7/26 Claudio PMPS 253

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Susan & Claudio, Jul 26, 2020.

  1. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    7-25-claudio-amps-277-pmps-158

    Started with 35 @+5.
    Been testing and feeding all night.
    Since he was and still on the low side, I am thinking to skip this morning's shot.
    I know I'm not shooting the preshot number, but it's been somewhat of a struggle to keep him up there.
    I'm afraid that after all this last night, shooting will bring him back down too low again.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  2. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    looks like you guys had a long night.
    glad you kept claudio safe :bighug:

    and looks like that 35 earned a reduction, for when you do shoot next. :D
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  3. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Wow, quite a night!

    A skip might increase the chances of a nap today, which you probably need after the night you had. No guarantees with such a large depot, but once you're sure he's up to stay...
     
    JOJI and Kit and Susan & Claudio like this.
  4. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    I fed him breffie.
    While waiting to take another test I passed out. Just woke up. I had been up for hours.
    Tested. Now at 65 @ 13.5.
    So, how would I put that into the SS ?
    Put 65 in the +1 space, but add in 13.5 ?
    I dread when he does go up. He could probably bounce all the way to California.
     
  5. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yes, I'd do something like 65@13.5.

    What goes up must come down :).
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  6. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks.
    I fully expect a pink or high yellow at PMPS.
     
  7. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
  8. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Wow, wow, wowser! So happy you kept him surfing those greens after the super low. Hope you get a bit more rest today. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    What a night you had Susan, good luck with the next reduction
    Hope you get some naps in today
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  10. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    checks spreadsheet

    surfing off the depot looks like. :bighug:
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  11. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks. I just wish he wouldn't go deep sea diving at night. :banghead:
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  12. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    The one night you weren't on when I was awake, lol.
    Figured I could chat with you in-between tests.
     
  13. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    I was wondering the same thing as JOJI and Kit about the reduction.
    If I take the .5 reduction that takes him back to 6U. That dosage did nothing for him.
    Didn't get any better numbers until we went to 6.5.
    I was thinking about doing a .25 reduction down to a dose of 6.25.
    Thoughts ????
     
  14. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Congratulations on the reduction earned!

    Most definitely reduce...the thing about a previous dose working or not working is that good old sneaky player, the pancreas. You don't know how much his pancreas is contributing at any given time. So previously when the dose he was on wasn't working, it was because he needed more insulin because his pancreas wasn't helping out any at all. Now his pancreas seems to be making a contribution - hence all those nice green colors from the insulin + pancreatic contributions. Don't fear a previous dosage number since this is the road to the Falls. It may or may not be exactly the right time for it, but try not to look back at a dose number and how it worked (or didn't)...just keep marching down the ladder...it may just be that his pancreas has healed to the point where he needs less insulin - if you keep giving the same or even reduce by only .25 (with higher doses you may want to check with @Wendy&Neko if she advised you before)...for the exact amount of the reduction. That SS is getting better looking all the time!

    Sorry about the all - nighter though. These kitties just love to do that to us..nighttime is the right time for surfing it seems.
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  15. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks Sue.
    The way you explained it made perfect sense to me.
    Ya know, I was thinking maybe I should remarry just so I have someone to do these all nighters. :rolleyes:
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  16. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Surprised he's not higher.
    Shot a reduction from 6.5U to 6U.
     
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Glad you went down to 6.0 units tonight. Good luck with the reduction. We strongly recommend reducies when they go below 40, even more so when on a higher dose. Larger depots can be a bear! :eek:
    I have an alternate theory, well, a couple actually. First, we've already discussed that there could be another reason Claudio needs a larger dose and you've talked about investigating that when the time is right. Neither of other reasons we've talked about (IAA or acromegaly) involve the pancreas. Both of those conditions can mean fluctuations in dose over time, but for different reasons. They also mean that what a previous dose did may mean nothing, because it's what Claudio needs now that counts, as those underlying conditions change.
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  18. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks.
    Until I can get a ride to and from the vet, all I can do is continue to be confused as to what is going on within his body.
    You have no idea how much I want to get him tested and form a game plan that I can implement.
     
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I know you have an issue with timing of getting the tests. All in good time. :bighug:
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  20. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Wow. I'm glad you got Claudio to come back up and surf. I hope he'll surf safely on the new dose.
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.

Share This Page