? 7/23- Belle AMPS: 162, +2: 119, +4: 52, +5: 92, +7: 92, PMPS: 97, +2: 158

Congrats on the reduction! :-)

If you can get at least one test per cycle in addition to preshots, you can continue to follow TR. The disadvantage with SLGS is that every drop below 90 is a reduction. At some point the back to back reductions fail.
 
Congrats on the reduction! :)

If you can get at least one test per cycle in addition to preshots, you can continue to follow TR. The disadvantage with SLGS is that every drop below 90 is a reduction. At some point the back to back reductions fail.
Thanks for the response. Are we following the Roomp and Rand Protocol for reduction ? I have been given so many reading materials that I’m not sure what I’m supposed to follow lol
 
Was there a food change made for Belle recently? Switch from higher carb dry food to low carb wet?
So we recently weaned her off royal canin s/o kibble but it has been 6 days since she has had any of that.

the treat was just a squeezable (nothing fancy) and I believe I found the carb % to only be 1.6 or so on that one. We are going to recheck now
 
Hi Amanda I would not shoot and then go out tonight if it was me. She earned her reduction today, but tonight even though you reduce, the depot is still at play and she could drop again. I've seen it happen many times (and when it happened with Pearl I wanted to be there for sure). Even if you don't shoot, I think she could still drop with the depot at play. I would opt to stay in if it was me.

Let's see what others might say.

@tiffmaxee
do you have thoughts on this?
 
Hi Amanda I would not shoot and then go out tonight if it was me. She earned her reduction today, but tonight even though you reduce, the depot is still at play and she could drop again. I've seen it happen many times. Even if you don't shoot, I think she could still drop with the depot at play. I would opt to stay in if it was me.

I don't know what others might say - leave out HC if you're going out? I generally would just stay in, so I don't know if others would choose to leave sorry.
@tiffmaxee
do you have thoughts on this?
Sorry. Been a long few weeks of being here constantly checking. Staying up late on work nights etc, I’m honestly exhausted. I know it will be worth it but I have to work nights for the next three nights after this and just wanted a few hours to do something :(
 
Sorry. Been a long few weeks of being here constantly checking. Staying up late on work nights etc, I’m honestly exhausted. I know it will be worth it but I have to work nights for the next three nights after this and just wanted a few hours to do something :(
Oh do I ever understand! When Pearl was trekking down that ladder lickity split like Belle, it got very exhausting. A question you may want to ask others is when is a good time for you to NOT shoot if you need a break. There were times I had to choose to not shoot Pearl when I had to sleep and when I had to know she would be safe enough for me to sleep. You gotta take care of you!

I'm hoping someone else can chime in on whether she should be ok with the BG if you don't shoot her and possibly leave out some higher carb food. I have never done this before, so I'm not the one to comment on this part.
 
Oh do I ever understand! When Pearl was trekking down that ladder lickity split like Belle, it got very exhausting. A question you may want to ask others is when is a good time for you to NOT shoot if you need a break. There were times I had to choose to not shoot Pearl when I had to sleep and when I had to know she would be safe enough for me to sleep. You gotta take care of you!

I'm hoping someone else can chime in on whether she should be ok with the BG if you don't shoot her and possibly leave out some higher carb food. I have never done this before, so I'm not the one to comment on this part.
I truthfully appreciate you responding so quickly. I have been so so diligent with this that the people around me think I’m insane. Going home on a 30 min lunch (when it takes me ten minutes to get home and then back to work). My boyfriend is wondering when enough is enough…. It’s just difficult. Since we have completely cut out kibble she’s been going down very quickly
 
I truthfully appreciate you responding so quickly. I have been so so diligent with this that the people around me think I’m insane. Going home on a 30 min lunch (when it takes me ten minutes to get home and then back to work). My boyfriend is wondering when enough is enough…. It’s just difficult. Since we have completely cut out kibble she’s been going down very quickly
I think cutting out that kibble was the "quick start" she needed to start really scaling down the ladder. For some cats, the food change really makes this much difference!

I wish I knew what to say about what to expect from her as far as speed, but when they are moving like this it definitely can be stressful and tiring. I have Lyme disease, and when Pearl first started coming down the ladder, I was up all kinds of crazy hours trying to keep her steady and figure out her patterns, and it almost broke me. So I had to get advice on how to help myself.

I think it would be worthwhile to make a post sometime to get ideas about how others stay not-exhausted. Pearl and me aren't a good picture of that anymore b/c she earns reductions differently than most. But, I did have to learn what my boundaries are about when I could not/would not shoot, and the more I understood when she was likely to drop, the more I could anticipate with giving the MC food early if I couldn't monitor as closely as I wanted to.

I wish I had better advice for you, but you and Belle ARE doing a GREAT JOB.

I think if you're needing to go out tonight, then you do not shoot and put down the HC food.
 
I think cutting out that kibble was the "quick start" she needed to start really scaling down the ladder. For some cats, the food change really makes this much difference!

I wish I knew what to say about what to expect from her as far as speed, but when they are moving like this it definitely can be stressful and tiring. I have Lyme disease, and when Pearl first started coming down the ladder, I was up all kinds of crazy hours trying to keep her steady and figure out her patterns, and it almost broke me. So I had to get advice on how to help myself.

I think it would be worthwhile to make a post sometime to get ideas about how others stay not-exhausted. Pearl and me aren't a good picture of that anymore b/c she earns reductions differently than most. But, I did have to learn what my boundaries are about when I could not/would not shoot, and the more I understood when she was likely to drop, the more I could anticipate with giving the MC food early if I couldn't monitor as closely as I wanted to.

I wish I had better advice for you, but you and Belle ARE doing a GREAT JOB.

I think if you're needing to go out tonight, then you do not shoot and put down the HC food.

Oh I get you 100%. I had a surgery two months ago to remove a potential cancerous sarcoma and took her to the vet and got diagnosed four days later. It has indeed been a challenging couple of months.
 
Sorry, Amanda, I just got home from work and saw your tag. I would have suggested skipping as well as @Chris & China (GA) did. I have skipped very few shots with Ruby, but always glad when I did because she stayed steady because of the insulin depot and I got to have some time off to enjoy friends and some fun.

You should take a look at the spreadsheet of @Librarianista. Chloe switched to low carb food, ran down the dosing ladder and is doing really well right now. Hope that will be in the cards for you and Belle as well. :bighug:
 
Hey there! Popping in so you can check out my SS. We had to take her up pretty high (for her) once we switched to Lantus, but after we broke the glucose toxicity, we cut her dose in half as a token shot one night because I needed sleep and haven’t looked back!
 
Hey there! Popping in so you can check out my SS. We had to take her up pretty high (for her) once we switched to Lantus, but after we broke the glucose toxicity, we cut her dose in half as a token shot one night because I needed sleep and haven’t looked back!
Thanks for the reference. I have a strange question, we just adopted two kittens three days ago. We are slowly introducing them to the Old Girls (Belle is one of em), do you think the stress of that would have any bearing on BG levels? Belles is actually running a smidge higher tonight than the last few nights! lol still a decent number but just a bit higher
 
Back
Top