    thebigfuzz and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  38. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Wow, look at that sea of green!
    What a clever boy you are Kozzie. :cat:
    My concern with leaving him for the rest of the cycle is that he has been fed frequently during the cycle up until now to keep him in these numbers and if he was left, would he eat to keep himself up or would he drop too low? I think maybe see how he goes with less feeding but monitor to see if it works. Thoughts?
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  39. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    We’ve left food down for Kozmo but haven’t gone to bed... just to double check how he self feeds... he’s visited his bowl three times in the first two hours.
     
  40. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Kozzie’s more active at night (as cats are inclined to be), he’s back getting up to mischief and food has been disappearing. He knows where his bowl is (auto feeder training to commence soon) and I’m a worry wort, so of course I’ll be checking throughout the night.
     
  41. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think doing that and checking the BG as a trial would be a good idea. Is he the only one who can access the food left out?
    What a long way he’s come in the last 3 weeks!
     
  42. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    What beautiful progress - I'm super impressed with you, Annie and Kosmo and your Tag Team of help.

    Less testing really will happen after all the data you are collecting keeps falling together. When you feel calm, rested (uh, no smart comment, lol) and smart like you are already (my "smart" time of day is early morning usually, haha) take a good look at your spreadsheet and you will see how much you have already learned about Kosmo's cycles and how food effects him, etc. It has been so fun watching you gain confidence:):):) Just wanted to say, great job!
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2020
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  43. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks Jan :)
    +4 117

    Kozzie’s the only one that will access his food. Will test again at +6
     
  44. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    [QUOTE
    +4 117
    Kozzie’s the only one that will access his food. Will test again at +6[/QUOTE]
    That’s good!
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.
  45. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    68 +4
    77 +6

    :)
     
  46. Annie & Kozmo

    Annie & Kozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Sorry! That was +6 and +8 :facepalm:
     
  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Looking good!
    Has he been self feeding without you having to prompt him?
     
    Annie & Kozmo likes this.

Share This Page